• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Unethical to jack up prices during CNY

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Jan 24, 2009
'TIME-HONOURED' TRADITION
</TR><!-- headline one : start --><TR>Unethical to jack up prices during CNY
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->WITH the momentum of Chinese New Year preparations almost at its peak, I would like to highlight a somewhat time-honoured tradition in Singapore - the practice of raising prices or slapping on festive season surcharges over and above the listed prices of goods and services.
Over the years, Singaporeans have come to accept as the norm such festive surcharges or the practice of raising prices progressively as the date of the festival draws nearer.
Such business practices are unethical and unreasonable.
Having travelled fairly extensively, I understand that such business practices are not permissible, and indeed are practically unheard of, in other countries where I have lived or visited.
In Hong Kong, where I lived and worked, and still visit regularly, my friends were shocked when I told them that the prices of bak kwa (barbecued pork), across several different brands, are raised progressively as Chinese New Year approaches.
They tell me this is certainly not practised in Hong Kong, and as far as they know, it is not only unethical but also against the law.
But in Singapore, hairdressing salons and even barber shops, and a range of other businesses, raise their prices or include surcharges in the weeks before major festivals, particularly Chinese New Year.
No doubt businesses will cite high costs during festive seasons as the key reason for surcharges or inflated prices. But this should be factored into their annual business plan, given that any business is sustained over a period of time.
Such unethical practices are merely a barely concealed attempt to exploit festive shoppers eager to spend.
Why then do Singaporeans, as educated and evolved as we are, accept such business practices so blindly?
Why do we accept such practices as the norm, or at least tolerate them in silence, when it really is time to question the status quo?
Whatever the festive occasion, whether in economic boom or downturn, listed prices should be honoured.
It is time the Consumers Association of Singapore stepped in to investigate and correct such practices, once and for all.
Calvin Cheng <!-- end of for each --><!-- Current Ratings : start --><!-- Current Ratings : end --><!-- vbbintegration : start -->

unethical? ... u muz b joking! ...

wen ppl can increase tariff wen oil price is plunging, y cant u increase prices during cny? ...

wen ppl can increase fares during a recession n boast abt record profits later, y cant u increase prices during cny? ...

moreover, cny items dun depend on oil price ...

u wanna compare wif hk? ... in hk, ppl reduce tariff 2 ease ze burden of peasants 1 leh ... ppl pay minibond buyers back in full 1 leh ...

char_jig_kar

Why arh? PAP love to exploit the people, right? So hor, the businessman just follow them lah! People has the tendency to mimic the action of the strongest. You don't know meh ah calvin cheng??