• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Vandalized Catholic Church -It's coming nearer...KOTA TINGGI - JOHOR

Church in Johor splashed with red paint
By FARIK ZOLKEPLI

KOTA TINGGI: The St Elizabeth Catholic church in Kota Kecil near here was splashed with red paint early Thursday morning.

Kota Tinggi OCPD Supt Osman Mohamed Sebot confirmed that the incident occurred between 3am and 6am.

This is the first time a church in Johor has come under attack.

Several churches including the Assumption Church and the Life Chapel in Petaling Jaya were targeted in a series of arson attacks last week following the High Court ruling allowing Catholic weekly Herald to use the word “Allah” as a translation of “God” in its Malay-language edition.

The Home Ministry has since filed an appeal and a stay of execution was granted against the ruling.

Also on Thursday, the office of the lawyer representing the Catholic Church in the Herald issue was broken into.

A staff member, who showed up for work at the office belonging to Derek Fernandez, found the place in shambles when she arrived at about 8am on Thursday. The files were all scattered.

Hmmm doubt it would hit SinkApore. Its more a mudland problem. TeeKee should still be relatively safe.

Don't speak too soon!!..I have always admired the religious tolerence practiced by the Malaysians, over the years...especially the old Catholic Cathedral, not far from Komtar Shopping Centre..and the Catholic sschools etc..not far from some Muslim &.or islamic establishments...the serenity & peace.. that is in Johor Baru...

Kota Tinggi....is not that far away...a bus ride into JB...and another bus ride into SINgapore..from the JB Bus Station...or Larkin..

so, we must not have a mirk on our face...it won;t happpen to us!!:p

Don't speak too soon!!..I have always admired the religious tolerence practiced by the Malaysians, over the years...especially the old Catholic Cathedral, not far from Komtar Shopping Centre..and the Catholic sschools etc..not far from some Muslim &.or islamic establishments...the serenity & peace.. that is in Johor Baru...

Kota Tinggi....is not that far away...a bus ride into JB...and another bus ride into SINgapore..from the JB Bus Station...or Larkin..

so, we must not have a mirk on our face...it won;t happpen to us!!:p

The "peace" you talk about are only observed by the tourist/foreigners in the country. In truth, racial harmony has not been that great since the riots of May 13 1969. Its just been swept under the carpet all this while and are starting to surface. Even Kofi Anan commented on how harmonious the Malaysian society is between the different races and that other nations should learn from it. What he doesn't know is there has always been a deep resentment among the races being kept/bottled up over the years. Ask any mudland chinese you see in SinKapore and ask them why they study, work there. Race discrimination like the NEP do work after its initial 10-20 years, now people are starting to realised there was no need for the continuation of these policies and are only there to fatten the pockets of the government.

There are also speculation that the race riots in May 13th is orchestrated to force the transfer of power from then PM Tunku Rahman to Adbul Razak. The current PM, Najib, is the son of Abdul Razak. It would be interesting to see how this plays out. I suspect, conspiracy wise, it maybe just political play being masked as a religious riot.

610x.jpg

The entrance gate of St. Elizabeth Catholic church is seen splashed with red paint, in Kota Tinggi

A Kota Tinggi police investigator takes plastics bags that were filled with paint at the St Elizabeth Catholic church in Kota Kecil, Kota Tinggi on Thursday
bagi.jpg

Police : Wah Lah, church also owe Ah Long money!

please la, that has nothing to do with religion la,,,

same like singapore, probably someone borrow money from ah long and the good parish is the guarantor, kena splash paint only,,,,,,,,, wet wet water la,,,,,

pix_topright
JB01_140110_GEREJA_.1824611.jpg

2010/01/15
KOTA TINGGI: Vandals threw bags of red paint into the compound of St Elizabeth Church in Jalan Kota Kechil early yesterday.
Two empty paint containers were found near the gate. It is believed the paint was poured into plastic bags before they were thrown at the church premises. The bags landed near a statue, the church door, the side entrance and next to the gate.
Church chairman John Lee said the incident was discovered about 8am.
"I will hold a meeting of the church committee about the incident," he said.
District police chief Superintendent Osman Sebot said police found seven bags of red paint at the scene.
He believed the bags were thrown into the church compound between 6am and 7am, as the paint was still wet.
Osman said police were investigating the case for creating disharmony and feelings of enmity and appealed to witnesses to come forward to assist police.
Meanwhile, Johor Menteri Besar Datuk Abdul Ghani Othman assured the people that the incident was an isolated case.
He said the people should not be overwhelmed or distracted by the incident.
"Peace is part of the local culture in Johor. The police are doing everything they can to solve the case. Everyone should remain calm.
"However, I believe that the incident is an isolated case. We have never heard of anything like that before here in Johor. It is rather odd to say the least," he told reporters after a working visit in Pontian yesterday.
So far vandals had thrown Molotov cocktails and tried to set fire to nine churches in the country.

Federal CID director Commissioner Datuk Seri Mohd Bakri Zinin said all district police chiefs nationwide will speak to the heads or leaders of churches to discuss how they could beef up security at their premises.
Mohd Bakri also urged witnesses of the incidents to come forward and assist police in nabbing the people behind the attacks.
"Someone surely must have seen or know something about these cases. If they are afraid to come forward for some reason, then they can come see me directly at Bukit Aman and I assure them confidentiality. I am also prepared to go wherever they are to see them for this. We are anxious to solve the cases and we need the help of witnesses," he said.

The "peace" you talk about are only observed by the tourist/foreigners in the country. In truth, racial harmony has not been that great since the riots of May 13 1969. Its just been swept under the carpet all this while and are starting to surface. Even Kofi Anan commented on how harmonious the Malaysian society is between the different races and that other nations should learn from it. What he doesn't know is there has always been a deep resentment among the races being kept/bottled up over the years. Ask any mudland chinese you see in SinKapore and ask them why they study, work there. Race discrimination like the NEP do work after its initial 10-20 years, now people are starting to realised there was no need for the continuation of these policies and are only there to fatten the pockets of the government.

There are also speculation that the race riots in May 13th is orchestrated to force the transfer of power from then PM Tunku Rahman to Adbul Razak. The current PM, Najib, is the son of Abdul Razak. It would be interesting to see how this plays out. I suspect, conspiracy wise, it maybe just political play being masked as a religious riot.

I am not an accidental tourist, I have stayed in JB occasionally oiver the years, in KL, occasionally with friends, and even Penang. I know May 13, 1969, from expericing the time..and from an oral history of actual happening from a KL friend, who happen to live near Petaling St., in KL..

Malaysia had come a long way from some mischivioeus elements who use to turn off water supply, electricity during the Chinese New Year, Christmas, Deepavali..and anything that is not connected with the bumiputras.

They have come a long way, in 'tolerance', that is why I admired the serenity of walking past the Old Methodhist Church..and whatever churches in KL city, the temples, both Chinese, Indian..and whatever..in which mosques are in close proximity. Very rare, there are disputes..maybe an occasional breaking of some properties, generally....there is PEACE>

Not far from here, just after the bus station, in JB near to Komtar, there is a large Catholic complex, a Catherdral..and not far..an Indian Temple, & a Sikh Gurhwa...and these are in the midst of Islamic schools...etc

What I am saying, the races tolerate each other's religious beliefs, as long as certain boundary markers are not breached or cross over. They will do their utmost best, not to let this happen.

The current unrest, once again is not so much a religious issue, but some political agenda being played by certain parties...are we going to see the spectre of May 13, 1969..slowly appearing???

That the heading...slowly heading this way?. This is not something, we can laugh about or say..it won't happen. :p

But do not worry, we have the best of the best, creme de la creme in WKS:D

but..we have to be wary!:(

sinkies driving to JB better be careful. better remain christian like objects just as cross hanging in car

Splashes of paint are seen near the statue of Virgin Mary at St. Elizabeth Catholic church in Kota Tinggi , January 14, 2010. Arsonists in Malaysia struck at churches and a convent school since Friday amid rising tensions between majority Muslims and Christians over the use of the word "Allah" to describe the Christian God. The row, over a court ruling that allowed a Catholic newspaper to use Allah in its Malay-language editions, prompted Muslims to protest at mosques on Friday and sparked arson attacks on churches.

610x.jpg

Mary : The red paint did'nt kena me.. hehehehe...

610x.jpg

Hello Boss : I think is Ah Long did it, only red paint, no pig head..

The current unrest, once again is not so much a religious issue, but some political agenda being played by certain parties...are we going to see the spectre of May 13, 1969..slowly appearing???

That the heading...slowly heading this way?. This is not something, we can laugh about or say..it won't happen.

But do not worry, we have the best of the best, creme de la creme in WKS

but..we have to be wary!

My friends in Malaysia have been warning about a May 13 repeat again for past few years.

The sentiments are boiling. The people are angry, and will use this "allah" crap as excuse to vent out anger.