• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

This is why "journalists" from our state-controlled media can never be trusted

SNAblog

T. Sastharan should know better. Let this be an unforgettable lesson to him and the arts community never to trust "journalists" from our state-controlled media, whether it is SPH or Mediacorp.

http://mrwangsaysso.blogspot.com/2010/06/bigger-gang.html

This message has been floating around the Internet:

Dear Friends, members of the arts community,

My sincere apologies for cross/multiple- posting. But I am hoping for maximal reach with this one.

Two nights ago, on June 8, 7.30 pm, Six Degrees, a fledgling collective for independent, freelance creative workers and practitioners, called for a meeting of people involved in the media, film, video and other related industries. Those that turned up that night met in the old shed at Emily Hill. There were 100 or so filmmakers, directors, editors, producers, camerapeople, soundpeople, actors and various other talents and crew. There were also reps from MICA and AIPRO (Association of Independent Producers (Singapore)) .

The session, which was independently moderated, lasted more than 2 hours and resulted in several people speaking quite candidly and honestly about the problems, obstacles and impediments of working in the film and media industry in Singapore. Several issues emerged and the concerns were, understandably, complex and complicated given the diversity of the people at the meeting. Several issues were real and fundamental and got to the gritty realities of working in what is usually projected as a sexy and glamorous business. In short, it was an open, badly needed dialogue with the potential of making a real difference to the lives of the small people at the bottom of the food chain.

Six Degrees had assured everyone who attended of the confidentiality of the proceedings and the moderator reminded those present to respect this confidentiality of process. Journalists, bloggers and vloggers who were present were told time and again that they were there in their private, individual capacities; that they should refrain from reporting or writing or posting about the issues that emerged and the identities divulged.

Yesterday Six Degrees was told that a journalist from the TODAY newspaper, who may or may not have been present at the meeting, and who identified herself only as "Esther", was doing a story on the meeting. She apparently talked to some who had been present at the meeting and attempted to pull the story together. Naturally this caused distress and unhappiness among the people she'd contacted and it was communicated to Six Degrees.

My colleague Josephine Tan called "Esther" to urge her to respect the confidentiality agreement."Esther" admitted being aware of the confidentiality agreement but said she'd write the story anyway because her editor "Andre" wanted it so. I tried calling "Andre" and soon learnt that there is no such person. I then called "Esther" personally at around 7 pm and was told that her editor, now one Derrick Paulo, would call me back. An hour passed and nothing. I called him on his mobile (twice) and left him an SMS to call me back. No response. I called "Esther" yet again and was told that Derrick would call me tomorrow. At which point I asked "Esther" why she was doing this; effectively, lying to, betraying and letting down an entire community, one to which she belonged. She hung up on me.

I do not know if the story will appear in TODAY. But I do know that the above mentioned persons in TODAY have not a shred of decency, integrity or just common courtesy. For me it was 1994, the Artists General Assembly, Josef Ng and The New Paper all over again. Some things never change. We can always rely on some schmuck in our media to fuck the powerless, again and again and again.

T.SASITHARAN
Director
Theatre Training and Research Programme

these journalists will have their karma one day,hopefully!

I got a lot of respect for Sasi. The guy has got a brilliant mind and at the sametime he wears his heart on his sleeves. He could have been a pen pushing superscale civil servant drawing a large salary in view of his background but he gave it all up for the arts.

... Yesterday Six Degrees was told that a journalist from the TODAY newspaper, who may or may not have been present at the meeting, and who identified herself only as "Esther", was doing a story on the meeting. She apparently talked to some who had been present at the meeting and attempted to pull the story together. ...
y brame dat ah esther alone? ...

shud oso brame dose who were @ ze meeting n tok 2 her as wel ...

If he had any REAL love for the arts, he wouldn't be wasting his time and his talent in Sinkiepoor. :rolleyes:

You obviously have no understanding about real art. stick to porn where you naturally excel in.

If he had any REAL love for the arts, he wouldn't be wasting his time and his talent in Sinkiepoor. :rolleyes:

Of late I've noticed that you have been very crass and insensitive in your replies. Are you trying very hard to be controversial to incite more post or just simply lacking in communication skills.

If you do not have something constructive to add, why even waste your time typing? Why insist on reducing every other post to a "Sinkie" mentality? If you abhor such traits so much, why even be on this forum?

I see this forum as an avenue for people to share information, and their point of view and typically, these are posted by people who loves Singapore, but not the current government. Of course there are detractors/trouble-makers, but overall, an interesting exchange. So, I hope you will give more respect to the forummers here.

Of late I've noticed that you have been very crass and insensitive in your replies. Are you trying very hard to be controversial to incite more post or just simply lacking in communication skills.

If you do not have something constructive to add, why even waste your time typing? Why insist on reducing every other post to a "Sinkie" mentality? If you abhor such traits so much, why even be on this forum?

I see this forum as an avenue for people to share information, and their point of view and typically, these are posted by people who loves Singapore, but not the current government. Of course there are detractors/trouble-makers, but overall, an interesting exchange. So, I hope you will give more respect to the forummers here.

Which planet did you come from? Sam Leong has been pretty consistent from day one. You see this forum the way you want it to be and the rest of us, Sam Leong inclusive, can see it through his own eyes. ;)

Is it so much to ask for more respect in his post? Do pray tell how his eyes see. Point of view is very different from being crass.

Well, then just take it that you see his posts as crass. You know, there will be others who see them as class, and applauding him.

You don't quite get the spirit of this forum, do you? If this forum starts sprouting respect and shit like this and becoming like ST Discussion Board, I am outta here before you can say "point of view is very different from being crass".

Of late I've noticed that you have been very crass and insensitive in your replies.

"Of late"???? Since when have I ever been sensitive and caring? I've been consistent in my tone and attitude for the last 10 years and I'm not about to change anything soon.

It's good that u are channeling your anger from being marginalized as a short pale Asian in white man's land. However, you got to learn to let go. Perhaps go to see a shrink?

The problem with you is that you make far too many assumptions. :rolleyes:

He is not short and pale, he's tall and dark.
At least, that's what he was when he was spotted in a JB health centre about 10 years ago. :)

He is not short and pale, he's tall and dark.
At least, that's what he was when he was spotted in a JB health centre about 10 years ago. :)

I've been called many names in my lifetime but "short and pale" is a first for me.:p

The naivety of some of the members here is simply mind boggling.

I've been called many names in my lifetime but "short and pale" is a first for me.:p

The naivety of some of the members here is simply mind boggling.
Thank you for your confirmation that you were in that JB health centre.
I've been trying to get it for 10 years, hahaha. :)

ha...lol...:D:D:D

Of all places, JB Health Ctr...sibeh ho chio!:D:D:D

Thank you for your confirmation that you were in that JB health centre.
I've been trying to get it for 10 years, hahaha. :)

Alot of these useless journalists wear a fake christian name infront of their real chinese name
like Esther, Andre, John, Dick, Hairy

You can never find out their real name