• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Used as 'shark bait' by her neighbour

metalslug

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,4136,195862,00.html?

Used as 'shark bait' by her neighbour
CCTV cameras installed, so loan sharks target woman's home and get her to chase for money
By Elysa Chen

March 16, 2009

NP_IMAGES_ECPAINT.jpg

INNOCENT TARGET: Loan sharks have resorted to splashing paint on Madam Yeo's house to avoid CCTV cameras. PICTURES: COURTESY OF MADAM YEO, ELYSA CHEN

SHE does not owe them money, but loan sharks are harassing her and splashing paint on her door and windows.

Apparently because her neighbour, who owes them money, has installed two closed-circuit television (CCTV) cameras outside his flat.

Madam Yeo, 44, who lives with her two teenage children in a flat on Petir Road in Pasir Panjang, called up the loan sharks to tell them that they had targeted the wrong flat. The loan sharks had written a number near the spalshed paint.

She said: 'At first, I thought they made a mistake, because our unit numbers are similar.'

She was shocked to hear their reply: 'We know. We splashed paint at your house because you need to chase your neighbour for the money'.

Madam Yeo asked that we not reveal her full name as she felt it would be embarrassing, and because of the nature of work.

She holds three jobs - as a childcare centre supervisor, a tuition teacher and a part-timer at a retail store on weekends.

She said: 'It's an economic crisis. Everyone's hard-up. But it is really unfair. Don't they see that they are bullying people who are already down and out?

'The loan sharks are trying to use us as free labour. They can't do the job, so they get us to do it for them.'

NP_IMAGES_ECPAINT-MZZ.jpg

Madam Yeo suspects that the loan sharks are resorting to such tactics because her neighbour installed CCTV cameras in front of his house.

Her flat is one of two units that are obscured from the view of the cameras.

Bullied

She said: 'He has the CCTV and he doesn't answer the calls from the loan sharks. He protects himself but gets the rest of us into trouble.'

Around 2pm on 7 Mar, Madam Yeo heard 'shuffling' noises outside her flat.

When she went out to investigate, she realised that blue paint had been splashed all over her door, windows and floor.

This is the third time Madam Yeo and her family have been subjected to such bullying from loan sharks.

Four years ago, a big-sized man knocked on her door to demand money from her, she said.

Then, two years ago, her unit number was written all over the block.

She said: 'At that time, people were staring at us as though we were the ones who owed money.'

Both times, she went to tell her neighbour about what had happened, in the hope that he would repay his debts.

She said: 'But his reaction was just to stare at me and say, 'go and report police, lor'.'

Madam Yeo said she made police reports about the previous cases, but she did not make a report about the most recent case.

She said she felt there was little the police could do.

Last Sunday, the day after the incident, her neighbour came to her flat to clean the paint from her windows, said Madam Yeo.

She said: 'Perhaps that was his way of apologising.'

When The New Paper spoke to the neighbour, Mr Tey Chin Guan, 52, he explained that he installed the CCTV outside his house because his three children, 3, 5 and 6, like to sit at the gate.

Mr Tey, a lorry driver, said in Mandarin: 'Can you imagine, if the loan sharks come when my children are sitting there like that?

'My wife has been very scared, and has been scolding me.'

He said he is some $20,000 in debt, and owes money to 20 different loan sharks.

Mr Tey, who earns $2,000 a month, said he fell into debt because of his gambling habit, but claimed he has not gambled for the last two months.

However, even with the CCTV cameras, loan sharks are still splashing paint at his door, said Mr Tey.

'If I don't have a CCTV camera there, I may get three runners a day coming to harass my family,' he said.

'I feel paiseh (Hokkien for embarrassed) that my neighbours are suffering. That's why I went over to her flat to wipe the paint off her windows.'

Lestat

Lodge a police report, and install her own CCTV. :biggrin:

Of course, install a dummy is good enough.

TeeKee

[She holds three jobs - as a childcare centre supervisor, a tuition teacher and a part-timer at a retail store on weekends.]

just you thought you spend your days working 3 jobs to make a living, you kena this kid of shit from strangers.

this is the tip of the iceberg. wait till the Casinos open later this year..

Loofydralb

Wah!!!!

So easy to solve this problem. Call the number...pretend neighbour want to pay up, when these loansharks come......HuatAH!!!!!

Do this to my house, there will be blood on my front door, not paint....and it won't be my neighbours blood.

Ah Guan

tis dun look like acting according 2 江湖規距 ... :p

Nowadays pai kias only look at money

The fastest way to solve this problem is to get help from a bigger pai kia

All the nonsense will stop plus will receive a hamper and "we're sorry" card

If she did convince the neighbour to pay up, would she get any commission from the money lenders :confused:

what a unlucky neighbour, i feel sorry for her. it is like ancient china, where your neighbour did something wrong, emperor, execute everyone in his family and all his neighbour too.

>>>She holds three jobs - as a childcare centre supervisor, a tuition teacher and a part-timer at a retail store on weekends.<<<

While the ministers are the BEST PAID in the world and can chor boh lan and jiat liao bee?

SamuelStalin

Apparently because her neighbour, who owes them money, has installed two closed-circuit television (CCTV) cameras outside his flat.

Sigh, you people are all Sporn fucks. This donkey debtor can afford sophisticated state-of-the-art closed-circuit television cameras, but can't pay his debts to the loan sharks?

She was shocked to hear their reply: 'We know. We splashed paint at your house because you need to chase your neighbour for the money'.

These useless creditors who are men of brawn can be subdued by scientific technology and they can even bring such words out of their own mouths... this is incredible!

what a unlucky neighbour, i feel sorry for her. it is like ancient china, where your neighbour did something wrong, emperor, execute everyone in his family and all his neighbour too.

Seems like Spore isn't much different from ancient china :smile:

Got emperor & we all at the at the mercy of his family & his eunuchs.

Also got group punishment. I am reminded of how some residences complained of outsiders taking up the free parking around their homes.

So what the authorities did was convert ALL those the free parking spots into paid parking. Don't looki to the authorities to provide solution :biggrin:

SamuelStalin

Also got group punishment. I am reminded of how some residences complained of outsiders taking up the free parking around their homes.

So what the authorities did was convert ALL those the free parking spots into paid parking. Don't looki to the authorities to provide solution :biggrin:

Hmm, well sometimes the rich people have many little complaints to make, and lots of things to say mah. So gahmen make them pay more so can take care of the lower class people even better :wink::smile::wink:

That should be the way. So rich and still want to complain here and there, hai...

Hmm, well sometimes the rich people have many little complaints to make, and lots of things to say mah. So gahmen make them pay more so can take care of the lower class people even better :wink::smile::wink:

That should be the way. So rich and still want to complain here and there, hai...

wow
sound exactly like what dollar sign eyes of PAP will do
solve every problem with money

darememore

"Madam Yeo said she made police reports about the previous cases, but she did not make a report about the most recent case.

She said she felt there was little the police could do."

This simple statement tell all about our police.

ahbengsong

... and that includes the pet dogs, pigs, lizards, cockroaches too ...

kensington

When are the vigilantes going to be started ?
We can't have this standover tactics and pretend to be oblivious, can we?
There are still a lot of decent people going about their jobs and couldn't care less because it is not in my backyard syndrome but now they are and hopefully more and more people will wake up from this scourge; the loansharks.Give them back as good as it gets and you still have the law behind you.In underworld matters, it is always better to sort it with whoever leading that pack and let it be known to him that he will be held accountable for whatever transgressions that his men/boys committed. I honestly thought that you NS boys are a lot tougher that those loose pack of mongrels that always prey on the helpless.
PM ME IF ANY OF YOU GUYS ARE INTERESTED IN MAKING SINGAPORE A MORE LIVEABLE PLACE DEVOID OF ALL THESE SCUMS.:mad::mad::mad:

nextinfidel

>>>>Do this to my house, there will be blood on my front door, not paint....and it won't be my neighbours blood.<<<<

ya. if ever I kena this kind of shit, I buy large kitchen knives, iron rods, baseball bats, and of course red and black paint. all that will land on the loan shark himself.

to those loan sharks, you fuck with those who owe you money, thats fine. but you don't fuck with those who don't owe you shit.

kensington

>>>>Do this to my house, there will be blood on my front door, not paint....and it won't be my neighbours blood.<<<<

ya. if ever I kena this kind of shit, I buy large kitchen knives, iron rods, baseball bats, and of course red and black paint. all that will land on the loan shark himself.

to those loan sharks, you fuck with those who owe you money, thats fine. but you don't fuck with those who don't owe you shit.

Respect you bro, a line in th sand has to be drawn and those scoundrels are such because we let the be.About time to reclaim what little dignities are left.:cool:

SamuelStalin

wow
sound exactly like what dollar sign eyes of PAP will do
solve every problem with money

No lah. They eat cake still want to complain. If cake eaters complain, the bread eaters should commit suicide lah? Right? They all only think for themselves, not for others, sigh. If they complain about more important things of course no one can argue, but complain about kachang puteh things that don't benefit society as a whole?