• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Reason Why Millions of Singaporeans Fondly Remember Dr Goh KS BUT Ignores Ong TC!

clinton666

I was at Parliament house to pay my last respects to Dr Goh together with millions of other Singaporeans and was really touched by the wide public outpouring of love, gratitude and respect for Dr Goh Keng Swee.

Dr Goh was the able assistant to our great founding father SM Lee Kuan Yew. Dr Goh was like the butler Alfred to LKY's Batman. Dr Goh has contributed greatly to our nation building.

On the otherhand, I can vividly remember Ong TC's death was greeted by general indifference among the populace. Mr Ong infuriated many Singaporeans with his obsession to money. All he did during his unpopular term as President was to ask "Show me the money!" even though he knew that it would take 50 man years to get the exact amount of reserves Singapore has. He did little else besides asking irrelevant question. History will erase this unpopular man from the annals of Singapore.

Ordinary Singaporeans share personal memories of the late Dr Goh
By Hoe Yeen Nie | Posted: 21 May 2010 2301 hrs

SINGAPORE : Over 7,000 people streamed into Parliament House on Friday to pay their last respects to former Deputy Prime Minister Dr Goh Keng Swee.

It is the second day his body is lying in state.

Among the 7,198 visitors were those whose lives had been touched by him.

In the main hall of Parliament House, five ceremonial guards stand vigil around the casket of Dr Goh.

For commander Foong Kok Pun, it is a role that brings on strong emotions. LTC Foong, who is the Commanding Officer of the Underwater Demolition Group at the Singapore Navy, said: "It is a true honour, to be able to do this small little thing for him.

"When the public comes and pays their last respects, and you can see some of the public sincerely, really coming all the way to pay their sincere respects, that touches me. It makes me very proud to be a Singaporean."

LTC Foong added: "In all my 19 years in the armed forces, there are some touchpoints where you come across him. Not in a personal way, but some of the speeches he made when he was defence minister, offer us a lot of leadership lessons."

One speech in particular left a strong impression. Called "Real Solutions Versus Bogus Solutions", the 1975 speech called on officers to "challenge assumptions, so that as a leader, you carry out tasks meaningfully, and not for the sake of doing". These words still hold true for LTC Foong today, who said that his role as a vigil guard allows him to reflect on them, especially "when I can actually see him".

Outside, under the hot sun, the queue snakes across the front lawn.

One person said: "I have been waiting here for more than an hour, but I think it is okay, so long as I get to pay my last respects to him."

Another commented: "I feel it is my duty to pay respects to him. He has done a lot for Singapore."

Another person who had waited in line was Associate Professor Chris Hudson from RMIT University in Melbourne. She is in Singapore for five days for the Singapore Arts Festival, and said: "Because I study Singapore, I understand the importance of Dr Goh role in the economic development of Singapore.

"I have read his work, and I have always been impressed, so I decided to pay my respects".

To many of those who waited to get in, Dr Goh was just a name, a larger-than-life figure who they had only read about in books, or heard of in the news.

But for some ordinary Singaporeans who had previously met the man, it would be an encounter they would not easily forget.

One of them is 80-year-old Jolly Tan, who received help from Dr Goh in securing a three-room flat in Marine Parade decades ago. During that time, she and her family were living in a rented two-room unit in Tanglin Halt.

She said: "At the time, getting a flat was difficult. It has been nearly 40 years. I am 80, with many grandchildren. I have not seen him in over 30 years. This is the second time I am seeing him, and he has gone to Heaven."

Among those who paid their last respects were members of the Darussalam Mosque. One of them said: "What we believe in the mosque is that he has left a lasting impression through the generations, and we are here to respect that, and to remember him."

For 24-year-old Jansen Tan, a student at the LASALLE College of the Arts, it was Dr Goh's policies that laid the foundation that allowed him to pursue an arts education.

He said: "Just like what he said, he is not a dreamer. But he gave us the space and the chance to dream."

Earlier in the day, about 400 Home Team officers also bade farewell with a sharp salute.

They were led by Deputy Prime Minister and Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng, Law and Second Home Affairs Minister K Shanmugam, and Senior Minister of State Ho Peng Kee.

Members of the public have until 6pm on Saturday to pay their last respects.

The body of Dr Goh will be moved to the Singapore Conference Hall for the state funeral on Sunday afternoon.

The funeral will begin at 2.30pm. - CNA/ms

Re: The Reason Why Millions of Singaporeans Fondly Remember Dr Goh KS BUT Ignores Ong

*BIG YAWN*~~~~~ huh? :confused::confused::confused::p:p:p:D:D:D

Re: The Reason Why Millions of Singaporeans Fondly Remember Dr Goh KS BUT Ignores Ong

*BIG YAWN*~~~~~ huh? :confused::confused::confused::p:p:p:D:D:D

You ungrateful gay dog
Your should be stripped of your Singaporean citizenship for your treacherous conduct!

SMLJ???:confused:

You moronic dumbass :oIo:

Time to study for your retake of your PSLE exams.
Didn't your school teach you to form simple sentences:mad:

You moronic dumbass :oIo:

Time to study for your retake of your PSLE exams.
Didn't your school teach you to form simple sentences:mad:

i stulee oni primbaree 3....i happi with paying $70k tax a year with no ellucation..you leh?? you got work? Or you life off pussies??:D:D

All he did during his unpopular term as DPM was to ask "Show me the money!" even though he knew that it would take 50 man years to get the exact amount of reserves Singapore has.

Not during his term as DPM but as EP.

I was at Parliament house to pay my last respects to Dr Goh together with millions of other Singaporeans

SINGAPORE : Over 7,000 people streamed into Parliament House on Friday to pay their last respects to former Deputy Prime Minister Dr Goh Keng Swee.

Mr Kow was among 7,198 people who turned up in droves at Parliament House to say their final farewell to Dr Goh, who died on May 14 at age 91.

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/LSJkMBMEwPk&hl=en_US&fs=1&rel=0"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src=http://anonymouse.org/cgi-bin/anon-www.cgi/http://www.singsupplies.com/cgi-bin/anon-www.cgi/http://www.singsupplies.com/"http://www.youtube.com/v/LSJkMBMEwPk&hl=en_US&fs=1&rel=0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

LOL, that used to be my line, hahaha :D:D
Apparently the spastic moronic gaydog dun understand what is SMLJ, so i changed :D:D:D

Some more ask worker go on strike. Make Singapore look so malu especially to America. This Ong Lei Long just go away lah!!!

I hope Singapore's history books will not have any mention of this 'Money Only' Ong.

tell your mother farking lky and his bastard caner son not to collect milliion $$ dollar salary. :D:D:D

You retarded gay dog
MM Lee and PM Lee would have earned tens of millions of dollars a year had they been in the private sector instead of the pittance they are getting now.

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/LSJkMBMEwPk&hl=en_US&fs=1&rel=0"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src=http://anonymouse.org/cgi-bin/anon-www.cgi/http://www.singsupplies.com/cgi-bin/anon-www.cgi/http://www.singsupplies.com/"http://www.youtube.com/v/LSJkMBMEwPk&hl=en_US&fs=1&rel=0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

You spastic maggot

Millions of people were tuning in to TV cause the queue was so long. If they had join in the queue , the queue would have snaked to JB.

LOL, that used to be my line, hahaha :D:D
Apparently the spastic moronic gaydog dun understand what is SMLJ, so i changed :D:D:D

Acherleea, t cherlee, it would be interesting to see wat this clitoris666 looks likeand why he has such a passion in what he does...ie, testicle support

You ungrateful gay dog
Your should be stripped of your Singaporean citizenship for your treacherous conduct!

Dear Honorable clinton666, why do you chastise one of your same kind? Alamaking is definitely one in your sacred fold... and "holy order"... the defender of LKY's crown... if there is in fighting between both of you then aren't both of you worst that savages that kill and feed on their own kind?

Please spare those within your flock, your "holy venerable" high priest of LKY.

i stulee oni primbaree 3....i happi with paying $70k tax a year with no ellucation..you leh?? you got work? Or you life off pussies??:D:D

You retarded gay dog :oIo:

How did you manage to suck 70k cocks in a year serving the gay community. Bob Sim must be one of your most regular customer :mad:

Dear Honorable clinton666, why do you chastise one of your same kind? Alamaking is definitely one in your sacred fold... and "holy order"... the defender of LKY's crown... if there is in fighting between both of you then aren't both of you worst that savages that kill and feed on their own kind?

Please spare those within your flock, your "holy venerable" high priest of LKY.

You retarded maggot :oIo:

I would personally re-arrange your ugly face if I see you on the street :mad:

You retarded gay dog
MM Lee and PM Lee would have earned tens of millions of dollars a year had they been in the private sector instead of the pittance they are getting now.

Oh yes. You expect me to believe that? Then ask them to reduce their ridiculous salaries. And not to mention that they are there because there are always lackeys like you to lick their arses everyday. :D

I was at Parliament house to pay my last respects to Dr Goh together with millions of other Singaporeans and was really touched by the wide public outpouring of love, gratitude and respect for Dr Goh Keng Swee.

- CNA/ms

Cunton666Dog :oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

does your saliva drip when licking?