• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

US law requires seats to be given up

I refer to Ms Pearline Cher's response "Yes, do away with 'reserved' seat" (June 29) on doing away with "reserved" seats in trains.

She probably said it out of frustration, having not been given the priority seats when she was pregnant.

I am a senior citizen but I am healthy and do not need the priority seats as much as she did. At times, however, I still desire to be accorded this privilege out of respect and social grace from our younger people.

I do not understand why Singapore, which aspires to be a First World nation, is grappling with a basic issue in transportation when the solution is already implemented in many other countries.

When I was in San Francisco recently, I noticed that every bus or train coach carried a notice above the seats near the doors stating that federal law requires those seats to be given up to senior citizens or disabled persons.

This includes, of course, pregnant ladies.

- http://www.todayonline.com/Voices/EDC120630-0000039/US-law-requires-seats-to-be-given-up

All it takes is for the authorities to get the relevant law enacted through Parliament and the basic problem of social grace (or lack of it) in transportation is solved.

Social pressure and citizen-policing will help to enforce the rule.

We have laws on the need to look after parents, so a law on this issue is quite in line.

All the Phua Chu Kang cartoons and costs in trying to educate people on this issue do not seem to be very effective given the diversity of people making up the commuters in Singapore.

Why must have sticker/sign to indicate give the seat to elder/pregnant lady?
Every one pay the fare.
And if commuter have eye and have heart will offer the seat to any person who need to seat.
Very funny is common sense why must be law and sign every where. Making old people act like god.
If old lady act like fuck face no need to offer seat just like the Ah Lian and the old fucker lady.

Every one pay the fare.
And if commuter have eye and have heart will offer the seat to any person who need to seat.
Very funny is common sense why must be law and sign every where. Making old people act like god.
If old lady act like fuck face no need to offer seat just like the Ah Lian and the old fucker lady.

You are right on this. 2 days ago, I was on the train and made the mistake of occupying the priority seat. As the train reaches the next stop, this barely 60 years old auntie rushed in. I quickly kept my ipad and iphone and was about to get up to offer her the seat. Before my backside even parted with the seat, she let out a "Excuse me, you are occupying the priority seat"

I was like, "What the fuck, whats wrong with these old folks nowadays"

US laws also require the government to provide dole to the jobless. Are we going to have that?

You are right on this. 2 days ago, I was on the train and made the mistake of occupying the priority seat. As the train reaches the next stop, this barely 60 years old auntie rushed in. I quickly kept my ipad and iphone and was about to get up to offer her the seat. Before my backside even parted with the seat, she let out a "Excuse me, you are occupying the priority seat"

She did say "Excuse me", presumably the tone was polite?

Agree with you. Most people will know what to do. No need for special notice. Will also teach rude elderly people to behave themselves and earn the right.

Every one pay the fare.

When I was in San Francisco recently, I noticed that every bus or train coach carried a notice above the seats near the doors stating that federal law requires those seats to be given up to senior citizens or disabled persons.

This includes, of course, pregnant ladies.

All it takes is for the authorities to get the relevant law enacted through Parliament and the basic problem of social grace (or lack of it) in transportation is solved.

well , not surprising. you are in a cuntry where money , fame is worshiped by everyone , where individual rights is of paramount important.
compare this to ancient china during and after the Confucius's period you may get a idea of the cause. even after his death , his teachings were
still being carried on. whereas in usAss and sinkie land the education is geared towards teaching you how to make money.

well , these old folks are displaying the typical character traits of the young sinkie which are carried over as they grow old.

barely 60 years old , means this auntie is about 20 years old in the 70s. must have been fed with lots of propaganda and grew up
to be arrogant ,demanding.

in that case, u pretend to sleep lor........................:o

No chance brother. She came in and went straight at me like a killer. I am actually someone with very fast reflexes My butt did not even had a chance to leave the seat and she had finished her sentence :o

Anyway, I took her pic. Let me get home first. Just finished my IPPT. Damn shag :(

Then dont offer seat. If she give u 1 min time of course reasonable but immediate act like VIP(fuck face). Just ignore.
Next time tell SMRT/gov give them something like IC hang on neck/lanyard A4 size. If they willing to put on neck sure commuter will offer the seat.
Just like emperor give Golden Plate to minister.

Anyway, I took her pic. Let me get home first. Just finished my IPPT. Damn shag :(

Please don't post pic of 60 year-old auntie hor..................................

I'm going to have to think about that one.
hot.jpg

cold.jpg

Whats wrong with these oldies nowadays? I took this 1 day after the MRT incident.

NOTE: All pics are originals and taken by me. Not taken from the web.

View attachment 5517