• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Ren Ci TV Charity Show

elephanto

What a long programme - from 7.30pm to 11pm !

Still, these are the parts I enjoyed plus some other observation:-

(1) The Xinyao portion my favourite - coming from my era, thoroughly refreshing to hear all my fav tunes again.

Eric Moo reportedly refused to dye his hair at his age, so all that white hair is authentic ! Long time no see Dawn Gan - Yan Liming, still same cheeky look but pui-pui aunty now. Timeless hits & catchy tunes.

(2) Guo Liang's impersonation of Jacky Cheung is surprisingly good. Kudos for mimicking the Heavenly king's dance moves. Guo is really innately talented, his hosting talent simply crowded out his other promises.

Aunty Lucy - as usual hilarious - but repeating the 'SO embarassing' trademark remarks too much. Indian Dance & rap very creative for DJ Chew.

Patricia Mok - usual sultry-wannabe, Am I wrong to notice her cleavage was comically drawn on her milky white chest for laffs, or for real ?!

All very commendable acts of effort & industry.

(3) To my ear, right from Irene Wan, 90% of all singers lip-synch.... what do you all think ? Irene Wan, damn bloody frigid bitch with attitude, still I like :)

(4) For once, MDA sensible in allowing some cantonese to be used on live TV. 1 song & Cantonese remarks from Nancy Sit allowed.

Kudos to Adrain Pang, he really memorised some good classical Mandarin - in fact for his exit line in the skit, I heard him speak in hokkien : Limpei mai cho leow (I quit) ! Walau !

Whenever TV camera panned on PM Lee, I felt he looked bored - must have mastered dozing off with eyes open. Little wonder he looked very fresh at the end.

Mrs Lee aka Ho Jinx, every bro must be thinking - raise what funds, 1% of her investment losses more than enuf for every charity !

With PM Lee gracing the show as an important gesture of support to the Ren Ci cause & by logical extension the Chinese Taoist/Buddhist community, the target of $4 mil from phone-in should be accomplished, though not with ease.

Towards last 10 min, I noticed still $200,000 from target. Surely, PM's backroom must have made some calls.

Next thing we know, the gross amount raised is 7 million plus ! Huh ? Corporate Top-Ups I supposed.

One other little thing.

The hosts publicly announced the higher than usual single donations. Amongst the donating organizations are 2 Taoist temples & KongMengSan Bright Hill temple (50K) I think. Not surprising.

I was thinking if I were NCC or CHC, to have made some donation to Ren Ci over live TV would be good PR as well as doing their humanitarian bit for a local charity - with positive inter-religious harmony credit & displaying faith-blind goodness to fellow men.

It was wishful thinking on my part of course.

the first thought that came to my mind is, our PM so free...can sit there from 7.30 to 11 pm.

his national day rally oso not so long ... we pay him so much and he just sit there to watch show? I am sure he has many things to do right?

Our economy is not exactly booming u noe.

Dun be like that lah. Office hours are 8.30 to 6 pm, Monday to Friday.

Not true leh...he make us sit through National Day rally - on a Sunday de. So his OT pay must be alot huh? So poor thing....

I like the part when the HK lui guy sang,especially this part:
難分真與假 人面多險詐
命里有时终须有,命里无时末强求

歌名:浪子心聲
附註:電影<半斤八兩>插曲
語言:粵語, 曲長:3m3s
作曲:許冠傑, 編曲:鮑比達
監製:, 填詞:

難分真與假 人面多險詐 幾許有共享榮華 簷畔水滴不分差
無知井裡蛙 徙望添聲價 空得意目光如麻 誰料金屋變敗瓦

命裡有時終須有 命裡無時莫強求

雷聲風雨打 何用多驚怕 心公正白壁無瑕 行善積德最樂也
人比海裡沙 毋用多牽掛 君可見漫天落霞 名利息間似霧化

<object width="320" height="265"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/K_hUoGJjtjw&hl=en_US&fs=1&color1=0x006699&color2=0x54abd6"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/K_hUoGJjtjw&hl=en_US&fs=1&color1=0x006699&color2=0x54abd6" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="320" height="265"></embed></object>

What a long programme - from 7.30pm to 11pm !

Still, these are the parts I enjoyed plus some other observation:-

(1) The Xinyao portion my favourite - coming from my era, thoroughly refreshing to hear all my fav tunes again.

Eric Moo reportedly refused to dye his hair at his age, so all that white hair is authentic ! Long time no see Dawn Gan - Yan Liming, still same cheeky look but pui-pui aunty now. Timeless hits & catchy tunes.

(2) Guo Liang's impersonation of Jacky Cheung is surprisingly good. Kudos for mimicking the Heavenly king's dance moves. Guo is really innately talented, his hosting talent simply crowded out his other promises.

Aunty Lucy - as usual hilarious - but repeating the 'SO embarassing' trademark remarks too much. Indian Dance & rap very creative for DJ Chew.

Patricia Mok - usual sultry-wannabe, Am I wrong to notice her cleavage was comically drawn on her milky white chest for laffs, or for real ?!

All very commendable acts of effort & industry.

(3) To my ear, right from Irene Wan, 90% of all singers lip-synch.... what do you all think ? Irene Wan, damn bloody frigid bitch with attitude, still I like :)

(4) For once, MDA sensible in allowing some cantonese to be used on live TV. 1 song & Cantonese remarks from Nancy Sit allowed.

Kudos to Adrain Pang, he really memorised some good classical Mandarin - in fact for his exit line in the skit, I heard him speak in hokkien : Limpei mai cho leow (I quit) ! Walau !

Whenever TV camera panned on PM Lee, I felt he looked bored - must have mastered dozing off with eyes open. Little wonder he looked very fresh at the end.

Mrs Lee aka Ho Jinx, every bro must be thinking - raise what funds, 1% of her investment losses more than enuf for every charity !

With PM Lee gracing the show as an important gesture of support to the Ren Ci cause & by logical extension the Chinese Taoist/Buddhist community, the target of $4 mil from phone-in should be accomplished, though not with ease.

Towards last 10 min, I noticed still $200,000 from target. Surely, PM's backroom must have made some calls.

Next thing we know, the gross amount raised is 7 million plus ! Huh ? Corporate Top-Ups I supposed.

One other little thing.

The hosts publicly announced the higher than usual single donations. Amongst the donating organizations are 2 Taoist temples & KongMengSan Bright Hill temple (50K) I think. Not surprising.

I was thinking if I were NCC or CHC, to have made some donation to Ren Ci over live TV would be good PR as well as doing their humanitarian bit for a local charity - with positive inter-religious harmony credit & displaying faith-blind goodness to fellow men.

It was wishful thinking on my part of course.