• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Universal studios: thanks for screwing us!! biggest in S.Korea by 2014!!

Naturefarm2

Singapore will be be following the foot step of HK disney land. After building it for more than few years and still bleeding, its slap with a new bigger shanghai disney land.

Now its our turn!! Being the biggest U.S for 3 years, it will be over take by S.Korea..haha:D

Universal Studios to build theme park in S.Korea AFP - Tuesday, January 19Send IM Story Print

Universal Studios to build theme park in S.Korea
SEOUL (AFP) - – US film giant Universal Studios Tuesday signed a deal with South Korean partners to build its largest theme park in Asia at a cost of around three trillion won (2.67 billion dollars).

Universal Parks and Resorts and 14 South Korean partners, including Lotte Group and a subsidiary of steel giant POSCO, signed the framework agreement to develop the park at Hwaseong, by 2014.

The initial deal was announced in late 2007 but faced problems raising capital until retail and hotels group Lotte was persuaded to join the project.

Universal Studios also operates theme parks in Hollywood, Orlando in Florida and Japan, and a park on Singapore's Sentosa Island is nearing completion.

When completed, the South Korean resort, 40 kilometrs (25 miles) southwest of Seoul, will be larger in area than all four combined and will create more than 40,000 jobs, according to Kim Moon-Soo, governor of Gyeonggi province.

It aims to attract up to 15 million visitors every year, said Chung Chai-Kwan, president of US Resorts Asset Management Co, an agent for the project.

Lotte Asset Development will have a 26.7 percent stake, while POSCO's construction subsidiary POSCO E and C is the second largest shareholder with 24.4 percent.

Work is due to start early next year on the venue, which will include a water park, theme hotel, apartments, a golf course and other facilities.

Culture minister Yu In-Chon called it "a major opportunity to develop the national tourism industry".

Universal Parks and Resorts chairman and CEO Thomas Williams said he was very optimistic the resort would attract "a substantial segment" of the South Korean population as well as a growing number of Asian international tourists.

He said director Steven Spielberg, a creative consultant to Universal Parks and Resorts, is expected to take part in the Korea project.

"He already has a number of ideas that I think will contribute to making it quite unique and, in the spirit of differentiation, something that caters to an international crowd," Williams said

We can only last up to three years. Korea will definitely take over us, with their popuplation and tourist coming over there. We are being screwed. Just like Hongkong Disneyland and lose out to Tokyo Disneyland.

We can only last up to three years. ....

Does Spore really have any kind of lead?

PAP can only "copy" what others countries are already doing. Other liabilities include an expensive "world class" gov't & infrastracture.

RIP Spore :rolleyes:

sinkie should cut it losses. turn it into a theme park cum stripper club.

We have casino leow. The stripping can be done in any of the four new hotels although I would suggest giving Festive Hotel a clear berth. That hotel is for "families".

GARMENT MUST Stop InBreeding Of Business ONCE And FOR ALL. If Not Sure Die!!!!!!!!!!! <hr style="color: rgb(152, 152, 152); background-color: rgb(152, 152, 152);" size="1"> <!-- / icon and title --> <!-- message --> So often we all heard and see with own eyes how Garment "chio seng li" from within S'pore's business community. Do not compete with S'pore businessmen or towkays.

Even small business in Singapore like selling blankets also want to take business and do. WTF?

THIS MUST STOP.

Leave it to the REAL PRIVATE business people (NOT THE PSEUDO private business run by scholars and ex garment bs).

If not S'pore economy sure to mati.
We are currently only one step away from total ECONOMIC CALAMITY.

Now this.

The Ministers and their scholars CANNOT blindly copy without thinking (as in regurgitating model answers from 10 yr series) other countries' attractions BECAUSE Singapore is ;

1. A TINY island with limited land space.
2. A sweltering hot, humid climate that literally SUCKS the mood/energy from anyone not sheltered in an aircon environment.
3. Insufficient accomodations to cater to huge influx of tourists of that magnitude without causing sardine packed buses/MRT and traffic congestion.
4. Most of the attractions in Singapore are deemed to be rip offs (ie not value for money)
5. The KIASU/KIASI, unhelpful and me first culture is NOT conducive to having a gracious customer service orientated industry.

At least everyone knows that except for summer months, the rest of the year has very nice weather across Korea, abiet cold in some months. Great for outdoor theme parks such as Universal Studio.

Singapore ? Unless our medical support is beefed up to take care of heat-strokes from visitors, and our 'soldier boys'.

Universal learnt copy this tactic from the master - LKY.

No clash since sentosa and south korea universal studios are targetting different market.
South korea will attract Japanese and European tourist.
Singapore positioning only will attract cheapo Indian tourist who think their $2 is bigger than bullock cart wheel.

Indian tourists not cheapo hor. They are the biggest spender after the Russians, I think. PRCs are the cheapo ones.

Don't blame Universal Studios. Blame Genting.

Singapore will be be following the foot step of HK disney land. After building it for more than few years and still bleeding, its slap with a new bigger shanghai disney land.

Now its our turn!! Being the biggest U.S for 3 years, it will be over take by S.Korea..haha:D

Universal Studios to build theme park in S.Korea AFP - Tuesday, January 19Send IM Story Print

Universal Studios to build theme park in S.Korea
SEOUL (AFP) - – US film giant Universal Studios Tuesday signed a deal with South Korean partners to build its largest theme park in Asia at a cost of around three trillion won (2.67 billion dollars).

Universal Parks and Resorts and 14 South Korean partners, including Lotte Group and a subsidiary of steel giant POSCO, signed the framework agreement to develop the park at Hwaseong, by 2014.

The initial deal was announced in late 2007 but faced problems raising capital until retail and hotels group Lotte was persuaded to join the project.

Universal Studios also operates theme parks in Hollywood, Orlando in Florida and Japan, and a park on Singapore's Sentosa Island is nearing completion.

When completed, the South Korean resort, 40 kilometrs (25 miles) southwest of Seoul, will be larger in area than all four combined and will create more than 40,000 jobs, according to Kim Moon-Soo, governor of Gyeonggi province.

It aims to attract up to 15 million visitors every year, said Chung Chai-Kwan, president of US Resorts Asset Management Co, an agent for the project.

Lotte Asset Development will have a 26.7 percent stake, while POSCO's construction subsidiary POSCO E and C is the second largest shareholder with 24.4 percent.

Work is due to start early next year on the venue, which will include a water park, theme hotel, apartments, a golf course and other facilities.

Culture minister Yu In-Chon called it "a major opportunity to develop the national tourism industry".

Universal Parks and Resorts chairman and CEO Thomas Williams said he was very optimistic the resort would attract "a substantial segment" of the South Korean population as well as a growing number of Asian international tourists.

He said director Steven Spielberg, a creative consultant to Universal Parks and Resorts, is expected to take part in the Korea project.

"He already has a number of ideas that I think will contribute to making it quite unique and, in the spirit of differentiation, something that caters to an international crowd," Williams said

Universal studios: thanks for screwing us!! biggest in S.Korea by 2014!! ...
warao eh! ...

u xpect sg theme park 2 b 4ever lumpar 1 biggest, ah? ... u tink evryting is like sg politicians lidat ... every yr oso lumpar 1 in being ze world's bestest paid meh? ... cannot la ... morover, datz 4 yrs down ze rd ... ze earth nid 2 twurn 1 ...

Does Spore really have any kind of lead?

PAP can only "copy" what others countries are already doing. Other liabilities include an expensive "world class" gov't & infrastracture.

RIP Spore :rolleyes:

1. bro, yes definitely sinkieland has its lead, its salary paid to its leaders.
2. we are leading the world for that "no delivery".
3. sinkies screwed again and again.

Consider a 3 year Casino licence, Resorts World Sentosa may give all up if Universal Studios Singapore backs out after 2014 to focus in S Korea.

Term of casino licence
5. A casino licence shall be valid —
(a) for 3 years; or
(b) if by reason of the amount of casino licence fee paid or for
any other reason, the Authority is of the opinion that the term
in paragraph (a) is not appropriate, for such shorter term as
the Authority may specify in the licence.

Indian tourists not cheapo hor. They are the biggest spender after the Russians, I think. PRCs are the cheapo ones.

Are you sure about it. Dont ever under estimate the PRC. I am not talking those already here in Singapore. Already they have conquered Hongkong, Taipei, Paris etc. When come to spending, Singaporean is the cheapo.

I am referring to those who come to Singapore, including the PRs

1. bro, yes definitely sinkieland has its lead, its salary paid to its leaders.
2. we are leading the world for that "no delivery".
3. sinkies screwed again and again.

This is not unique to Spore but in other 3rd world countries these high salaries would be called corruption :D

I predict when LKY ups the lorry, more of the real truth will surface & he will be reviled & join ranks of the famous like Suharto, Marcos,..

LKY must know this. An innocent man has nothing to worry it's only evil men who are worried. Why else would LKY surround himself with an army of bodyguard :confused:

wow, that means disney , universal studio are like macdonald, you see the same thing every where, who want to go?