• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Where should we locate our Nuclear Plant? Will Property Prices be affected?

Huatable

Will Singapore warm up to nuclear energy to combat climate change? https://www.scmp.com/week-asia/economics/article/3019393/will-singapore-warm-nuclear-energy-combat-climate-change

Eight years since the Fukushima nuclear disaster triggered a global rethink on energy policy, signs have emerged that Singapore may be warming back up to the power source.

Pro-nuclear chatter in the city state was spurred last month when Ho Ching – the chief executive of Singapore state investment fund Temasek Holdings, who is married to Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong – published a lengthy Facebook post expressing support for the power source.

“Overall, for a greener earth and to reduce carbon emissions, we must master and adopt nuclear energy as a key solution. For now, it is better [that] developed and more capable nations step up their nuclear power capacity,” she said.

“This will reduce the demand for fossil fuels, and lower the overall carbon emissions.”

Ho’s post came attached to a Bloomberg opinion piece that criticised Germany’s decision to phase out all nuclear power by 2022 – 16 years ahead of coal in 2038. It was a telling sign that Singapore, which has declared twice in the past 12 years that nuclear power is unsuitable, may be changing its tune towards nuclear power. And it’s not alone.

Singapore’s interest in nuclear energy has ebbed and flowed over the years due to one reason: safety.

In 2007, Prime Minister Lee said nuclear energy was not a feasible alternative energy source because there was simply not enough land to build plants with the necessary 30km safety radius. But three years later, he said the country needed to be prepared for the day it does become necessary and feasible, maybe even in his lifetime.

But interest waned again in 2012 – a year after the Fukushima nuclear disaster – when a two-year pre-feasibility study concluded that present nuclear energy technology was not yet suitable for Singapore.

Climate change is a hoax. The government should not be held hostage by climate alarmists with a nefarious agenda.

tuas or jurong. it has to be next to the sea and away from the more desirable and higher atas coast, which in sg is slways the east coast.

nuclear.jpg

LOL. They have already made the decision, now they're just pretending to seek 'consensus'. :rolleyes:

Remember the casinos?

Just because you screwed the policymaker, you are allowed to influence policy?

LHL really useless. He might as well puts on a green hat everywhere he goes.

Siao lang.

Wants to commit harakiri?

Go die in China, you die, your business.

Don't ruin Tanah Melayu with your substandard workmanship and maintenance personnel.

3rd world dictatorship filled with 3rd world Tiongs and CECA Ah Nehs.

Later another case of ''ponding'' and the whole of Stinkiepore will be blown off.

Nuclear power is saferif all the safeguards are in place,,,,it is unsafe if corners are cut...and light water nuclear reactors are the safer ones...

If you can't even build proper HDB flats and flyovers, you probably should forget about nuke power plants. :rolleyes:

nz_pie_300518.jpg

hdb-newspaper.jpg

They cannot run the hospitals, they cannot run the army and you trust them with a nuclear plant. WTF.

May I propose... let it be underground, as deep as possible, so if there’s explosion, we all go together.

The latest Nuclear technology is super safe. It's using Thorium which cannot be used for Nuclear weapon and is fail safe.

Talk cock one lah. SG has power overcapacity who so crazy will build more power plant? If cannot make nukes like rocketman Kim how Loong have dignity u tell me? :unsure: