• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

When u order food, don't be fussy! One man had his hand chopped!

cooleo

hawker_sliced_off_customers_thumb_in_row_over_2_bowl_of_noodles-thumbnail.jpg

Hawker sliced off customer's thumb in row over $2 bowl of noodles
08 Jun 2010

Source: The New Paper

HE insists he is not a fussy eater.

All he wanted was for his chilli to be separated from his noodles and for the noodles to be cut.

So when his wife told him that the hawker had grumbled about his requests, Mr Chan Seng Chai, 57, was outraged.

He confronted the hawker, Sim Yong Ha, 66, at his fishball noodles stall at Block 79, Telok Blangah Drive.

The confrontation became heated and Mr Chan grabbed a plastic chair, intending to swing it at Sim.

Sim grabbed a chopper from his stall to block the chair, according to court documents.

He ended up cutting Mr Chan’s left hand.

The impact sliced off Mr Chan’s left thumb and landed Sim in court.

Yesterday, Sim was sentenced to a day’s jail and fined $10,000. He had pleaded guilty last month to one charge of causing grievous hurt.

Mr Chan’s wife preserved the thumb in a bag of ice and the couple rushed to Singapore General Hospital, where the thumb was re-attached.

When asked if he was angry with Sim, Mr Chan, now unemployed, told The New Paper: “What’s there to be angry about? It’s so stupid, just because of the chilli.

“I should have just ignored the fellow (Sim), just walked off. I really don’t understand why it happened.

“I also don’t want to put him in a difficult situation. He goes his way, I go mine.”

Was he a regular at Sim’s stall?

“I don’t go to that food centre often, but I’ve been there before.

“I don’t understand what was wrong with him (Sim). I ate from his stall before, all the while (making the same requests), no problem. I’m not a fussy eater.”

So why did his wife ask for his noodles to be cut and for the chilli to be separated?

He answered: “An old man like me...it’s difficult to eat. Am I asking for too much? Is it too much?

Mr Chan said that he quit his part-time job because of his injury. He declined to describe his job.

“My hand is okay, not 100 per cent normal. It can’t be 100 per cent normal, maybe 70 to 75 per cent,” said Mr Chan.

The court was told that Mr Chan’s wife had ordered a bowl of fishball noodles from Sim’s stall at about 6.30am on Sept 30 last year.

Complied with Requests

Mrs Chan made her requests, to which Sim commented that she should not be so demanding because the bowl of noodles cost only $2. He did, however, agree to do as she asked.

When Mrs Chan returned to where her husband was seated, she told him what had happened.

Mr Chan confronted Sim about his earlier remark and the two men started arguing.

Sim commented again that the bowl of noodles had cost only $2.

That was when Mr Chan lifted a plastic chair to the level of his head.

Sim picked up a chopper with an 18cm-long blade.

It hit Mr Chan’s left hand, severing his thumb.

Sim was hit by the chair and had cuts on his right index finger and elbow.

Yesterday morning, Sim, accompanied by four relatives, looked solemn as he awaited his sentence.

But he looked less serious when District Judge Ronald Gwee sentenced him to a token imprisonment term of one day and fined him $10,000.

Standing in the dock, Sim, a father of four, bowed and said “thank you, thank you” to the judge.

Judge Gwee said that, going by the events leading to the incident, the victim was the aggressor in a very minor matter.

The judge noted that Mr Chan had shouted vulgarities and gesticulated at Sim.

Calling the case “exceptional”, Judge Gwee added that it was because Sim feared for his own safety and the safety of his wife that he made the “rash choice” of picking up the chopper.

After the judge left the courtroom, Sim hugged his daughter in an emotional and tearful embrace.

Hawkers from the food centre told The New Paper yesterday afternoon that they have not seen Sim or his wife since the incident last year.

Their stall has been taken over by someone else.

Mr Hoi Kok Weng, whose stall was next to Sim’s, said in Mandarin: “Their stall was popular because the food was good and their noodles were only $2. They’ve been here for way over 10 years.”

He described Sim as “very quiet”, adding that “he always kept to himself”.

Commented Mr Hoi: “(They) were a good team – he did the cooking; his wife served.

“Even before I had my own stall here, I ate at their stall regularly. It’s a pity.”

Most of the other hawkers had not seen the incident because they start business at about 10am. Mr Sim used to start at about 5am.

A drinks stall owner said he was around at the time, but did not see what happened because he was busy inside his stall.

He said: “I only realised something had happened when a customer rushed to my stall and asked for ice. I gave her a packet of ice.

“When I came out, I saw some blood (on the floor).”

The stallholders agreed that it was common for customers to have special requests, but most are simple ones like separating the chilli from noodles.

A hawker who declined to be named said: “When we go to other food centres, we are customers too. There’s a certain way we like our food, so we make requests. We understand that.

“But there are some who are very fussy and make many demands.”

Mr Chan Seng Chai, 57 you CB kia .

For $2.00 noodle you threw a chair at the hawker !

If I am judge I will give a same jail term too .

Let not the public think it's ok to be the aggressor .

Someone please find out more on Mr Chan Seng Chai, 57 .

We have to find out how you look like,
where you stay and your habits, next of kin .

You could have some gangster links . We will need to find out more .

You make him to be high profile . I will like you Mr Chan Seng Chai to be high profile too .

Any people know him please add some information here .

Maybe you working for someone to replace the popular good stall .

How come the victim face is posted on the papers and not
the Mr Chan Seng Chai, 57 the agressor .

Judge Gwee said that, going by the events leading to the incident, the victim was the aggressor in a very minor matter.

The judge must be joking when he says that, who is this judge ? You afraid of aggressor, he got some gangster links you afraid of ?

You better summon the aggressor and give him a jail similar to the victim lest not the public thinks it's ok to create trouble .

Mr Chan Seng Chai, 57 your face better be on the papers by sun down .

If we do ever meet up , I take more than your thumb .

very funny sentence. ah sim the hawker only exercise his right of selfdefence, why still get fine?

Very unusual incident and both remorseful. Sadly he gave up his stall and his livelihhood.

Typical sinkie $2 and request this request that.
He should thank the hawker for selling him cooked noodles for $2.
ungrateful fool

Why is Sim paying PAP $10,000 for his 1 day stay in the Hotel??

6:30 a.m., sigh. Usually this type of incidents happen between 12:30 and 3:30 a.m. What's happening to Singaporeans? You-got-pressure-I-got pressure sympton?

Both sides were irrational. Cutting noddle and separating chili are common requests and easily done in seconds. That part, the hawker was being inexplicably unreasonable to refuse. Assault with a chair just because the hawker refused. That part, the customer has violently overreacted.

From a legal standpoint, I think that the hawker didn't hire a lawyer. He could have got away not guilty by pleading self defence by reflex action, i.e. grabbing a knife when he saw the aggressor coming at him with a chair over his head. In the ensuing commotion, the injury was inflicted on the aggressor. However grievous the injury, there's no intention other than self defence and it just happened in its course.

Miscarriage of justice for not giving agressor similiar jail time.

The request to seperate the chilli and cut the noodles was not an unreasonable or outrageous request.
The hawker could have done it. But he didn't just comply and grumbled instead.
If you ask me who should take the greater share of the blame, it's the customer in my opinion.
Ok, the hawker should have just done it without grumbling.
But is there any need to confront him for grumbling?
In my opinion, the customer went after the hawker because he lost face in front of his wife. Lots of fights and confrontations have started because a woman was there and the man felt that he lost face in front of the woman.

It's $2.00 just allow him to grumble . He is 66 years old .

Do you throw a chair at someone 9 years older than you / at a old man of 66 years old for grumbling .
You think your $2.00 is a lot in today's term . He will rather close shop and call it quits since his photo is everywhere .

We got to track the other guy .

He shld have said he was holding a chopper when he was attacked, and by reflexes, he raised his hand (the one holding the chopper) to fend off the chair, and that cut the attacker's thumb..

From a legal standpoint, I think that the hawker didn't hire a lawyer. He could have got away not guilty by pleading self defence by reflex action, i.e. grabbing a knife when he saw the aggressor coming at him with a chair over his head. In the ensuing commotion, the injury was inflicted on the aggressor. However grievous the injury, there's no intention other than self defence and it just happened in its course.

For stupid reason $2 noodle bowl give so many request just like one in the ad sure make anyone angry.
If don't like it next time dont buy from same stall.
$2 for a thumb sure many people like laugh for the stupid Mr Chan idiot.

For stupid reason $2 noodle bowl give so many request just like one in the ad sure make anyone angry.
If don't like it next time dont buy from same stall.
$2 for a thumb sure many people like laugh for the stupid Mr Chan idiot.

No he is not a fussy eater. He is only a man of principles. And he should have added his cut-off thumb to his Swiss standard $2 noodles as it was just a well-meaning healthy serving suggestion from the hawker.

It's $2.00 just allow him to grumble . He is 66 years old .

Do you throw a chair at someone 9 years older than you / at a old man of 66 years old for grumbling .
You think your $2.00 is a lot in today's term . He will rather close shop and call it quits since his photo is everywhere .

We got to track the other guy .

typical b@stard sinkie always want to bully an old man. he started the fight by throwing the chair. how come the judge did not jail and fine him for violence. anyway really glad he got his thumb chop off. should have been his arm. alot of such b@stards nowadays threatening other on roads etc. deserved it!:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

Yeah man, more and more idiots on the road too and everywhere .

Stressful Singapore .

Next time order Mee Siam Mai Hum lah, at least the hawker won't grumble because Mee Siam got no Hum and chillie can be placed separately at the side plate. Than again, a loser can never be satisfied and grumbled that mee siam come with free cut green lime. So difficult to serve nowadays.

Come on, dun you guys know that such outcome is cause by the infamous sinkie behavior.

The request to seperate the chilli and cut the noodles was not an unreasonable or outrageous request.
The hawker could have done it. But he didn't just comply and grumbled instead.
If you ask me who should take the greater share of the blame, it's the customer in my opinion.
Ok, the hawker should have just done it without grumbling.
But is there any need to confront him for grumbling?
In my opinion, the customer went after the hawker because he lost face in front of his wife. Lots of fights and confrontations have started because a woman was there and the man felt that he lost face in front of the woman.

Talk so much. It is the sinkie behavior to be blamed. If there is no sinkie behavior, such thing will not happened.

If it is Thai behavior, there will only be a riot over $2 noodles.