• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

US really that good?

ps07857

When I was on tour, I found out America has poor public transport system - no MRT, few public bus. Can't imagine how they get around.
Their service sector is behind us by decades, I went the hotel restaurant to eat, the first day they were very nice to me. The second day I went back, they were not nice. I was offended, so like very good Singaporean I complained. They told me I did not tip them the first day. Waliao, in America must 'tip' to get service. In Singapore, I never have to tip!

ya,it's true you have to tip them,i think you are quite rude by not doing so.
I like America,my dream country to stay in!;)

When I was on tour, I found out America has poor public transport system - no MRT, few public bus. Can't imagine how they get around.
Their service sector is behind us by decades, I went the hotel restaurant to eat, the first day they were very nice to me. The second day I went back, they were not nice. I was offended, so like very good Singaporean I complained. They told me I did not tip them the first day. Waliao, in America must 'tip' to get service. In Singapore, I never have to tip!

America is huge! Each city is different and public transport standards vary considerably. Because cars and gas are so cheap in the US, the demand for public transport remains low in most areas except in the big cities. Where did your tour take you?

Waliao, in America must 'tip' to get service. In Singapore, I never have to tip!
Singapore has a service charge system added to the bill and waiters are paid a monthly wage. However, in the USA, there are many establishments where service staff HAVE TO PAY for the privilege of being a waiter. [going rate is USD50 per day in popular establishments in San Diego] They don't get a salary. They recoup their investment + more from tips. Without tipping, they'd lose money.

Almost every person has a car in America because cars, gasoline, maintenance, insurance, registration, etc, are soo cheap. There's a Korean guy I know who owns 2 sports cars & have 2 gfs.

It's standard practice to tip 15% of the bill to service staffs in America unless their service is horrible. Here, you have a right to tip or not.

In Stinkypore, a 10% service charge is added to the bill whether the service is good or horrible. You have no choice but to pay the 10% extra imposed by the service establishment because it's the law. If you dun wanna pay, they call the poodles & you end up going to prison.

yeah, I went to LA where everything was so spread out. I thought I could take buses everywhere but the buses arrive only once every hour or so...

Cars are basic necessities in America. It's hard to get around without a car outside of the inner cities.

Cars are luxuries in Stinkypore. Public transports are plentiful so peasants don't necessarily need to own cars to get around the little red dot.

u see, the point is, we always think that grass is always greener over the other side. They might be good in some ways, but we also win them in some ways. Yes, they always must tip one, if not, they will be very rude.

U damn suaku man...

U are the type so thoroughly brain washed by the scums in SG to think that we are all really No.1 in the world..????? Pls la.... the world is so much bigger and better than u were led to believe la...

BIG countries (NOT small red dots hor!) got loads of space and cars and gas are cheap, and most impt of all NO ERP!!! With all so cheap and AFFORDABLE, who needs buses and MRT all over the place!!?!?!? And FYI, there are also regular bus services in US towns, just tat the frequency not so close...

COmprain comprain comprain.. thats all u know how to do.. typical sinkie...

IF u been travelling worldwide, you'd know that tipping is commonplace and else where dun have our stupid COMPULSORY 10% service charge!!! Sorry hor, its not u did not tip in singapore restaurant k? U were blindly paying it already and its just that the restaurant did not expressly tell u nia!!! Only we are FORCED to pay this ridiculous charge here, no matter wat stupid service we got in SG (even no service also need to pay!! talk abt daylight robbery!)

Tipping is to show gratitude for genuine good service the service staff offered and its also part of their pay.. imagine u served well but the kiam kana from singapore did not tip u a cent for ur good effort?!?!?! No wonder they also siam u far far when u come again....

U shld travel with ur eyes and ears wide open la.. and dun believe everything people shove down ur throat in SG.... :rolleyes:

U damn suaku man...

U are the type so thoroughly brain washed by the scums in SG to think that we are all really No.1 in the world..????? Pls la.... the world is so much bigger and better than u were led to believe la...

BIG countries (NOT small red dots hor!) got loads of space and cars and gas are cheap, and most impt of all NO ERP!!! With all so cheap and AFFORDABLE, who needs buses and MRT all over the place!!?!?!? And FYI, there are also regular bus services in US towns, just tat the frequency not so close...

COmprain comprain comprain.. thats all u know how to do.. typical sinkie...

IF u been travelling worldwide, you'd know that tipping is commonplace and else where dun have our stupid COMPULSORY 10% service charge!!! Sorry hor, its not u did not tip in singapore restaurant k? U were blindly paying it already and its just that the restaurant did not expressly tell u nia!!! Only we are FORCED to pay this ridiculous charge here, no matter wat stupid service we got in SG (even no service also need to pay!! talk abt daylight robbery!)

Tipping is to show gratitude for genuine good service the service staff offered and its also part of their pay.. imagine u served well but the kiam kana from singapore did not tip u a cent for ur good effort?!?!?! No wonder they also siam u far far when u come again....

U shld travel with ur eyes and ears wide open la.. and dun believe everything people shove down ur throat in SG.... :rolleyes:

sorry lah... this trip helped me opened up my eyes.... any more advice (noun)? I am trying to travel more to open up my eyes, like that can or not?

Can Can... as long as you leave ur "we singapore people always NO.1" mentality behind when u travel, you'd find out just how NICE and BIG the rest of the world is, outside of our peesai small red dot..

You also no need go far, Malaysia small kampongs or thailand good enuf liao.. the peolple there really nice..and best of all, NO NEED TIP or 10% compusory service charge for genuine friendliness! :D

When you compare US to Singapore in general, you're comparing 9,000,000sq.km to 700sq.km. New York or Los Angeles each on their own is a easily a few times the size of Singapore, whether by land area or by population.

To put things in perspective, yes, US overall have a higher car ownership than Singapore of course. Cars in US are much cheaper than Singapore of course, at the point of sale. However, in the bigger cities, highway tolls (something like our ERP or even better comparable example, PLUS the Malaysian North-South Highway) and parking charges can be as or even more exhorbitant than Singapore. Petrol (known as gasoline there) is of course cheaper than Singapore. However, if there's an accident and repair or maintenance required, mechanics there charge in the region of US$100 per hour, excluding any need to replace parts or refill anything of course.

Anyone who watched Godfather the first movie, knows that Sonny Corleone got machine-gunned down whilst stopping at a toll plaza. He became death toll.

In the big cities that I've experienced, I've got no problem with New York, Chicago and San Francisco public buses and mass transit trains, except quite a tat more expensive than Singapore, but that's the price and standard and currency there.

I was told tht you need to stick one dollar bill on yr forehead and let the waitresses grab it with their giantic breasts... Just Joking,in striptease clubs,maybe...

Best thing for you to do is never to go on tour again, and never to leave singapore. that way we don't have to listen to your loser bellyaching, you moron.

Btw,i was in Chicago and Indiana, I prefer the latter. When I was working there, I was given a Pontiac 2 door sports car to drive around(can't remember the model). I drove from Indiana to Chicago and Michigan on my own during weekend. I particularly like the Steak houses, fish and Vietnamese restaurants, bought playboy from the liquor store.My American counterparts will drive me ard for lunches. Very good experience. Sigh... What the fuck I am doing here.