• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

We do not want minimum wage.

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - We do not want minimum wage.</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>Tan_Kin_Lian <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>6:16 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 25) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>24272.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Everything in life has a cost. Having minimum wage is not mean you earn more. The other side of the picture is that you have to spend more too.
When wages are artificially rose, that means cost of business will rise too. All these extra costs will be passed on to consumers which is you and me. It is just a kind of subsidization to assist or support those people who couldn't make enough to sustain their life. Why should we pay for them, right? This is a free market, let us compete. If you want to be lazy, that is not my problem.
If you want a minimum wage policy, then be prepare to pay $7 for a bowl of wanton mee. That is the story of many major cities like London or Sydney.
Yes pay scales in those countries are more, but look at the big picture. You pay ridiculous tax, and costs of products are artificially rose.
Think about it. MM LEE does have some common sense.
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Indeed it's a matter of supply and demand. Towards this end, the PAPee ensures no min. wage for NS-serving Sporns by opening the floodgate to FTrash while ensuring their own min. wage by monopolizing the political arena. What do you call this for short?

EXPLOITATION!

And the Final Solution for Sporns to regain the dignity in their lives as citizens?
REVOLUTION!

but PAP ministers got minimum wage !

see for yourself---$750 per mth VS 400K per mth (istana people).

no need minimum wage? tok cock lah , kan lin lau peh !

<table id="msgUN" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="3" width="100%"><tbody><tr><td id="msgUNsubj" valign="top">
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - We do not want minimum wage.</td><td id="msgunetc" align="right" nowrap="nowrap">
icon.aspx
Subscribe </td></tr></tbody></table><table class="msgtable" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="96%"><tbody><tr><td class="msg" valign="top"><table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"><tbody><tr class="msghead"><td class="msgbfr1" width="1%"> </td><td><table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr class="msghead"><td class="msgF" align="right" nowrap="nowrap" width="1%">From: </td><td class="msgFname" nowrap="nowrap" width="68%">Tan_Kin_Lian <nobr></nobr> </td><td class="msgDate" align="right" nowrap="nowrap" width="30%">6:16 am </td></tr><tr class="msghead"><td class="msgT" align="right" height="20" nowrap="nowrap" width="1%">To: </td><td class="msgTname" nowrap="nowrap" width="68%">ALL <nobr></nobr></td><td class="msgNum" align="right" nowrap="nowrap"> (1 of 25) </td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr><tr><td class="msgleft" rowspan="4" width="1%"> </td><td class="wintiny" align="right" nowrap="nowrap">24272.1 </td></tr><tr><td height="8"></td></tr><tr><td class="msgtxt">Everything in life has a cost. Having minimum wage is not mean you earn more. The other side of the picture is that you have to spend more too.
When wages are artificially rose, that means cost of business will rise too. All these extra costs will be passed on to consumers which is you and me. It is just a kind of subsidization to assist or support those people who couldn't make enough to sustain their life. Why should we pay for them, right? This is a free market, let us compete. If you want to be lazy, that is not my problem.
If you want a minimum wage policy, then be prepare to pay $7 for a bowl of wanton mee. That is the story of many major cities like London or Sydney.
Yes pay scales in those countries are more, but look at the big picture. You pay ridiculous tax, and costs of products are artificially rose.
</td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table>

Is that the real Tan Kin Lian or some doggy poser? :oIo:

i prefer to ask for MAXIMUM wage for ministers... otherwise... jia lat

Of course it is a fake.

The illogic is more than familiar. It is probably the same guy who said: -
1.CPF money should not be returned to us because it will cause inflation.
2.Increased GST did not cause inflation because it was imported.

This joker did not realise that “minimum wage” in our context is not the same as those in the West whereby they have a figure on a per hour basic for different jobs. And the figures are updated very frequently. The unions are strong and wage-bargaining is a common feature resulting in frequent strikes, market distortion and wage-induced inflation.

“Minimum wage” in our context really means life-sustaining wage. Say for example, $xxx per month. It applies to everyone - from the toilet cleaner to the PM of Singapore. The figure will be so low that almost everyone clears it except those earning below the poverty line. It won't affect 99% of existing wages/salaries and it won't make an impact on prices and inflation.

If we were to subscibe to the joker's reasoning, McDonalds should be held responsible for causing inflation because surely it pays more than life-sustaining wage. In fact, every other job in Singapore, including the “job” this joker's is holding, is above life-sustaining level and therefore is causing inflation.

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - We do not want minimum wage.</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>Tan_Kin_Lian <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>6:16 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 25) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>24272.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Everything in life has a cost. Having minimum wage is not mean you earn more. The other side of the picture is that you have to spend more too.
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

good post ...too bad alot of singaporean cannot understand how business works ...

I totally agree with phouse3. This call for minimum wages is not the same as western country, but for those below the poverty line. It does not call for a $20/hour minimum, but a minimum enough to sustain life in Singapore, e.g. $5/hour. Is this too much to ask?

There are two underlying issues here.

1) The government has allowed an influx of workers from third-world countries to take place. This means that these workers are much more willing to accept lower wages because they do not intend to make Singapore their home and send most of the money to their home country where it can buy much more due to the exchange rate and lower costs of living. In the early stages, this only affected workers doing low-level jobs but in recent years, it has expanded until it now affects even some high-level professionals.

2) Without mitigating actions from the government, this meant that wages here are very competitive while other costs cannot be brought down because other countries are also competing for the same resources. Land costs are also exorbitant due to the scarcity.

The result is a pincer-like effect of ever higher costs and increasing pressure on lower wages. Having a regularly-reviewed minimum wage that is commensurate with an acceptable standard of living will help to alleviate the squeeze. It will still attract the right sort of people to Singapore and prevent the widespread exploitation of workers that is evident now. The argument that Singapore needs to be cheaper for exports to be viable doesn't fly because we can never be anywhere near the cheapest. Putting faith in this argument is just delaying the inevitable. The only feasible solution is to come up with ways to make our exports more attractive without resorting to turning ourselves into a third-world country. Unfortunately, I do not see any of our leaders being visionaries and being able to come up with credible strategies. Considering this, it is certainly a mockery to ask to be paid the highest salaries of any government in the world. It is even sadder when the leaders start pointing the fingers at Singaporeans being of poor stock to mask their ineffective leadership.

to the MIW it is too much to ask.

FUCK MIW

I totally agree with phouse3. This call for minimum wages is not the same as western country, but for those below the poverty line. It does not call for a $20/hour minimum, but a minimum enough to sustain life in Singapore, e.g. $5/hour. Is this too much to ask?

HDB rental is the bulk cause of inflation, now that lky's govt is being cornered the Chief magician tries to pull another rabbit out of his hat, not realising that people are smarter than previously; lky should best lead a 4th world country where people can believe his 2nd hand tricks.

min wage is for peasants to achieve an acceptable standards of living, benchmark according to the living costs in SGP.

it helps to prevent labour exploitations like in sweatshops by scrooged biz people..etc...

we don't want to see more people homeless and living in HDB void decks because they don't have an acceptable standard of wage?

singaporeans don't have the tenacity like HK people to fight for good salaries...hence kena bow jiak by greedy biz people, who will later be condemn in hell eventually if they don't wake up their ideas...

Matthew 19:24 (New International Version)

24Again I tell you, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God."

Luke 12:13-21 (New International Version)

The Parable of the Rich Fool
13Someone in the crowd said to him, "Teacher, tell my brother to divide the inheritance with me."

14Jesus replied, "Man, who appointed me a judge or an arbiter between you?" 15Then he said to them, "Watch out! Be on your guard against all kinds of greed; a man's life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions."

16And he told them this parable: "The ground of a certain rich man produced a good crop. 17He thought to himself, 'What shall I do? I have no place to store my crops.'

18"Then he said, 'This is what I'll do. I will tear down my barns and build bigger ones, and there I will store all my grain and my goods. 19And I'll say to myself, "You have plenty of good things laid up for many years. Take life easy; eat, drink and be merry." '

20"But God said to him, 'You fool! This very night your life will be demanded from you. Then who will get what you have prepared for yourself?'

21"This is how it will be with anyone who stores up things for himself but is not rich toward God."

this is so PAP....told you are PAP dog...

let me ask you simple question although i know you are not a employer . if your business cost is high do you sell high or sell low ? who suffer in the end ? its you ppl . :oIo:

of course if i start my own biz, i will use Jesus rules and guidelines...i will not sell too high of my products or services, and pay lowest wages to my employees...because they have family to feed...

i will earn small enough profit for my expenses, and 10% offering to the church....the rest will go to my employees and their family...

besides if i start a biz, is purely for interests or fun and to keep people employed.....not for getting more BMWs or Benzes...one Honda will do happy for me...:D

That's Jesus way of doing biz, not like PAP....:D

find out why your biz cost is high, don't always take the easy way out by slashing employees salaries or jobs...

that shows your biz is not being run efficiently...etc. do you really need to spend on that additional capital expenditures?

I really can't understand what you all are arguing about? The ministers are discussing maximum wages for themselves and you all are discussing minimum wages. Hopeless.