• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tissue Sellers and Charity

LeMans2011

I have to admit first of all this is a super boliao question :-D

I personally consider it charity when i pay a dollar or two for 3 packs of tissue.. well now you get 4 packs due to the highly competitive tissue selling business. At Bedok hawker centre. you have a cheerful uncle with only one leg, an old man with one arm, an aunty who auto "keep the change".. a few old men, and one or two ah tiongs.

The most cheerful of them all is the one-legged uncle who is truly professional. He will never take advantage of your charity ie always give you back your change. He has friends here and he sits around having meals and chatting with them during his rest breaks. He ever offered his seat to me once when i was having a hard time looking for seats cos he said he needed to get back to work. Today i saw him placing bets with an illegal bookie, ie those who sell illegal 3D or 4D type.

Would that change your mind about this uncle? On one hand it is good that he lives and laugh like a normal person. On the other hand those who make a point to patronise him might find it not appropriate. In the sick old TR fashion, what are your thoughts?

Be selective if you don't feel right. I am more sympathetic towards elderly women folks and those who are visually handicapped.

What's a dollar honestly?

I know of this young fella who used to be hairstylist in his younger days, got whacked until became wheelchair bound, some bro might remember as they used to run his story on TV, he sold tissue paper on wheelchair and seemed to make comfortable living

Lately he is able to walk again but I still see him selling on wheelchair as he told me people are more sympathetic toward him in that condition

charity is good. but now the world has become more complicated. many exploited compassion and many also feel cheated out of their charity. we already have disappointingly experienced NKF, RED CROSS, RENCI ...and still many more which are not yet exposed.

when we give to charity, we give because we feel compassionate to give.....but for now we have to apply WISDOM to be charitable. so please do not end up as a dummy generous charity giver.

Once I give I don't care how they use the money. They can spend it anyway they chose. If they want to buy 4D, buy ciggies or food, so be it. The pleasure is mine when I give so why should I feel bad if the recipient spend it unwisely? To worry about such things takes away the pleasure you have from giving freely.

I don't mind "buying" from the senior citizens & visibly handicap. Strictly speaking, its not charity since you get something in return.

however, I will not donate to those TV charity shows becos of:

1) the admin fee + GST
2) MediaCorpse charging for airtime;

I will also not donate to those who asked for donation in the streets. These are outsourced company which takes a cut from the $$ you donate.

It does not feel right for some 3rd parties to benefit from my donations.

Its called the dopamine effect - the act of giving without realising or not knowing what it actually does. The high alone is sufficient.

Most charities are aware of this and thats where the abuse takes place. Charities are a major industry and growing at a phenomenal pace. Many of the big ones have private jets with the ostensible reason of reaching the needy in the heart of Africa etc.

It took me years before I had to overcome it. I now vountarily provide advice together with a due diligence group comprising of other liked minded individuals with accounting and legal background to foundations on who deserves it and the conditions that they have to comply. For instance, they cannot exceed 4% in terms of overhead. If not you will end up like NKF where over 90% went to NKF overheads and reserves and less than 10 % went to the needy. They collected right across the spectrum. It went on for years and the CEO's wife and children had an NKF Mercs and NKF chaueffer at their disposal.

Once I give I don't care how they use the money. They can spend it anyway they chose. If they want to buy 4D, buy ciggies or food, so be it. The pleasure is mine when I give so why should I feel bad if the recipient spend it unwisely? To worry about such things takes away the pleasure you have from giving freely.

I buy tissue packets from anyone regardless of their physical condition.
Better to buy $10 tissues then to give $1 to PAP run charities.

There is a reason why we pay tax - part of it is to provide for the needy and the unfortunate. The PAP in the past looked after the poor with no homeless in sight. Nowdays they need the money to pay for high political salaries and pay for the goodies just before elections. They know suckers will look after the poor. Its simple human behaviour.

We should be asking why there are more people begging in our streets. Why are fake monks seem all over town. Why do we pay for an illegal immigrant to build a mansion back home in PRC. What is MCYS doing?

Can Zorro please go and ask the ah tiongs why they are here selling tissues and not in China?

My opinion only, it is charity to buy tissue at exorbitant prices and I won't buy from someone who uses the money to gamble. The main criteria who to buy from is whether the person is a nice chap and treats others well.

I have encountered these 3 people and donated to only one:
1. A blind man selling tissues. Once, someone knocked into him and the blind man apologised. Polite chap, gives change, occasionally see him eating a bun, speaks good english (hence not ah tiong) I didn't take his tissues.
2. An elderly lady who is not disabled selling tissues. Will call out to people to help her. Once, I saw her in the morning selling tissues. Later that evening after work, I went to watch a movie, and she was sitting in the cinema with her legs stretched out on the chair in front of her, eating popcorn.
3. A "blind man" who doesn't sell tissues but is asking for money. After his day's "work", he will walk away from his place of work without using the cane and later stop for a smoke.

Only donate and help deserving/worthy needy people. Don't give money to conmen and inconsiderate people.

sum, u can c dem @ quite different places ... dey can b joo chiat @ 1 time n den @ tanjong pagar @ another ... u wonder how dey travel around ... actually, no nid 2 wonder, juz watch dem being fetched ...

why are there so many uncles and aunties selling tissue papers?
they literally shove them into your faces and if you don't buy, they curse and swear at you...
these uncles and aunties should be comfortably looked after in nice homes...

one notorious one on wheel-chair is particularly ferocious and vociferous...and even throw expletivies at you if you don't buy
"kiam kana!!"

Of course people who sell tissues do not have a good job but need to make a living or need to feed their families. This is some form of charity. And to give up one's dignity to do such a thing means he is proactive in seeking help. Sometimes one can do is to get rid of your own self righteousness and not play the devil advocate and use your means to help them unconditionally without expecting anything in return. In this way you will feel good yourselves and have peace with God.

Do it for Jesus! He is risen!

Its called the dopamine effect - the act of giving without realising or not knowing what it actually does. The high alone is sufficient.

Most charities are aware of this and thats where the abuse takes place. Charities are a major industry and growing at a phenomenal pace. Many of the big ones have private jets with the ostensible reason of reaching the needy in the heart of Africa etc.

It took me years before I had to overcome it. I now vountarily provide advice together with a due diligence group comprising of other liked minded individuals with accounting and legal background to foundations on who deserves it and the conditions that they have to comply. For instance, they cannot exceed 4% in terms of overhead. If not you will end up like NKF where over 90% went to NKF overheads and reserves and less than 10 % went to the needy. They collected right across the spectrum. It went on for years and the CEO's wife and children had an NKF Mercs and NKF chaueffer at their disposal.

giving advice again when the advice is not ask for in the first place..

sinkie sinkie.... a sinkie can never change its behaviour.

The chap also don't like to live a life of selling tissue, thats why he bought toto.
Have pity please.

They do their sins, I do my good deeds. Just because a couple of them cheat doesn't mean that I am going to stop helping. And maybe I tikam tikam also helped a lot of people. Just be more selective next time if I find them dishonest lor.

As for betting on 4D/Toto, I also bet wor....who doesn't want to stirike once in a while? Even my mum who also compliant not having enough allowance from us also use my hard earned money to bet. They all hope Ti Kong throw a big piece of gold to them so that don't need to work liao mah...understandable larr... :D

1. if i chance upon the aged hanicapped guy at bedok reservoir hawker center.
2. i present him either 2 bucks or a fiver for a 3-in-1 pack of tissues.
3. this is my simple way of giving back & empathy.
4. it does not matter if he buys some lottery or totto or cigarettes. (yes, i do advise the same person not to smoke)
5. it is betterer than giving to some establishments with thousands of bucks in its payroll & toilets with golden taps.