Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ah Guan
Tell us the full story leh... Not just your part of it.
What did you do to antagonise him?
Quote:
Lived in his country lah
Although I can appreciate foreigners making the effort to imitate local speech, it will take a linguist to understand the proper usage of lahs, lors and mehs unless they have been here for a very long time and had comfortably assimilated into the local culture. Just for example the above, using 'lah' just won't jive with the answer's intent. It should have been 'lor' or 'mah' so as to define resignation. I would venture to offer my understanding of these 'suffix codes.'
1) 'lah' = No big deal or Don't make a big deal out of it.
2) 'lor' = If it is such a big deal to you(other).
3) 'mah' = Emphatically because.
4) 'meh' = You mean it's possible? or Can that be possible? (meh is interrogative)
5) 'woh' = Can you believe that?
6) 'hor' = Don't you agree? and (when using 'So hor') As you can see.....
7) 'leh' = Befuddled or Lost or No knowledge or Confused.
Any brothers or sisters wish to contribute?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ah Guan
Tell us the full story leh... Not just your part of it.
What did you do to antagonise him?
Quote:
Lived in his country lah
Although I can appreciate foreigners making the effort to imitate local speech, it will take a linguist to understand the proper usage of lahs, lors and mehs unless they have been here for a very long time and had comfortably assimilated into the local culture. Just for example the above, using 'lah' just won't jive with the answer's intent. It should have been 'lor' or 'mah' so as to define resignation. I would venture to offer my understanding of these 'suffix codes.'
1) 'lah' = No big deal or Don't make a big deal out of it.
2) 'lor' = If it is such a big deal to you(other).
3) 'mah' = Emphatically because.
4) 'meh' = You mean it's possible? or Can that be possible? (meh is interrogative)
5) 'woh' = Can you believe that?
6) 'hor' = Don't you agree? and (when using 'So hor') As you can see.....
7) 'leh' = Befuddled or Lost or No knowledge or Confused.
Any brothers or sisters wish to contribute?