• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Times are bad, many weddings put off...

<TABLE id=msgUN cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Times are bad, many weddings put off...</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF noWrap align=right width="1%">From: </TD><TD class=msgFname noWrap width="68%">kojakbt22 <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate noWrap align=right width="30%">8:08 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT noWrap align=right width="1%" height=20>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname noWrap width="68%">ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 2) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%" rowSpan=4> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>4290.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>Wedding feast transfers catching on
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : end --></TD></TR><TR><TD>Process now easier with more websites, forums as avenues for trading</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- Author --></TD></TR><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Melissa Sim
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- show image if available --></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->THE wedding was called off for personal reasons, but Mr G. Ang, 28, was not about to pay $10,000 in cancellation fees.
Instead, the marketing manager posted his wedding banquet details online, hoping to find someone to take over the booking.
The heading read: FOR IMMEDIATE TRANSFER!!!
Transferring wedding banquet bookings has become common for couples who have to cancel their packages due to financial difficulties or relationship problems, or because of plans to upgrade to a larger wedding venue.
And the process has become easier with more wedding websites and forums.
A wedding planner of six years, Ms Anna Lim said wedding forums have become very active in the last three years and provide an avenue for transferring banquet packages online.
'Before the Internet, it was definitely harder to do this because you have only a small collection of friends who might take over the package,' said Ms Lim.
Couples cited singaporebrides.com and styleweddings.sg as popular sites to list available banquet packages.
And it is turning out to be a win-win situation for all.
Take Mr Ang, for example. If he had cancelled his wedding dinner, he would have lost the $4,000 deposit and would also have to pay an extra $6,000 to Swissotel The Stamford to make up for its lost income. This would have come up to $10,000, or half the value of the banquet.
Instead, he found a couple to take over his booking. They negotiated, and he is transferring his deposit to them. So the new couple get a $4,000 discount on their wedding banquet, while Mr Ang loses no more than his deposit.
The hotel too stands to gain as the wedding is on - except for a change of bride and groom.
Wedding banquets in Singapore cost from $750 to $1,800 a table, depending on the venue and the food.
And deposits, which form a percentage of the total wedding package, can start from $1,000 and go up to $8,000.
In the event of a cancellation, some restaurants simply keep the deposit. But others will stagger penalties so that the closer the cancellation is to the actual date, the more couples have to pay.
But even after couples put down their deposits, plans can change, some of them told The Straits Times.
Ms H. Lim, 27, who works in the finance industry, needed a bigger venue to accommodate her ever-expanding guest list. She has already found a couple who are willing to transfer their banquet booking at Furama Hotel to her so she will not need to pay the $1,000 deposit.
Meanwhile, she is hoping to pass her booking at a restaurant in Clarke Quay to someone else. If there are no takers, she simply loses the deposit of $1,000, so she is not out of pocket in total. But she would rather 'pass on the discount'.
'I would rather someone else benefit than the restaurant,' said Ms Lim.
Most hotels told The Straits Times that transfers are allowed only on a case- by-case basis. Some said they had to be 'exceptional, unavoidable' situations.
Mr Ang recalled having some difficulty convincing his hotel: 'Initially they did not allow the swop, so I had to speak to them explaining my circumstances.'
Mr Heinz Javier Colby, general manager of Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay, said that his hotel has received five more transfers this year compared to last year. He added that there has been no spike in transfers due to the financial slowdown.

[email protected]

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

theblackhole

Singaporeans should stop wasting their hard earned money in lavish wedding dinners - a bloody waste and a social snob event holding their weddings in 5 star hotels. If you can afford it , just go ahead like those millionaires and billionaires. Even the decorations only can cause up to $100,000K!!! If you are just a salaried employee, don't try to show off by holding your wedding dinners in posh hotels. Just be simple and do away with all the waste! Times are bad, so don't be a dead hero!!! Merry Christmas to everyone and may the Good Lord Bless all of you with abundance, good health and good luck.

Give half of the banquet budget to theirs parent and see they want money or face face face. KNN

Zeitgeist

Singaporeans should stop wasting their hard earned money in lavish wedding dinners - a bloody waste and a social snob event holding their weddings in 5 star hotels. If you can afford it , just go ahead like those millionaires and billionaires. Even the decorations only can cause up to $100,000K!!! If you are just a salaried employee, don't try to show off by holding your wedding dinners in posh hotels. Just be simple and do away with all the waste! Times are bad, so don't be a dead hero!!! Merry Christmas to everyone and may the Good Lord Bless all of you with abundance, good health and good luck.

I registered my marriage with my wife 5 months after our first meeting. That was it! No wedding dinners nor any photo studio sessions. 15 years and two kids later, our marriage is still going on as strong as ever. No fights, few quarrels despite being under constant financial stresses. Some of the grand weddings I've attended, the couple were divorced after a few short years.

I would recommend that the money to be spent on wedding dinners be used to take a trip around the world instead,on economy before settling down for kids. For most of us, the trip if not taken, will mean it will not be for a long, long time, if ever!:smile:

williamsF1

long long time ago in the southern province of china, wedding feasts are usually prepared at home, to host & entertain guests & relatives. lavish banquets only take place where the rich can afford to throw their $ around. (that $ for the banquet is sponsored by the parents, not the wedding couple)

sinkie mentality, the parents expect the wedding couple to cough blood, so that they can have face.

Doesn't matter.
By the time the recession is over, they'll be divorced.

chupacabra

I registered my marriage with my wife 5 months after our first meeting. That was it! No wedding dinners nor any photo studio sessions. 15 years and two kids later, our marriage is still going on as strong as ever. No fights, few quarrels despite being under constant financial stresses. Some of the grand weddings I've attended, the couple were divorced after a few short years.

I would recommend that the money to be spent on wedding dinners be used to take a trip around the world instead,on economy before settling down for kids. For most of us, the trip if not taken, will mean it will not be for a long, long time, if ever!:smile:

You must be a grago. My wedding was a day at signing my wedding cert and going to some some pub after that. Two of my wife's friends were the witnesses.
Spent 200 bucks.:biggrin:

chupacabra

Yes the stupid Pappies gave me free land in peesai because I am the almighty FT.

Zeitgeist

You must be a grago. My wedding was a day at signing my wedding cert and going to some some pub after that. Two of my wife's friends were the witnesses.
Spent 200 bucks.:biggrin:

Nope, Chinese with about a litre of Indonesian Malay blood from great granny.
Was in the commercial video and photo line before. Had seen enough photo and wedding dinner sessions to last a dozen lifetimes. Total waste of good money, I always say.:smile:

chupacabra

err...u no need to buy pigeon hole, furniture meh? :confused::confused::confused:

This one no brainer right. House and funiture are needs, quite pointless adding it to wedding cost.

Even if you are not married, you still need a roof above your head and a chair to sit on to watch Ellen.

chupacabra

Nope, Chinese with about a litre of Indonesian Malay blood from great granny.
Was in the commercial video and photo line before. Had seen enough photo and wedding dinner sessions to last a dozen lifetimes. Total waste of good money, I always say.:smile:

Patut la got a bit of slang in your posting.

Zeitgeist

err...u no need to buy pigeon hole, furniture meh? :confused::confused::confused:

Come to think of it, I think what make our marriage strong was the fact that we started with a pre owned flat with nothing except the built in kitchen cabinets. We moved in with just a newly purchased queen mattresses and started building up our nest from there. We share those memories constantly and always laugh about it. :o

kakowi

But in singapore's context, many couples got married only after they get the keys to their HDB flat and so adding the cost of renovation, servicing housing loan to the wedding costs will give the total cost which they have to foot out