• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Were you in NS in Nov 1986?

MBSSLOTS

Israeli President Chaim Herzog Visited Singapore
21st November 1986, Friday

The official visit in November 1986 by the Israeli President, Chaim Herzog resulted in violent anti-Singapore demonstrations in Malaysia for five weeks. Malaysian government protested by temporarily withdrawing the Malaysian high commissioner in Singapore to Kuala Lumpur. Malaysia’s Politician Abdul Razak Ahmad laid on the railway track in Johor Baru in an attempt to stop a Singapore-bound train in protest against the visit of then Israeli president Chaim Herzog to Singapore.

--------------------

I was in NS Guards Unit in 1986. I remember the edgy relationship with Malaysia. Malaysia threatened to cut off water supply to Sinkieland. The Cabinet was edgy and the miltary were tasked to think of a response plan. The plan was that if water supply was indeed cut, the Singapore Armed Forces was to move into Johore and secured the water supply.

A lot of SAF units were on standby. Amongst them, 3rd Guards which I was in...We sleep with boots and have live ammo ready at all times....it was frightening....

Alas...nothing happened in the end...

Any forumrunners were in the same shit then in Nov 1986?

Nabei.... "move into Johore and secure the water supply..". What kind of F-ed up response plan is that? :rolleyes: Must be some scholar general's plan - BG Lee?

Not sure, i was only a LTA. we will have to follow orders if indeed it was given...it was tense for my NCOs and men...

I guess now Sinkieland is less reliant with Mudland water....with new reservoirs and New water...this tense situation will not happen again.

Maybe after the 1986 incident, the PAP govt learnt the lesson and started developing its water strategy...

No country will allow another country to dictate who can and can't visit their country, if Singapore are to do what Malaysia ask of them, it is no different then being a slave to Malaysia....:eek:

So how long does the whole exercise lasted?

it was over 2 months i think...very tense...sleeping with boots and carrying live ammo...ready to move out once order was given...maybe at that time too young to appreciate that if order was given, some of us will die in the jungles of johore...too young then...really too young to appreciate how vulnerable we were...

i think all of u will be killed before crossing the causeway. police angchia also on high alert for protest to march across the causeway. i think they were standing by fully equipped, hiding somewhere near causeway and out of public view. Golden Dragon got any stories on this?

Not sure, i was only a LTA. we will have to follow orders if indeed it was given...it was tense for my NCOs and men...

You are indeed very lucky. If really war breaks out, you would have been killed by your own men.

Sinkies have no stomach to fight and die for a cause that can be settled by money. Ask them to CHARGE, and theyll shhot you.

once i saw a column of APCs rollout of nowhere when i was activated for reservist.

i said to myself. this is it. the real deal is here. my legs suddenly turn wobbly.

later it turn out to be some exercise.

I guess now Sinkieland is less reliant with Mudland water....with new reservoirs and New water...this tense situation will not happen again.

Maybe after the 1986 incident, the PAP govt learnt the lesson and started developing its water strategy...

what PAP did was to make SAF so strong................pressure M'sia enough liao..............

but now with so much foreign money in S'pore.................it'll be like Kuwait and Iraq all over again.............

so even if SAF no more.............no fear...............foreign money, local oil refineries will make us like Kuwait............so M'sia won't invade or do anything funny even if we BEG them to............

Malaysian polis rape their people, what will malaysian army do to other people....... Boleh!

They can't even sort out their own backyard want to meddle in other people's business. We should have sent all their kakis working over here back up north.

No country will allow another country to dictate who can and can't visit their country, if Singapore are to do what Malaysia ask of them, it is no different then being a slave to Malaysia....:eek:

Malaysian polis rape their people, what will malaysian army do to other people....... Boleh!

thing is their political leaders will never order any attack on S'pore..............they're not that smart.............but they're not that dumb............

Kuwait was the best example liao..............they got oil so Jewish-controlled oil companies, banks and the Jewish Lobby got USA into war...........S'pore is like Kuwait, the oil is not ours but we refine a lot of it...........plus a lot of Jewish and Western banks here.............S'pore also a major forex trading centre..........and a lot of foreign investments and money here............

Priest lah, you all serve national slavery before. You don't know what is wayang. SAF can fight? Don't make me laugh leh. Look at no porn lui and kee chew, you mean these clowns were soldiers? Limpeh give face call them boy scouts (no pun intended)

\ Look at no porn lui and kee chew, you mean these clowns were soldiers? Limpeh give face call them boy scouts (no pun intended)

How you know KEE CHEW cannot fight? You go boxing with him before issit?

You are indeed very lucky. If really war breaks out, you would have been killed by your own men.

Sinkies have no stomach to fight and die for a cause that can be settled by money. Ask them to CHARGE, and theyll shhot you.
Not really leh...my men were all psyche up and ready...maybe we are Guards Unit.