• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Unlicensed Malaysian workers in Singapore - MOM and ICA please wake up!

Hangover

Many craftsman in Singapore tell me that a lot of Malaysians are working in Singapore without work permit. It is unfair to employers to followed the rules and hire workers with work permit or contributes CPF for their local blue collar workers and imposes GST.

Malaysian freelancers enter Singapore almost daily for all types of renovation works (flooring, windows, carpentry, etc), household repairs. Even the sales people in these trades are malaysians working without work permit.

We need to create a level playing field for our SME, local employers and employees are all affected because of ICA failure to scrutinize these people who enters Singapore and MOM closing a blind eye by clamping down these people in job sites and advertisements.

They swarm across the causeway every morning and go back in the evening. This has been happening for more than 30 years. It's hardly a new phenomenon.

All the reno work I did on my home was done by unlicensed workers. Had I insisted on work permit holders I would have had to pay double for the renovation work.

They swarm across the causeway every morning and go back in the evening. This has been happening for more than 30 years. It's hardly a new phenomenon.

All the reno work I did on my home was done by unlicensed workers. Had I insisted on work permit holders I would have had to pay double for the renovation work.

By now sir, the cost of getting licensed and unlicensed is the same because after all these years, the local got to reduce their prices to match these unlicensed craftsmen.

I think we need to remind the money-faced policymakers that this situation deprives them of income tax, GST and CPF contribution collections.
I hope this helps.

I had a knock on the door, in the 'dead of the night'...I peeped through the fisheye door viewer & saw a strange looking person. I open the door slightly...he was holding a durian...." durian from....Malaysia, you want to buy?". You get durian seller, keropok seller, 'beh tai sor' seller ( a kind of biscuit), tradesmen etc...from 'jiuhui'...knocking on your door...the 'dead of the night' durian seller...was a shock!...I didn't buy.

The renovation's workers, plumbers, electricians , tradesmen has been coming in for decades....even the massage ladies, those days, usually from IPOH...

By now sir, the cost of getting licensed and unlicensed is the same because after all these years, the local got to reduce their prices to match these unlicensed craftsmen.

I think we need to remind the money-faced policymakers that this situation deprives them of income tax, GST and CPF contribution collections.
I hope this helps.
my uncle say price not reduced but up and the unlicensed craftsmen will mask themselves as the customers usually doesn't know they are licensed or not especially when done through a ID.

I had a knock on the door, in the 'dead of the night'...I peeped through the fisheye door viewer & saw a strange looking person. I open the door slightly...he was holding a durian...." durian from....Malaysia, you want to buy?". You get durian seller, keropok seller, 'beh tai sor' seller ( a kind of biscuit), tradesmen etc...from 'jiuhui'...knocking on your door...the 'dead of the night' durian seller...was a shock!...I didn't buy.

The renovation's workers, plumbers, electricians , tradesmen has been coming in for decades....even the massage ladies, those days, usually from IPOH...

The worst shit are those who malaysians who knocked my door in the middle of the night, wanting me to buy fire-extinguishers as required by some urgent regulations.

During your time it is really unlicensed workers on motorbikes that crossed over daily to work. Now it is entire business operating from pickups, vans and even mini-buses that cross over daily to carry out project works. Example: installation of entire electrical systems for a factory, built-in furniture for a flat unit or in one case the entire furnishing of a block (with all pre-fabrication work done in JB), etc.

Major electrical / fabrication installations require certification of the job done before buildings can be commissioned. As long as they are doing work which meets the standards required it is no different from any other form of sub contracting.

The worst shit are those who malaysians who knocked my door in the middle of the night, wanting me to buy fire-extinguishers as required by some urgent regulations.

This is not the Singapore that I remember. It sounds more like some sort of wild west cowboy town.

If MOM is serious in catching these moonlighting Malaysians, just station a post at any new HDB blocks and you will see them day,nite and even weekends. If you see an unoccupied HDB unit doing renovation till late at nite or weekends, almost 100% its a Malaysian-and you can see the Johor licence vehicle anyhow park some more.

Fire extinguisher? mine was the durian...many of these workers, that moonlight, have worked here before & some even have NTC certificates, so they know the loopholes & the way around MOM regulations. Electrical installation, they can't any old how get these people to install...but they are usually sub contractors who is employed by the main con...on the sly!.

Malaysians cannot be considered as foreigners. Even indonesians should be treated as locals. Look what brexit did to UK.

Absolutely and Plenty, their numbers are in thousands!

Renovation Industry the most notorious. They have mini-bus or van from (Plates) Johor, Malacca, Negri Similan, they have motor cycles. Their trades are:

• hack floor tiles / wall tiles / replace tiles.
  • Furniture - build-in cabinets.
  • Electrical Wire wall sockets, lighting, switch panels
  • Toilet bowls basin kitchen skin, taps, showers, bath tubs
  • False ceiling / corning / partitioning
  • Painting / wall paper / wall & Ceiling finishing; external wall painting
  • Roof & water heater guys
  • Air Con guys
  • Carpet guys

Every night they finished works go back to stay JB.
No PR, EP/WP nothing
Shell registration of Singapore company for invoice & sale contact
carry Singapore cellphones
No pay GST CPF

They had been doing this way for 30 years or so, got filthy rich!

Inside the swap daily traffic some have proper employment papers. E.g. factories / restaurants / food court

At their work places if MOM will go inspect, they will not play this game. Fixed place of work!

At renovation sites which are condos, house, HDB of customers, MOM inspections can escape, guerrilla warfare, few days here few days there, some workers, move between sites even on the same day because 2 sites got works at the same schedule, see the difference?

Long ago in lky I really say LKY was a bastard.

He is a bully and man of no integrity. How are local trades men going to survived?

When Amos Tee fuck him immediately after his death I was delighted heaven got eyes.

u kidding? unless u supervise them yourselves, no way you save money on your reno.

Interior design companies use these cheapest labour and whatever savings go to their pockets, never to customers. Explains why there are sinkees paying 6 figures for mass housing renos.

Even bloody angmo also abused the no of stays given to them. Given 90 days but they worked part time with companies here.

Msians....they have been abusing the 60/90days ruling. They used the said priviledge to work in Spore. Now with the exchange rates to their benefits, more Msians will flock to Sinkieland to earn a living without permit.

u kidding? unless u supervise them yourselves, no way you save money on your reno.

Interior design companies use these cheapest labour and whatever savings go to their pockets, never to customers. Explains why there are sinkees paying 6 figures for mass housing renos.

The supervisors of these jobs were all sinkies. In my case it was one of my customers. However the workers were all from mudland.