• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Toshiba to sell S'pore plant

MarrickG

TOSHIBA Corp has decided to withdraw from overseas liquid crystal display (LCD) panel production and sell its Singapore plant to Taiwanese firm AU Optronics Corp for an estimated 10 billion yen (S$151 million), the Nikkei daily reported.

Toshiba Mobile Display Co is expected to reach a basic agreement with AU Optronics as early as Wednesday to sell its Singaporean production subsidiary AFPD Pte - whose monthly output capacity of 45,000 panels accounts for about 30 per cent of Toshiba Mobile's overall capacity, the Nikkei said.

Following the sale, Toshiba Mobile will aim at focusing on panels for multifunction mobile phones and automobile-use displays and raise the utilisation rates of its Japanese plants, the daily said. The firm had already closed two money-losing plants in Himeji, Hyogo Prefecture, and decided to sell old production facilities to a Chinese company, the Nikkei said.

The selling of the Singapore unit will leave the Toshiba group with two LCD plants that manufacture only small and midsize panels: one in Kawakita, Ishikawa Prefecture, and the other in Fukaya, Saitama Prefecture, the Nikkei said.

Toshiba Mobile is bracing for an operating loss of 28 billion yen in the year ending on Wednesday, with sales declining an estimated 18 per cent to 210 billion yen, the daily added. The sale of the plant in Singapore is in line with Toshiba's efforts to restructure money-losing operations and concentrate resources in its semiconductor and nuclear power businesses, the daily said.

The purchase will help AU Optronics bolster output of small and midsize LCD panels. The company is expected to take over the clean room and equipment at the Singapore plant and take on 900 or so employees, the Nikkei added. -- THOMSON REUTERS

why not shift operation to Thailand, it is much cheaper there. Just close everything in sinkieland lah and move everything to Thailand. It is much better for them. MOre over Thailand is much more fun to live in. Not like boring sinkieland.

thailand is famous for ladyboys, cheap fucks etc. they are not good place to start anything big.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but Thailand has been making Toyota, Honda, Ford even BMW for sometime now. The Toyota Camry you see in Singapore is most likely build in Thailand nowadays.

Mr Ash.. You should select who to reply to, some are just sinkie losers who spill trash.. Dun degrade yourself this way. Your reputation is at stake.

I suggest you get into communication with someone who has some sense rather than ego problem.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but Thailand has been making Toyota, Honda, Ford even BMW for sometime now. The Toyota Camry you see in Singapore is most likely build in Thailand nowadays.

do u know the japanese cars that is made in thailand poses the most quality problems?

u better dun mixed too much with thailand OKTs. hahaha

Mr Ash.. You should select who to reply to, some are just sinkie losers who spill trash.. Dun degrade yourself this way. Your reputation is at stake.

I suggest you get into communication with someone who has some sense rather than ego problem.

Oh, thanks for the advice. I thought some people just needs to be informed thats all.

Made in Thai? Maybe that explains why so many QC problems with their cars lately.

Furthermore, you need to worry about getting stabbed during a riot if you work there. Here in Singapore, only traffic kills. :D

Oh, thanks for the advice. I thought some people just needs to be informed thats all.

only a dumb chee bye like you will seek that CB kia tonychat's advice.

u 2 chee bye can go fuck each other:oIo:

Only seek advice from cb kia tonychat regarding ladyboys, prostitutes and HIV. Other than that, better stick to your own opinion!

You are very welcome. :) Just dun want to see another one being sucked into sinkie degradation cycle.

u r right.

only a moron like him will praise another moron like that thailand pimp.:D