• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

TOC: Interesting Dialogue On Singapore Politics - Future Direction

Porfirio Rubirosa

44) insider65 on April 1st, 2009 3.52 pm Hi Mike and fellow Singaporeans..

I have the inkling feeling that the PAP machinery is deliberately getting the non PAP compliant Singaporeans to leave and basically create a Master-Servant class.Masters being the elites, their families and friends and not forgetting the cadre members.Servants being the ordinary and helpless Singaporeans and the New Foreigners.

I remember in an interview last year when MM mentioned about creating a core central area of Singapore into a Monaco of sorts.Looks like the 90% of us ‘Heartlanders’ are here to only defend the interests of these few elites.I am not sure like you what I am defending these days.Its extremely cloudy.

My neighbor attended a PAP Youth Forum a couple of weeks back and remarked that one of their cadre, a university economist advised them to buy another property overseas and also pushed ahead the increase of the population of Singapore.He was ‘lost’ at this new direction.Like I mentioned in earlier posts, even the Grassroots is shaking.They have numbers but its a mixed bag in there.

The PAP is very aware that the ground sentiments are horrible.Every Ordinary Singaporean is affected especially with whats happening these past two years.We all know of it least someone who is going through a hard time.I have gotten calls from old friends and kakis who need help.Totally unheard of in my lifetime as these individuals are capable independent people.These are desperate times.Who do these people turn to?

I have a theory whats going to happen next but I don’t even want to think about it.I am so afraid that I will be right.So till a few more factors take place I will keep hush for now.I am hoping for a miracle about this 300 or more capable and responsible new Singaporeans coming into the picture.It will be a long process, probably taking 3-4 elections at least.Starting with the upcoming one.I am very certain one will be called soon as the weekday walkabouts have commenced.

I managed to find time to sieve through all the Parliamentary videos on CNA before they are taken down.Am quite impressed with the performance of the NMPs.Why don’t they join an Alternative Party?Don’t they know they are doing Singaporeans and True Democracy a great disservice in the long run?I feel that they are there on their own self interests and self promotion.

What worries more is the absence of dialogue or deliberation of the Ministers in the PMO office.You hardly hear a squeak from them at all during parliament.I would expect them to justify the passing of the new acts, bills, etc.Why are they so quiet about the real issues?

I am equally as clueless as you and my fellow Singaporeans.Everything is kept in the dark and veiled in secrecy.It is indeed scary.Today’s issue is quickly forgotten.Thank god for these guys on the internet who have given us the channels and means to ask the pertinent questions.

What is our next step?Shall we engage the leaders directly through Facebook or should we all start paying a visit to the Meet the People sessions or attend Dialogue sessions to seek clarification.The Reach program has not worked or neither the ST forums.I have tried and tested all these feedback channels for years to no avail.Even simple things need to go through a work group or think group, etc. It is time for direct engagement for the well being of Singapore.

I think there is nothing to fear as we may be the ones who can provide solutions to our current mess.Whether they work with us or against us is entirely up to them.But we can look back at these times in the not too distant future and say that we tried.

Porfirio Rubirosa

7) Edward on March 30th, 2009 7.02 pm This is sad news. The WP needs a strong and ruthless leader like LKY. Many people watching the tv telecast when PM Lee asked Low K T whether he should sack Wong K S over the Mas Selamat fiasco were disappointed with Low when he just kept quiet instead of replying forcefully that ‘yes, you should sack him.’

However, Low redeemed himself in the lively debate in parliament over the way the second key was used to withdraw our reserves.

The trouble is many opposition party members want to be ‘Indian Chief’ and not ‘Little Indians’. We have witnessed many of them jumped ship after some disagreement and misunderstanding. Disgruntled members should not form new parties which will not contribute towards solidarity of opposition parties. They must vote for their fellow opposition candidates and not be misled by the PAP to vote for the better PAP candidates. This happened during the 2006 GE.

12) David on March 30th, 2009 9.40 pm Apparently, Dr Chee may not be very popular among Singaporeans and other alternative parties. However, he is the one, and only man, that LKY fears the most and his son LHL cannot outspoke him. So the lion needs to constantly protect his cub by locking up the wild dog.

We cannot deny that Dr Chee is a very vocal and a firm person. In fact he can out do Silvia lim and other vocal MPs or NCMPs in parliament if given the chance.

What Dr Chee needs to do is built up his image,. focus fully on local issue and show Singaporeans his true mantle that he is willing to stand along side with Singaporeans and bring this country forward without foreign interventions.

At presence, his mind is a little strayed towards foreigner policies, his strategy is to uproot LEEgime by digging up old stories due to bad blood he had with MM. Such strategy should change and concentrate on peasants bread and butter issue in order to gain people support from the ground. He is undenibaly a clever and well-educated man but he needs to be less hardheaded and more soft hearted to conquer what is unfavourable for him now.

When I read about candidates resigning from any parties. First thing came to mind is this people joined alternative parties out of whims and frenzy without given serious thoughts about their objective of joining the party and a good understanding of the party they joined. Once they have made up their mind, they could ride on the party’s image to help the citizens and put aside any internal differences. Nobody is a failure for losing an election, the only failure is when you decided to quit - easily.

The stake is high for any althernative parties or Singaporeans as well as this country should any alternative party win in GRC and their members start quitting after being entrusted and voted into parliament by Singaporeans. Than it can only goes to show that such member care only for his own interest and not the people interest. Otherwise you cannot blame your enemy for laughing at you and make Singaporean a fool for too believing in alternative party and thus deserve such outcome - neither here or there.

Thus to people out there, do not join any political party if your will and emotion are weak and you know you have the tendency to hop around over little internal disputes. We must all learn to agree to disagree and not treat a party or Singaporean like a guinea pig in your own playground. It doesn’t work that way.

17) Socio-logist on March 30th, 2009 11.53 pm singaporeans are a kiasu and selfish bunch of people…
the reason why so many want to join PAP is because, they have more material benefit to loose by not joining and also they wont have to sacrifice for others…
conversely the reason why Singaporeans dont wanna join the opposition is because they have much to loose and they have to sacrifice everything for the good of the society and country…
until a time come where singaporeans feel they have more to loose materially by not joining the opposition and instead by continuing to support PAP, change is something this country will never be able to smell.

well… lets see if 90 odd singaporeans of the best education, best experience, best backgrounds can step forward with a conviction, resolve and determination to put in place a government better than PAP… that will never happen…

PAP might think that this is a huge strength on its part… but actually as long as this country cant produce 90 odd singaporeans with any ability to organize themselves to make a political change, where is this country to going to find 90 odd singaporeans with the ability to make any other change be it social or whatsoever.. PAP itself will struggle to find capable candidates… this country itself will struggle to see capable intellectuals or heros or leaders…

come to think about it… everyone in the system is at a loss….. a complete loss

Porfirio Rubirosa

18) Leng Wei Leng on March 30th, 2009 11.56 pm 5) Ah Choi on March 30th, 2009 6.57 pm
“Whether WP or SDA , it makes no difference, there are no heavyweight candidates to challenge Pap.”

Do you mean, based on historical evidence and current situation, singapore
is unable to produce any new credible alternative leaders?

well, this might not be totally false statement since there is no new credible candidate that has formed or joined Alternative party since the last election.

Talk is one thing. The reality is Truth.

23) Act Smart on March 31st, 2009 10.10 am Some opp is waiting for the opportunity, once the old man is not around and the baby boy has no pillar to lean on, then they will strike. It is no point to use an egg to strike the stone now as the heavy weight is still around.

25) Ah Choi on March 31st, 2009 12.15 pm WP Low is not a national leader, he is confined to Hougang only. The real alternative leader still non existence. So it is very difficult for WP to expand. As for Mr Chiam See Tong, he is reluctant to recruit new leaders for self renewal. So you see the scenerio is still dominated by PAP. As for Mr Tan Kin Lian, he is not a political leader, he needs 100,000 signatures, he is not sincere, and he won’t be a good president either not to mention credible MP. He has to think of his family, wife etc…. he is not like Dr Chee, who can sacrifice his life for the sake of democracy.His children are still young, and yet he can contribute to opposition politics, but unfortunately he is too good and MM Lee has to nail him down.

Porfirio Rubirosa

29) insider65 on March 31st, 2009 4.20 pm Agree with you at post 3 tew ah seow that the Hammer is a JBJ vehicle like SDP is a Dr CSJ vehicle.The leaders have a cult-like status which is important for any opposition or alternative party.You need leadership but leadership that always looks at renewal which unfortunately JBJ and Dr CSJ negelcted.CSJ still has the opportunity.

Dr Chee is an intelligent individual. David in post 12 I agree with you whole heatedly.Dr Chee probably should arrive in the post LKY period.For Singapore to flourish, it needs a Dr Chee.But a Dr Chee leading a strong team.Dr Chee has to find his team.LKY knows this very well and that is why he mentioned the SDP in his speech to the NUS Alumni early last week.He knows theoretically his PAP has officially run out of ideas.

This increasing of population just to boost figures in the short run will have detrimental effects in the long run.Can you imagine Singapore having 10 million people by 2015-2020?

In fact, Singapore needs at least 300 men and women in the mold of Dr Chee and JBJ which can include capable people like Sylvia Lim, Tan Kim Lian but not Low Thia Khiang.And another 3000 capable people in the membership pool. I shall not call it Cadre as sounds like the Communist Party.They are out there but like Socio-Logist in post 17 said that they are KIASU and only think of themselves for now I hope.

But we will find them. How? Just get all your friends and family involved.Get all your talented friends and family to join the alternative parties.Or just get them to go visit them and have a look and make an informed decision.If they all don’t fit, form a New Party or join the newer part, the Reform Party.And then work in coalitions.

Its like the TOC, Wayang Party, Singapore Enquirer, Brotherhood, etc all coming together.We are in this for Singapore the country and the nation and not for LKY and his Party.

The WP and SDA are becoming irrelevant in at a macroscopic level for Singapore’s future. The SDP has its role on more humanistic issues which is exposing the lack of a conscience of the PAP. The SDP is doing a fantastic job by educating not just Singaporeans but the World.

Leng Wei Leng in Post 18, you are right.If you see more individuals like Tan Kim Lian and Leong Sze Hian joining the new Reform Party or forming a new Party, this will be a new beginning which is in the right step.If you see more Tan Kim Lians and Leong Sze Hians ’stepping up’, trust me, more Singaporeans will join the fold.300 is the magic number.

There are a lot of Singaporeans out there who had enough of the PAP.I believe that finding the 300 core men and the 3000 membership is a possibility.We all got a part to play for Singapore’s future.I have got mine and you all have yours.Just continue to encourage these people who are wearing their hearts on their sleeves.Just remember that the PAP are losing more and more good members and we have to attract these good people to the right side.Show them the right path and let them come walk with us.

30) The FACT is undisputable- no one can challenge on March 31st, 2009 6.02 pm hallo #29,
“In fact, Singapore needs at least 300 men and women in the mold of Dr Chee and JBJ which can include capable people like Sylvia Lim, Tan Kim Lian but not Low Thia Khiang”

So, could you let me know honestly that
is it true that
Singapore currently, and for the last 40 years , not capable of producing a strong Alternative Party leader good enough to challen the incumben?

I hope all readers take up this question. chuus.

32) Seng Yi on March 31st, 2009 8.21 pm “So, could you let me know honestly that
is it true that
Singapore currently, and for the last 40 years , not capable of producing a strong Alternative Party leader good enough to challen the incumben?”

The fear learned by older generations has been more or less passed down to those borned in 60s and 70s and they are about 40 to 50-year old now. The younger generations borned after 80s will slowly help to exorcise this ghost.

Some people love to cultivate fear by giving you the stick and unfortunately it makes them powerful while the rest become trapped into this uncertainty (which has become what we call learned helplessness).

Porfirio Rubirosa

33) To #32 on March 31st, 2009 10.51 pm “The younger generations borned after 80s will slowly help to exorcise this ghost.”

may i suggest that you meant you hope this to be the case but there is no evidence to suggest it could happen this way?

For example, the last E, i thought oh my lord, look at the turnout, look at the issues, the alternative party sure would win much more. It turned out not true, and I still could not believe this till today! why ? i am not sure at all.

With the resources avail, its not diff for them to engage.
already they have been.

only when the fat lady sings.

35) Alternator is Illusion trick on the minds on March 31st, 2009 11.01 pm Sg :
1. called a 1st world
2. people said to study well and i dun really mean regurjitate hor. literacy high.
3. people said to be talented despite 60-70 % jobs require FT.
4. tip top talents also got. its said.
5. Universities, like quite solid also wor. according to the news.

So, I ask myself, why could not produce a single credible talent that CAN challenge head to head with the ruling p?p?

why 81:3 ? Based on democracy, is it not that if can afford, the country should have at least a strong and credible opposition that CAN take over if need be?

So what happen ?
I must say education system number 1.
I must say everyone smart smart and highly educated. well travelled (to asia).
The 5Cs life. The Walls of concrete jungle. The congestion and ratrace.The Kia’isms.

Where is the Thesis on this mental?

37) insider65 on April 1st, 2009 1.03 am To all and especially poster 30) The FACT is undisputable- no one can challenge and poster 33) To #32

You both guys asked ‘ So, could you let me know honestly that
is it true that Singapore currently, and for the last 40 years , not capable of producing a strong Alternative Party leader good enough to challen the incumben?’

Singapore produced them.JBJ being one and Dr Chee being the other.And a host of others, especially the heroes who stood on the Worker’s Party ticket before Low Thia Khiang became secretary general of Worker’s Party. And if you look at the last elections and how James Gomez was targeted you know that here was another guy who was certainly cabinet material.These guys are loyal sons of Singapore and could have got Singapore out of this current quagmire.But we would never know as you know what the PAP and all its machinery did to them.

Over the 50 years of PAP hegemony, a lot of talented people have left Singapore or have decided not to serve the country despite loving it as much because of the PAP.This is another serious issue altogether.Just do a background check on all those who have migrated and you will know that these people are top class and top quality who are certainly more talented than the current 2nd tier foreign talent.

Would you, a talented Singaporean serve the country knowing that there is this party called the PAP looking over your shoulder and waiting for you to fall or destroy you? I have asked many talented people this question and all have declined because they know that the PAP will destroy them.I have even spoken to NMPs on a personal basis.Just look at Tan Kim Lian and his reluctance to join a Party when he is a fantastic candidate for an alternative voice in Government.

The NMPs have disappointed me as they have taken the easy undemocratic route of being ’supposedly’ opposing voices of reason in Parliament through the backdoor route.Similar to the well paid ‘extras’ in the GRC teams of the PAP who just make up numbers to intimidate legitimate democracy.

The PAP has created this problem and cannot even attract the best leaders into its party because these individuals know that what the PAP is doing is not right.It attacks their conscience and self belief mechanisms. Singapore the country or nation state will fail in time to come when loyal sons and daughters do not identify with the only acceptable party PAP.

For that, I salute all the Opposition and Alternative Politicians out there.You guys are true heroes of Singapore who are willing to sacrifice your all for the love of your country. And not for the money and prestige that comes for being in the PAP party.Honestly, just take a good hard look at your MPs and their Grassroots leaders.Engage them in macroeconomic topics or social issues and see their uneasiness in response.The PM is a good case in example when people put forward relevant questions to him and he simply starts off by laughing it off. This is immaturity or arrogance whichever way you perceive it.

So I hope all of us responsible Singaporeans continue supporting the Alternative Parties or Opposition Parties as they need it.They are going against something which is infallible.

The four party cadres may have quit but I hope they do not quit politics for good.Its a numbers game my fellow Singaporeans.We will help them build their numbers.Just today I manage to convince a group of Singaporeans.And they are now clued in on alternative news.And they are already thanking me.And they have promised to tell their family and friends as well.Its a Grassroots movement of sorts.We got to continue working for the well being of Singapore our country and not to be servants for these clueless Elites.

Soon the Elite together with the Foreigners will outnumber the Ordinary Singaporeans.What then will we do?Who will be our voices?Who will represent us? Don’t be surprised if you see a PRC, Indian, Filipino, European becoming an MP or being in Cabinet in the near future.Today we see many ‘Ex-Malaysians’ who never did National Service in the cabinet.The immigrant is always thankful to the PAP.It is the 2nd, 3rd, 4th Generation Singaporean local that suffers.

Please engage me and tell me why I am wrong because I believe at this current state with the PAP in power, Singapore will fail within 25 years.This is my most pessimistic assessment.

Porfirio Rubirosa

39) True singaporean. on April 1st, 2009 10.14 am To insider65 on April 1st, 2009 1.03 am

I totally agree with you, if the locally born singaporean who are capable and love singapore must stand up and serve an alternative party for the good of future singapore. Agree with what insider65 said “Don’t be surprised if you see a PRC,
Indian, Filipino, European becoming an MP or being in Cabinet in the near future” or cld be future PM. It wld be sad to see this happen.

40) word that has 2 mouths on April 1st, 2009 11.40 am 37) insider65 on April 1st, 2009 1.03 am

I understand what you said.
But, with due respect, could it be in a little way you may not understand what #30 was saying?

From my understanding of #30’s message, I feel that he is saying and also acknowledged that JBJ and Chee are capable opponents.

But being capable does not mean having the capability to establish a strong alternative. A strong alternative is one that can take over. In this space it is expected to have extremely great obstacles. And a capable alternative leader is one that can achieve this. LTK is able to achieve somethings. But is still far away from the definition of a strong alternative leader with a strong team that can take over as long as the people choose them.

This I feel is what he meant by sg has not produced a single strong enough alternative leader to take over. This includes ABILITY to overcome ALL Obstacles.

peace

41) insider65 on April 1st, 2009 12.57 pm Good afternoon poster 40) word that has 2 mouths

You are right in a little way that I did not understand poster #30. I did not understand the meaning of ‘chuus’.What is ‘chuus’?Can someone please enlighten me.

I also could not get the message that he was trying to imply that he ‘also acknowledged that JBJ and Chee are capable opponents.’ as you have put it.I see no mention of this in poster #30 commentary.

Maybe poster #30 could be more specific or could respond to my argument in post #29 and #37.

I concur with you that in this unique space called Singapore there are many great obstacles put forth by the PAP for any semblance of an alternative party from forming or from credible candidates coming forward to the detriment of Singapore’s future.

LTK has achieved a lot and SL is doing a fantastic job.But we need 300 SLs and a membership pool of 3000 at least and it is possible and it is happening as we speak.I am so glad that we have people like Tan Kim Lian and Leong Sze Hian.Me, my family and friends will support these fine gentlemen.

Everyday I meet 10 new people and I believe I can get 3000 people to hear me out every year.And I am sure there are 100’s if not 1000’s of people like me in Singapore who love Singapore to bits and see it crumbling before our very eyes.My old kaki’s, their children, their friends are all getting educated across the spectrum.And this is healthy for the future of Singapore.Because out of my pool of 3000 and the exterior pool of 30000 I am sure we can find good honorable people to lead this country forward.

My only fear is that if this alternative party does not take shape in the near future, Singapore will be part of a bigger power beyond the control of ordinary Singaporeans.It was only 50 odd years ago that we were still British servants.Today we are PAP servants.

You seem to know poster #30 very well from his short little paragraph.I am very impressed.If you, and poster #30 believe that the Alternative leaders and parties need ‘ABILITY to overcome ALL obstacles’ put forth by the PAP, god bless Singapore the country city state.It will become a hotel for even the Singaporeans like MM has put it.A hotel for Singapore’s ‘Last of the Mohicans’.

Porfirio Rubirosa

45) Victor on April 1st, 2009 4.30 pm Personally I think WP is too quiet since GE2006. Almost did not hear anything from WP about the good deeds they do, instead keep hearing the bashing from ST about LTK.

WP should be more vocal, so to reach out to the wider audience. They should openlly express their concerns using the new media, like blog, website, video etc. It gives me an impression that WP just there to make up the numbers, collect the taxpayer money, and occasionally shooting some random comments here and there.

46) my blunt but honest on April 1st, 2009 4.40 pm I believe WP’s strategy is not effective as it should or could be.

Its effective only to a small neglible extent, sadly.

OBSTACLE : if you CANNOT OVERCOME it, that is what it will always remain.

So, as long as Alternative leaders/brains/aides/party members CANNOT overcome this or whatever Obstacle(s), that means only 2 things:

1. Wait for the majority to suddenly support them.
2. Wait for someone to…..

I feel that to get votes, alternative party Must go out and WIN IT by winning the hearts. If they HOPE people to give votes to them, that could mean they may never win for many decades. I never see any Alternative party member going around leh. Why? Obstacle? like the rain too many? ha haha

If you can conquer the obstacles, you win. Else nil. That is my take.

cheers.

47) To post #33) on April 1st, 2009 7.03 pm “33) To #32 on March 31st, 2009 10.51 pm
For example, the last E, i thought oh my lord, look at the turnout, look at the issues, the alternative party sure would win much more. It turned out not true, and I still could not believe this till today! why ? i am not sure at all.”

Just your frame of looking at it. a lot may not yet see the need for alternative party (balance) yet as an important built-in mechanism.

As more and more people turn politically saavy and more in tune with the bigger pictures of national matters and affairs, they will come to know that it is necessary to have the checking mechanism.
48) Is uniqueness limited to the dot on April 1st, 2009 10.54 pm 47) To post #33) on April 1st, 2009 7.03 pm

“As more and more people turn politically saavy and more in tune with the bigger pictures of national matters and affairs”

By the above, I suspect you are thinking the same as me that there is a problem of APATHY in this so-called 1st world .

I wonder if mr TKL agrees that many have an indifferent attitude towards their own national affairs?

If so, why is it like this ? What is the CAUSE for this EFFECT, if any?

Why when it comes to political thingies, singaporean seem unique compared the the rest of the world? Or is it my understooding is not correct?

Come challen me leh. The truth can only come out when we challen.

Porfirio Rubirosa

49) Edward on April 1st, 2009 11.59 pm #44) insider65
‘……………………………..the NMPs.Why don’t they join an Alternative Party?………………… I feel that they are there on their own self interests and self promotion.’
‘………………………………… because I believe at this current state with the PAP in power, Singapore will fail within 25 years.This is my most pessimistic assessment.’
………………………………………………..

If I were given a licence to operate a lucrative bus company or a lottery business or any monopoly and become a multi-millionaire I also would work as a running dog for the PAP. The late Mr David Marshal accused the Straits Times for being a running dog of the PAP government. I believe 99.9% of the Singaporeans would think of their self interests first and the country’s survival second.

Even if you failed as a cabinet minister you would be rewarded with a highly paid job in one of the many GLCs. In fact, one ex-minister earned more than double what he would get as a minister. An ex-civil servant CEO received $20 million bonus. What do you get fighting for the opposition? Bankruptcy, sacked from NTUC, called a liar and a gangster, no promotion, no govt contracts.

Are our ministers worth so much? According to another web-site, a recent ex-minister is now earning only $22,000.00 a month in a private company - 10% of his previous minister’s pay. Remove all these inflated wages and rewards and the PAP will lose many supporters.

Mr Kishore Mahubani in his Think Tank article, ‘Can Singapore fail?’ which was published in the ST failed to suggest that Singapore might fail owing to the PAP becoming corrupt and inefficient in the future. A good example of such failure is Argentina, which was one of the ten richest country of the world at the beginning of the last century.

How to insure Singapore’s survival in the future? LKY has the wrong answer.

Porfirio Rubirosa

52) albert on April 2nd, 2009 11.21 am My take is that our opposition are so mild, too mild to even dare to confront the PAP face to face. Their existance means really nothing to most of us singaporean, beside being made joke of again and again. Who is LTK and slyvia Lim? One speak hokkien and one speak English, but inside the essence is the same - dun dare to fight, kiasu, kiasi.

Our politician are so unique in this world. Can only survive in SG. If we outsource our politics, surely these people will lose their job.

53) insider65 on April 2nd, 2009 12.46 pm Victor I do agree that WP has been too quiet since 2006.

Todays ST 2 April 2009) reported that the PAP inducts Two minsters, PAP’s George Yeo paying tributes.You have PAP news everyday in the ST till the run up of the upcoming elections.I don’t blame them as it is a numbers game.

Elections preparation start right after the outcome of the last.I am encouraged that they are using new platforms like Blogs, Facebook and Twitter to a better effect than the PAP.But internet penetration to these platforms generate views of only a hundred or so.Look at this topic for example.Only 2000 views.If there is going to be any change or awareness, it should generate a healthy 200000 views at least.That’s only 6 odd % of the general population.

The WP should boost its membership across the spectrum.These 4 resignations are telling.I only recognize 2 candidates from the WP vehile, LTK and SL and the public can probably recall 2 at the most.

I find it hard to recollect all the members who contested in the Ang Mo Kio GRC seat in 2006. I do understand that they are doing house visits and walkabouts on a regular basis but could there be other forms of medium they can use to reach to Singapore as a whole and not a segment in the East country?

The WP should hold more forums at least at a quarterly or monthly basis at its HQ for the public as introductory sessions to pool in more members.The other parties do not have the luxury to do that.

A forum on HOTA or Films Act should have been conducted these past few months.It gives an opportunity for the public who are affected by the passing of these bills to turn up and discuss with the WP’s two Parliamentarians.

I personally have tried to engage MPs at MPS but to no avail.The Grassroots leaders rarely give you access.You are screened early.It is perplexing that the pertinent issues are not discussable at MPS sessions.This is a good opportunity for the WP to address these grievances of SIngaporeans who have genuine issues that affect a majority.

I am not a proponent of the GRC system and Ethnic Minority representation.I believe that MPs should be voted in on thier own merit.This tool dispels the Meritocracy principle espoused profoundly on many occasions by the PAP.

But I believe that WP in my own personal observation is alienating the Minority vote.It has no capable or credible Minority candidates I can think of.WP was probably the first truly multicultural party after the PAP.It sent a Minority candidate to the polls and finally broke the duck in 1981.\

The WP has to find its multiculturalism from within.Unfortunately it has lagged in this aspect most recently.I am not really sure how the Minority vote but I won’t be surprised that the fence sitters may cast the PAP instead.

When Mr Abdul Salim Harun came abroad to the WP ticket in the last elections, I was happy as a Singaporean.Because this is healthy for multiculturalism.I was hoping for more Haruns or other Ethnic Minorities to join the WP.

If you look at the Executive Council, there is only one, Mr Rahizan Bin Yacoob.Kudos to Mr Rahizan but we need more, much much more.has the WP actually tried walking around Little India and Geylang Seria?Engaged PKMS or the Association of Muslim Professionals or re-engage Mr Jufri Mahmood on an advisory capacity?

I have respect for the PAP in the sense that it is the only multicultural party in Singapore.The Ethnic Minorities are small, probably less than 20% of the electorate these days due to migration and immigration.The Malays are only 13% of the population when it used to be 20% odd, the Indians around 7-8% and the others probably 1% or less.These are your important swing votes, just look at the recent US Presidential Elections.

I am truly sorry that Mr Abdul Salim Harun had to leave.The work is cut out for WP.The longer it maintains that it wants to be the ‘check and balance’ party the further we are from true democracy.The only multi cultural party I see today is SDP.And that is why I believe the SDP is the party for the future post LKY-LHL-LHY-HC-Li Hongyi-4th Generation-5th Generation period.

The WP has to step up on its efforts and act fast.The PAP has thrown the first gauntlet with the appointment of Mrs Lim Hwee Hua as the first woman minister.Aljunied GRC will be re-drawn and re-mastered that even a Miss Sylvia Lim led team will not win.Even a LTK/SL combo will not suffice.The WP needs more than that.The WP has only two notable candidates, it needs another 8-13 at least of the same ilk.Even the ‘undemocratically elected’ NMPs are becoming more relevant

Porfirio Rubirosa

54) JD on April 2nd, 2009 6.56 pm SDP a multicultural party?? I think their biggest problem is self gratification in a world of illusion which explains why they are where they are now.

55) JD on April 2nd, 2009 6.59 pm Everytime there is a poll in TOC pitting SDP against WP the first will be trailing behind. If they think magnifying their presence with more nicknames and more comments lambasting WP will change anything, good luck. You got to win real people over. More importantly their bigger battle is with PAP, WP is just ’small fish’.

56) angry_one on April 3rd, 2009 12.42 am S’poreans only have themselves to blame for today’s state of affairs. They allow the PAP to abuse their power and turn a blind eye, hoping to make a little gain for their own. Most sinkees are still peasants. They may be PhDs and doctors, but they think like peasants. Peasants can never form a democratic society. The PAP knows this and continues to use cheap handouts to win votes every election. They actively chase the smart people away so no one else is left to oppose them. Those who are smart, and support the PAP, will be richly rewarded. Others will all be slaves.

Porfirio Rubirosa

57) insider65 on April 3rd, 2009 6.27 am Funny that I am replying to each and every moniker or nickname and I am not getting an elicit response.

poster 54 and 55 JD) My mistake,I meant that the SDP is the only ‘other’ multicultural party other than the PAP.Why do I say this?

Simple.I am old but I can relate to the young.I was in Orchard over the weekend and decided to do a random poll’.I have been doing polls for years.For my professional work and also for my own personal curiosity about how people behave. Thankfully I had two kakis to help.We thoroughly enjoyed this exercise as it was more interaction and educating of the youth.

If you are looking for an online poll which can be indicative go to Mr Tan Kim Lian’s website.He asks the pertinant questions.

Surprisingly the Youth (between 18-30) responded well without prejudice.Not all are as apathetic as you think. I just posed to them that the General Elections are around the corner.I did not have a control question set but this interaction over two days was an eye opener.

A lot of them recognise the work of the SDP.They can identify Dr Chee in a whim.Only the older youth ( who are probably working) know who LTK and SL are.SL is more popular.I targeted the minority youth more which is a bit more difficult as they are few and far between.But on my observation, the Malay Youth (below 25) are Dr Chee fans.

Dr Chee has an identity with the youth probably because he is an idealist.The Youth are dreamers at this Stage.But I was a bit bias that I interacted more with Service Staff.

And this more shocking.A lot of Singaporean youngsters are working when they should be schooling.I probed and its a sorry state.Most of thier parents have lost thier jobs or have seen a wage decrease of sorts.Loads of Tertiary students are working to put themselves through school.And these kids eagerly want an alternative voice.

The alternative voice is Dr Chee for now.I for one believe that a balance is possible.A Party that is in the middle ground of the WP and the SDP.I do not mention the other parties as the Youth never brought these parties up.

A new Party is needed or the Reform Party has to fill this void.Or a coalition like our Northern Neighbours.

I enjoy talking to the youth.They are much wiser than I was at thier age.My only worry is that they will migrate because of the reality that will hit them in the near future. With the changing demographic of more Chinese youths who are used to a one party state, the opposition or alternative parties only have the coming election to build some sort of inroads.That is why I agree with MM that 25 years is all it takes.

Is it possible to get Singapore migrants like Francis Seow and Tang Liang Hong to address Singaporeans on why they migrated for educational purposes.Like put a video on youtube or write blogs.I am sure the people who voted for them before or wanted to vote for them want to know the truth.

Migration is a choice but there can be other solutions.Maybe more Singapores who have migrated should come forth publicly to educate the sanctity of voting.

And poster 56) angry one could the peasant thinking have anything to do with our genes?The PAP is a eugenics and genetics spouting party.This is probably the chief reason I can never identify with it.The meritocracy they preach is all baloney.I have met too many good people from extremely humble backgrounds who contribute more to society than these PAP members, cadre, leaders, etc.Ordinary Singaporean Superheroes.

I am off in a couple of hours.See you people next week.Thanks TOC for giving me this space.I will continue engaging Singaporeans here and on my short trip.And will report as promised.

58) JD on April 3rd, 2009 1.37 pm I can’t link ‘multiculturalism’ with having a few Malay youths to support and some small survey sampling. Anyway anyone can claim to have done a street survey. The last time someone told me he did a street survey that SDP had the best support among youths, the process he described sounded flawed.

The best street survey is the elections, and the order of score is as follows: PAP, WP, SDA, SDP. That is not going to change in the next elections, but if SDP bucks up it can change in 3 elections.