• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What Temasek and GIC should have done with our Billions

The entire premise around Temasek and GIC is to provide a good return on the money of singaporeans. This is actually a stupid and myopic view for sovereign funds to take. If all they wanted was a high return, they could have left the money with any investment house and not create 2 huge money wasting bureaucracy i.e. Temasek and GIC. What Temasek and GIC should have done is:
-To use their money to buy major shares in up and coming, creative, hi tech companies.
-Using the seats on the BOD of these companies, and the shares they control, they should have pressurised these companies into setting up R & D facilities in singapore and also to build manufacturing plants in S'pore. Hence, employing locals and injecting money into the economy.
- They should make these companies relocate their regional offices or call centres to singapore.
- Transfer their technology over to singaporean companies.
-Companies owned by Temasek and GIC should have a large portion of their middle and upper management replaced by S'poreans, and their salaries paid for by the company.

What I am trying to say is that Temasek could not only have earned a decent return on their investments, but they could have created thousands of new jobs and opportunities for singaporeans by applying an owner's right to have a say in where and how they do business.

cursed be the country when the leadership has access to billions of funds while the peasants are suffering because of daily living.

People's Republic of China is another freak in the making.

People simi lan. Worst than capitalist.

cursed be the country when the leadership has access to billions of funds while the peasants are suffering because of daily living.

We don't care about china, we got enough problems here.

Temasick and gic should not have sucked away our billions in the first place.

Those billions are best in the hands of those that earned them

cost of living would not have been that high for everyone.

And we would have enough to invest in ourselves, give to charities and to do as we wish

instead of in the hands of lky and his cronies and temasick and gic

We don't care about china, we got enough problems here.

Temasick and gic should not have sucked away our billions in the first place.

Those billions are best in the hands of those that earned them

cost of living would not have been that high for everyone.

And we would have enough to invest in ourselves, give to charities and to do as we wish

instead of in the hands of lky and his cronies and temasick and gic

There is no free lunch, everyone pays in the end.

The entire premise around Temasek and GIC is to provide a good return on the money of singaporeans. This is actually a stupid and myopic view for sovereign funds to take. If all they wanted was a high return, they could have left the money with any investment house and not create 2 huge money wasting bureaucracy i.e. Temasek and GIC. What Temasek and GIC should have done is:
-To use their money to buy major shares in up and coming, creative, hi tech companies.
-Using the seats on the BOD of these companies, and the shares they control, they should have pressurised these companies into setting up R & D facilities in singapore and also to build manufacturing plants in S'pore. Hence, employing locals and injecting money into the economy.
- They should make these companies relocate their regional offices or call centres to singapore.
- Transfer their technology over to singaporean companies.
-Companies owned by Temasek and GIC should have a large portion of their middle and upper management replaced by S'poreans, and their salaries paid for by the company.

What I am trying to say is that Temasek could not only have earned a decent return on their investments, but they could have created thousands of new jobs and opportunities for singaporeans by applying an owner's right to have a say in where and how they do business.

Hind sight is always 6/6 or better, so they say. Isn't that exactly what GIC and Temasek did? Albeit the company they picked, despite AAA ratings, still tanked! Don't spout your bloody delusions here that the companies invested were in any way inferior to the Sg companies. If I'm given the money, I would also have parked them exactly where GIC and Temasek did! Timing-wise may be a bit out; something our dear leaders must have realised by now.

Want to anti-PAP also must anti with some acceptable IQ lah. Tiu lei loh mole.

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

Hind sight is always 6/6 or better, so they say. Isn't that exactly what GIC and Temasek did? Albeit the company they picked, despite AAA ratings, still tanked! Don't spout your bloody delusions here that the companies invested were in any way inferior to the Sg companies. If I'm given the money, I would also have parked them exactly where GIC and Temasek did! Timing-wise may be a bit out; something our dear leaders must have realised by now.

Losing your own money is one thing. Losing other peoples money is another. You have to account for it. :oIo:

More importantly, apart from the Familee and its running dogs and FTrash pets, which Sporn has enjoyed the fruit of our labour - 50 years of it in total?

Hi,
To concentrate more than 40 percent of your investible funds in financials is moronic. No need hindsight. That despite pumping in when the markets were tanking. No need hindsight. We all know we dont have resources, food, energy, so why cant we invest a little into agriculture to protect our food chain?. Of course they do now, but I believe they did it at the highs.
I am not anti PAP per se, but anti stupidity.

There is no free lunch, everyone pays in the end.

What fucking free lunch ?

That 'lunch' cost Sinkies 400++ billions that got sucked into that Temasick and GIC cash box.

It is that bastard LKY and his stinking bastards in white that are getting free lunches and free dinners as well from all of us and screwing and insulting us in the mean time.

You are just one of those worms that crawled out of LKY anus and full of his shit

Get your stink out of here and crawl back into LKY shit hole.

The primary purpose for setting up the GIC/GLC is to provide a comfortable pastureland for retiring PAP Mininsters to supplement their pensions by earning their retirement income as CEOs there because there isn't enough Ambassador positions in the foreign missions for all the retiring PAP MPs.

The long term returns for those investments are meant for the good of the GLCs/GICs and even in the worst of times they (RESERVES) are NOT and NEVER will be used to provide relief or welfare on lesser mortals.

Hi,
To concentrate more than 40 percent of your investible funds in financials is moronic. No need hindsight. That despite pumping in when the markets were tanking. No need hindsight. We all know we dont have resources, food, energy, so why cant we invest a little into agriculture to protect our food chain?. Of course they do now, but I believe they did it at the highs.
I am not anti PAP per se, but anti stupidity.

Watch out! Your foot is deeper into your mouth! Even the sage of Omaha is down on his portfolio, what more can we asked of the men in GIC/Temasek. Please lah, don't join the bandwagon and throw out after-the-fact ad nauseum...

Watch out? Should I feel threatened? The sage of Omaha is transparent with his investments and the investors that buy into his portfolio do so willingly. Temasek and GIC does so without transparency and our ex Prez was chastised for asking. Hear what Teo Chee Hean said, the procedure to tap into the Reserves is sound, whether it takes 11 days or 2 hours to arrive at that decision. Tharman says trust the system.

We should be scared, becos its people like you who join the PAP bandwagon and claim invincibility ad nauseum. I feel threatened by the system.

What they had bought GOLD, starting twenty years ago...they would have made a fortune, we would be in a GOLDEN PERIOD..and we don not need to raid 'gringotts' and ask the prataman to open the safe...:D

FBEye
Feb 19, 2009 11:07 PM GMT
A.I.G was the largest insurance company in the WORLD, correct? They FAILED, didn't they? Look where their stock is trading today!!! Bank of America & Citigroup have NO SHOT at making it on their own! They'll be Nationalized by November of 2009, or before. Just watch! You can actually go to a website called ripoffreport.com and type in BANK OF AMERICA and read all the Ripoff Reports that are pouring in each day about them!!! It's only a matter of time!!!!! NATIONALIZATION is coming soon!
Senses
Feb 19, 2009 10:43 PM GMT
Bank of America, like a hungry restless bear, rushed to grab a piece of meat and discovered it had swallowed a frog. Well, now let it vommit it out! Time to let these banks work out their problems without government help. Bank of America should sell asset and spin out merrill. Let the frog out.....
RONI
Feb 19, 2009 10:35 PM GMT
# # Bailout 2008, a poem by David Jeffrey: Like a bloodied warrior, laying broken and torn. Like a dying soldier, hopeless and forlorn. But the blood, it be green, the color of money. And the soldier is an economy, and it is anything but funny. Broken are it�??s people and shattered are their dreams. Thanks to the ultra rich and their full proof schemes. It is a tragedy with more pain to come. Finance will be Hell, and their wills will be done. http://www.voicesnet.org/allpoemsoneauthor.aspx?memberid=982900010

Wah lau, is this the best job u can get for sucking PAP cock? come on this forum spouting you cowdung. Pretty pathetic.

K N N B C C B. Unlike you, I have no axe to grind against the PAP. I just comment as I see fit. Bastoods like you are almost one dimensional in throwing things out in this forum, mostly without passing thru' the larger head. If you want to paint the government black all the time, at least show some finesse in doing so.

I like to drive noises and clutter from ppl like youself out of the forum; you're selfishly preventing useful and good information from appearing here.

:oIo:

Losing your own money is one thing. Losing other peoples money is another. You have to account for it. :oIo:

In the private sector,IF u lose money means lose money,poor performance,u are fired !!! No IFs or Buts.