• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Wedding Dinners Down 50%!!!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Yam sengs are just as special on weekdays
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><TR>Cheaper wedding dinners on weekdays a strong pull factor for couples </TR><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Yeo Sam Jo
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
ST_IMAGES_11636320.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

Mr Alex Lee and his bride Kim Gan are among a rising number of couples who are hosting their wedding dinners and lunches on weekdays instead of the more traditional weekends. -- PHOTO COURTESY OF ALEX LEE
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->BANK officer Alex Lee and his wife Kim Gan had their wedding dinner at the Hilton Hotel two weeks ago - on a Wednesday.
If it had been the weekend, the 47-table banquet would have been $9,000 more expensive. Plus, a check of geomancy sites on the Internet showed that March 11 was a 'lucky date' for the couple, he said.
<TABLE width=200 align=left valign="top"><TBODY><TR><TD class=padr8><!-- Vodcast --><!-- Background Story -->RELATED LINKS
<!-- Audio --><!-- Video --><!-- PDF -->
ico_pdf.gif
COST OF A WEDDING BANQUET
<!-- Photo Gallery -->
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>'It doesn't have to be on a weekend to be special,' said Mr Lee, 35.
More couples would agree.
About half of the 23 hotels The Straits Times spoke to said that while the majority of newly-weds still prefer traditional weekend dinners, an increasing number of couples are opting for weekend lunches or weekday dinners instead.
At both the M Hotel and Swissotel Merchant Court, three in every 10 couples are opting for these cheaper banquets, up from one in 10 couples in previous years.
Mr Rainer Tenius, general manager of Swissotel Merchant Court, put it down to the 'market situation'. Couples are anticipating smaller red packets, 'thus it seems far more viable to opt for the cheaper packages'.
Depending on the package, menu and venue, a typical hotel wedding dinner on weekends can cost between $700 and $1,200 per table. By comparison, lunches and weekday dinners are generally cheaper by about $100 to $400 per table.
Even five-star hotels like Marina Mandarin and The Regent Singapore are reporting a rise in lunch and weekday dinner bookings.
'Couples have become more savvy,' said Miss Chayapha Asawachinda, director of catering at The Regent. 'Many are also on the lookout for extra perks such as complimentary wine and better prices at wedding shows.'
But there are some couples who feel the wedding lunch is not so much about saving costs as of preference and convenience.
Ms Teria Kim-Wong, a 31 year-old bride-to-be, said: 'I'm considering a weekend lunch banquet because it is not so formal and the atmosphere is more relaxing. My guests also won't have to rush home for work the next day.'
But frugality appears to be the watchword these days, and there are those who are going one step further by postponing their marriage plans.
Business development executive Yvonne Low, 25, plans to tie the knot next year. 'This year's economy is very bad for throwing a wedding. I think it's better to play safe now and save up for bad weather.'
At Hotel Rendezvous, the number of wedding bookings for the first two months has gone down by about 50 per cent, from 15 last year to seven this year.
Others like the Grand Hyatt and Copthorne Kings have also reported a 10 per cent dip over the same period, but would not disclose any figures.
Still, most hotels are optimistic when it comes to incoming bookings for the year ahead.
Said Mr Ho Mun Hoong, director of catering at the Four Seasons: 'No matter the times, people are still getting married. Be it lunch or dinner, banquets are their way of making this important milestone memorable.' [email protected]

eQuipment

now is the time for the coffeeshop tze-char to up their presentation. asian want water face for everything, wedding die die also must throw a meal or banquet. the racial minority have been doing it closer to the heartlands for the longest time, almost 90% at HDB void-decks or community center. even fandi ahmad held his at the neighborhood padang.

soon, the chinese gonna host their's at the neighborhood kopitiam.

annexa

More people are discovering that monogamy and the marriage certificate is a liability more than an asset. Good for them!

Before you marry, your gf will dress up for you. And you get you fuck whenever you want, most of the time.
If you fuck other women, not as guilty because gf only what.

After you marry, your wife will expect you to fuck only once in a while when she feels like it. If she got aunty visit, cannot. If she fertile period, cannot. Because you need family planning.
If you make her angry on the fateful day when you are "schedule" to fuck. Good luck and see you next week.
If got kids, even if you help out housework and look after kids, also cannot unless kids sleep.
If you fuck other women because your wife cannot supply, you are dead meat and guilty as shit.

So, why should men marry to get liability?

Royston46

More people are discovering that monogamy and the marriage certificate is a liability more than an asset. Good for them!

Before you marry, your gf will dress up for you. And you get you fuck whenever you want, most of the time.
If you fuck other women, not as guilty because gf only what.

After you marry, your wife will expect you to fuck only once in a while when she feels like it. If she got aunty visit, cannot. If she fertile period, cannot. Because you need family planning.
If you make her angry on the fateful day when you are "schedule" to fuck. Good luck and see you next week.
If got kids, even if you help out housework and look after kids, also cannot unless kids sleep.
If you fuck other women because your wife cannot supply, you are dead meat and guilty as shit.

So, why should men marry to get liability?

People marry out of love for each other...

Love is actually a simple deal...

Just that we humans like to complicate matters...

:cool:

popdod

Why chinese always like to hold wedding dinner??
So expensive, time consuming & troublesome.

Just go overseas honeymoon can liao mah.
Simple is the best.

:o :( :o

void deck oso can? ...

Rarely I have seen Chinese wedding dinners being held in void decks, I think only once, so far. Only the Malays hold theirs mainly at void decks.

the Chinese usually hold funeral wakes at void decks...this maybe the reason, why Chinese wedding dinners, are seldom held there, unless one is really broke!..and 'shotgun'..:wink:

they will have to add tables for unseen guests too!:biggrin:

yinyang

I digress... but this reminds me of our days of our forefathers.

Just a few tables banquet, and witnessed... you are hitched (common law wifey?):p:wink:

Our forefathers, the rciher ones have 1 WIFE..and many concubines...it is an 'in thing' back then!:biggrin:

Ah Guan

Why chinese always like to hold wedding dinner??
So expensive, time consuming & troublesome.

Actually the Chinese system is quite good with guests returning ang pao

For Indian weddings with usually lasts for 3 days, the costs are borne by the bride's family.... ladies with no money better don't even think about finding boyfriends.

For some Middle Eastern and Mediterranean cultures, big wedding feasts are expected but guests just eat, drink, dance and fuck off. Young couples start off married with a big wedding dinner debt

yinyang

For Indian weddings with usually lasts for 3 days, the costs are borne by the bride's family.... ladies with no money better don't even think about finding boyfriends.
For some Middle Eastern and Mediterranean cultures, big wedding feasts are expected but guests just eat, drink, dance and fuck off. Young couples start off married with a big wedding dinner debt
Fair comment. Chinese is self financing (pay for your entry and makan) -unless host is over the top.

In many parts of europe, bride's father pays for wedding party. My kweilo boss got few daughters, and he's tearing his hair on his future liability:p:wink:

borom

Very soon they will make the leap from wedding dinners down = less people getting married= population not replacing itself= we need more foreign talent.
End result of this report-more jobless locals and more FT to replace them at elections.

now is the time for the coffeeshop tze-char to up their presentation. asian want water face for everything, wedding die die also must throw a meal or banquet. the racial minority have been doing it closer to the heartlands for the longest time, almost 90% at HDB void-decks or community center. even fandi ahmad held his at the neighborhood padang.

soon, the chinese gonna host their's at the neighborhood kopitiam.

Now tse char business in coffeshop also down. Now I can see more people ta pao dish at economy rich stall. They buy only dish and cook rice at home due to no time cook because of work.:smile:

nextinfidel

you guys ever heard of a sg char bor, saying, for a girl to get married is better. and if the guy tries to fool around, the girl can always threathen a divorce and sweep half of his assets.

you call that marriage out of love? or is it more like buying/marrying an insurance policy.

angry_one

Here's another twist: Women will rather be married and divorced, than not married before. At least it shows someone wanted them before, and they're not old virgin. For men, they'd rather not be married if they intend to enjoy their lives.

you guys ever heard of a sg char bor, saying, for a girl to get married is better. and if the guy tries to fool around, the girl can always threathen a divorce and sweep half of his assets.

you call that marriage out of love? or is it more like buying/marrying an insurance policy.

ah_phah

nowsadays all the stupid headache is all about the stinking water face lor. last time during ah-gong ah-ma days, only simple home cooked meal for relatives, family frens & neighbours come eat can liao. no angbao also no big deal, cos the ingredients mainly sponsored or bartered with neighbours.

then later, all wanna be sikit atas, so must have at minimum a buffet reception. then after the boom in 80s, ppl all wanna have the yumseng cheers in the ballroom, so more n more suckers fast & save up for the wedding, just to have that stupid yumseng on stage.

now, to be pragmatic is key for survival, so maybe all just ta-pow from the nearby kopitiam to eat, can liao.

ah_phah

usually the $ is from the papa & mama foundation la. long time back when arranged marriage was the only way to get married, the parents want face, so must have a feast. so the papa end up sponsor the wedding, and also feed the household also.

now, wanna marry, as papa & mama sponsor? they say ""SEE GEENA!! no $ dont follow others marry wife!

ah_phah

Now tse char business in coffeshop also down. Now I can see more people ta pao dish at economy rich stall. They buy only dish and cook rice at home due to no time cook because of work.:smile:
so bo bian lor, they hold the wedding feast at the kopitiam, then mass order from the different stalls lor. the modern budget ala-carte style