• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

when did Chinese New Year become LNY

commoner

LNY cakes, cookies may be more expensive due to rising sugar prices
By Lian Cheong/Lynda Hong, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 19 January 2010 2208 hrs

SINGAPORE: People may have to pay more for their favourite Lunar New Year (LNY) goodies due to rising sugar prices.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1031764/1/.html

are singaporeans or the MSM trying to be politically correct?

or actually I did not notice when they start calling Loony New Year,,,,

talking abt chinese new year ... correct me if im wrong ...

chinese new years are actually very quiet occasions in HK & taiwan, m i rite ?

1) theres festive dining & family get togethers for steamboat & dumplings ... & spring rolls & nian gao ... they buy flowers ... then there are moments of solitude & reflection ...

2) ang pows are given by seniors to juniors and the giver may or may not be married ... its only in peasantpore that the marital status of the giver takes on so much importance ...

3) ang pows are also given to workers in HK ... also to delivery men, contractors etc ...

in s'pore, the chinese adopt the malay's way of celebrating hari raya, m i not rite ? visiting relatives & friends from house to house, and there they are served all kinds of colorful snacks & pastries but none of the traditional foods of HK/taiwan ? wearing new clothes is also unique to s'pore i think, ... bcos traditionally, coolies cannot afford new clothes all yr round, only on CNY ... this passed down to their descendents - modern day sinkie chinese ...

i doubt chinese in HK & taiwan go visiting house to house dressed in new clothes ...

eating yu sheng and shouting all kinds of slogans to make money & prosper, copying the PAP's greed for $$ and nothing else ... i m sure chinese from other countries will find this weird bcos there are things other than $$ thats important eg health, safety, relationships, self-development ...

... i m sure chinese from other countries will find this weird bcos there are things other than $$ thats important eg health, safety, relationships, self-development ...
dun tink so leh ...

ze lumpar 1 greeting during cny evrywhere is ... 恭喜发财 ! ...

Chinese Lunar New Year made reference to the moon as a calender system.

In ancient China, the farmers always made reference to the sun for harvesting. Hence, the true Chinese New Year is referenced in accordance to the sun as a calender system, called it as Sun Calender or Hsia Calender. The 1st day of Chinese New Year always fall on either 04 or 05 February for each new english calender year.

This year, the 1st day of Chinese New Year, Li Chun, is on 04 feb 2010 at 0649hr. This is the day zodiac Tiger arrives.

I think that the term Lunar New Year is correct as it's based on the cycles of the moon around the earth. Whereas, our universal Gregorian calendar is based on the cycles of the the earth around the sun, i.e. a solar calendar.

The Muslim calendar is supposedly also lunar based, but somehow not as accurate as the Chinese liunar calendar or the Gregorian calendar in fixing a annum (a calendar period of one year). Actually, in original Chinese, the lunar calendar is referred to as the agricultural calendar (nongli) and New Year's Day nongli xinnian.

... The Muslim calendar is supposedly also lunar based, but somehow not as accurate as the Chinese liunar calendar or the Gregorian calendar in fixing a annum (a calendar period of one year). ...
muslim calendar oso lunar based ... but it consistently hv 12 mths each yr ...

4 chinese calendar, evry 3 yrs + 1 or 2 xtra mths (润月) ...

1) theres festive dining & family get togethers for steamboat & dumplings ... & spring rolls & nian gao ... they buy flowers ... then there are moments of solitude & reflection ...

2) ang pows are given by seniors to juniors and the giver may or may not be married ... its only in peasantpore that the marital status of the giver takes on so much importance ...

3) ang pows are also given to workers in HK ... also to delivery men, contractors etc ...

in s'pore, the chinese adopt the malay's way of celebrating hari raya, m i not rite ? visiting relatives & friends from house to house, and there they are served all kinds of colorful snacks & pastries but none of the traditional foods of HK/taiwan ? wearing new clothes is also unique to s'pore i think, ... bcos traditionally, coolies cannot afford new clothes all yr round, only on CNY ... this passed down to their descendents - modern day sinkie chinese ...

i doubt chinese in HK & taiwan go visiting house to house dressed in new clothes ...

eating yu sheng and shouting all kinds of slogans to make money & prosper, copying the PAP's greed for $$ and nothing else ... i m sure chinese from other countries will find this weird bcos there are things other than $$ thats important eg health, safety, relationships, self-development ...

I doubt you know?

eh HK and Taiwan treats it as even more important then SG. e.g. Most pple in Taiwan will make the effort return to their family homes(like in China). U can also find all kinds of CNY markets selling traditional CNY food/snacks during this time of the year in both HK and Taiwan and yes they do dress up. In fact in China/HK/Taiwan, its a more important occasion then it is in SG

Will be spending my CNY/LNY (whatever you want to call it) between SG and JB! There will be gambling, boozing, and getting very nice massages in a very established location in JB. Huat ah!:D

There are races other than Chinese who celebrate the first day of the Lunar calendar. Therefore the Lunar New Year is not exclusive to the Chinese.

How about the lunar new year being more politically correct.

Not only chinese celebrate lunar new year, so do the viets who call it tet and also the koreans and possibly other east asian ppls.

Therefore since those ppl are not chinese it would be more pc to call it lny.