• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Where are the LIONS?

SINgapore is known as the LION CITY, we have the lion as the state emblem, & a half-half creature of a one part of a LION, as a National Symbol.

Question is:

ARE LIONS FOUND OUTSIDE AFRICA?

WHERE ARE LIONS in SINgapore?...except the Mandai zoo...:o

LION CITY?

SINgapore is known as the LION CITY, we have the lion as the state emblem, & a half-half creature of a one part of a LION, as a National Symbol.

Question is:

LION CITY?

See this

He asked his chief minister what animal it was, and was told that it probably was a lion. However, recent studies of Singapore indicate that lions have never lived there (not even Asiatic lions), and the beast seen by Sang Nila Utama was likely a tiger, most likely the Malayan Tiger.[1][2] He was pleased with this as he believed it to be a good omen - a sign of good fortune coming his way. Thus, he decided to build his new city in Temasek. He and his men stayed on the island and founded a city.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sang_Nila_Utama

There was also another theory that what Sang Nila Utama saw was a Cat. Obviously being a King, he would have loss face if he got frightened by a cat so they change it to a Lion

There are no Lions outside of Africa, Tiger yes but not Lions. Calling ourselves Lion City is a real joke, some Angmoh friends actually notice and ask this question before.

All I can say is that we are a nation where majority are made up of ignorant fools.

Question is:

LION CITY?

Hot dog inside got dog meh?

French Fries made by the French meh?

Football made of feet?

Lion City Hotel got lions staying?

show_resize_image.php

Question is:

LION CITY?

Lions are natives in the wilderness Africa, Europe, Middle East and North India. They're certainly not found in the Far East to South-east Asia. Asia from Siberia southwards is the domain of tigers. India is the main area where tigers and lions meet. Early Malayans and Indonesians probably heard of lions from Indian traders, and hence conjure up imaginative stuff about lions. Just like the ancient Chinese, their depiction of lion in Chinese lion dance was completely out of whack of what a lion really looked like.

Sang Nila Utama must be having the seasick feeling when he landed in Pulau Temasek. He mustve mistaken a rodent for a Lion.
Good thing the 1st animal he saw wasnt a dog or a wild pig. If not Spura will be known today as Anjingpura or Babipura.

Atcually, PURA is what?

Sang Nila Utama must be having the seasick feeling when he landed in Pulau Temasek. He mustve mistaken a rodent for a Lion.
Good thing the 1st animal he saw wasnt a dog or a wild pig. If not Spura will be known today as Anjingpura or Babipura.

Atcually, PURA is what?

Pura in Malay is neither town nor city as many thought or were led to think so. Town or city is kota or bandar.

Pura is to pretend or to bluff. Now you get the idea of Singapura?

Pura in Malay is neither town nor city as many thought or were led to think so. Town or city is kota or bandar.

here's what I found. But that doesnt explain how in the world a LION got to this part of the world though.....

Singapore Original Name Singapura

(Bahasa Melayu/Bahasa Jawa (Java)/Sanskrit)

Singa = Lion

Pura = City

The name Singapore was derived from the Malay word singa (lion), which itself is derived from the Sanskrit word सिंह siMha of the same meaning, and the Malay word "pura", also derived from the Sanskrit word पुर pura (city) [1]. Hence, Singapore is also known as the Lion City. The naming is attributed to a minor prince named Sang Nila Utama, who according to lore, saw a lion as the first living creature on the island and decided to name it Singapura as a result.

Singapore developed from a small Malay fishing village to become a multicultural, major global city with cosmopolitan ideals. It has attracted controversy for some policies it has taken to achieve its development since independence in 1965.

Sang Nila Utama

Here's the legend of how Singapura was founded:

Sang Nila Utama was a prince of Sumatra. Wanting to find a suitable place for a new city, he decided to visit the islands off the coast of Sumatra. He set sail from Palembang (a city in Sumatra) in a number of ships. He and his men reached Riau Island and were welcomed by the queen. A few days later, Sang Nila Utama went to a nearby island on a hunting trip.

While hunting, he spotted a deer and started chasing it. He came to a very large rock and decided to climb it. When he reached the top, he looked across the sea and saw another island with a sandy beach which had the appearance of a white sheet of cloth.

Asking one of his ministers what land it was, he was told that it was the island of Temasek. He then decided to visit Temasek. However, when his ship was out at sea, a great storm blew up and the ship was tossed about in the huge waves. The ship began to take water.

To prevent it from sinking, his men threw all the heavy things on board into the sea to lighten the ship. But still water kept entering the ship and Sang Nila Utama, on advice of a ship's officer, threw his heavy crown overboard. At once, the storm died down and he reached Temasek safely.

He landed at the mouth of the present-day Singapore River and went inland to hunt wild animals. Suddenly, he saw a strange animal with a red body, black head and a white breast. It was a fine-looking animal and moved with great speed as it disappeared into the jungle.

He asked his chief minister what animal it was, and was told that it probably was a lion. He was pleased with this as he believed it to be a good omen - a sign of good fortune coming his way. Thus, he decided to build his new city in Temasek. He and his men stayed on the island and founded a city.

He named this city "Singapura". "Singa" means lion and "pura" means city. The name thus means the Lion City. Sang Nila Utama ruled Singapura for 48 years and was buried on Bukit Larangan (present-day Fort Canning Hill). By that time, Singapura had developed into a great and famous city.

"Sing(h)" or "Singh(a)" in Sanskrit means lion, that I know. Our Sikh friends, their last name Singh, actually means lion.

If "pura" in Sanskrit means city, that I don't know. They're many Malays in Singapore and I'm sure everyone got some Malay friends or neighbours. Go ask them what "pura" means in Malay.

"Sing(h)" or "Singh(a)" in Sanskrit means lion, that I know. Our Sikh friends, their last name Singh, actually means lion.

If "pura" in Sanskrit means city, that I don't know. They're many Malays in Singapore and I'm sure everyone got some Malay friends or neighbours. Go ask them what "pura" means in Malay.

No wonder Indeerjit Singh's face resembles a LION!!!!!:D

Pura is Kingdom. Jayapura is one example.

Where's Jayapura? "Success Kingdom"?
Pardon my ignorance, but I've never heard of it.

I've always thought that a kingdom in Malay is negeri beraja.
In any case, if pura really means city or kingdom in Malay, it should be a prefix, not a suffix, according to Malay grammar.

For example, we say Bandar Sri Begawan (capital city of Brunei), not Sri Begawan-bandar.
We say Kota Tinggi (famous waterfall town in Johor), not Tinggi-kota.

Fyi, it's only a nice romantic description of a city! Lion city does not necessarily mean there are lions. Civet cats, tigers perhaps but not lions in our part of the world. Sang Nila Utama, if u believe in myths and fairy tales supposedly saw a white majestic mystical cat which his rather imaginative retainers described it as a lion. Even if the "lion" description comes from the Merlion, we all know it's just a tall tale. :D

Who knows very soon we may be dubbed the Sin City just like Las Vegas when the casinoes start spinning!:D

Oh yes there're lions! Taking lionshare of the booty and loot and squeeze somemore, leaving the weaker cats to starve and die. Anyway, SIN is the international flight designation for Changi Airport.

Fyi, it's only a nice romantic description of a city! Lion city does not necessarily mean there are lions. Civet cats, tigers perhaps but not lions in our part of the world. Sang Nila Utama, if u believe in myths and fairy tales supposedly saw a white majestic mystical cat which his rather imaginative retainers described it as a lion. Even if the "lion" description comes from the Merlion, we all know it's just a tall tale. :D

Who knows very soon we may be dubbed the Sin City just like Las Vegas when the casinoes start spinning!:D

... Pura is to pretend or to bluff. Now you get the idea of Singapura?
my downstairs kopitaim ah peks tol me ...

last time wen sang nila utama came to spore, dey saw n animal n dey shouted loudly ... 'singa! singa!' ...

but ze locals heard dem n shouted equally loudly ... 'pura! pura!' ...

well, datz how ...

Where's Jayapura? "Success Kingdom"?
Pardon my ignorance, but I've never heard of it.

I've always thought that a kingdom in Malay is negeri beraja.
In any case, if pura really means city or kingdom in Malay, it should be a prefix, not a suffix, according to Malay grammar.

For example, we say Bandar Sri Begawan (capital city of Brunei), not Sri Begawan-bandar.
We say Kota Tinggi (famous waterfall town in Johor), not Tinggi-kota.

Bro, google lah......http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jayapura

my downstairs kopitaim ah peks tol me ...

last time wen sang nila utama came to spore, dey saw n animal n dey shouted loudly ... 'singa! singa!' ...

but ze locals heard dem n shouted equally loudly ... 'pura! pura!' ...

well, datz how ...

Typo lah... suppose 2 b Liar City... Not Lion City...:D:D

Why are you so ignorant? Malay food is the best in Singapura! Sorry, merely emulating the only identified forummer here.

I guess that means PAP has been pulling wool over the lion's eyes.