• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The legend of Nyonya People

Q

Qinhuang

Mediacock cannot forget the little Nyonya.
So it's a solace for the PAP dogs to offer during hard times .
Watch little Nyonya, your pain will go away.

Did the viewers ever ask the mediacock dogs how the Nyonya (baba) tribe is born ???
Talk about all their malay kueks and cakes ? The half Malay and half chinese attire. The chinese that speaks bahasa ? Sound like chinese indonesian that are oppressed for decades ??

it is a sad story that the viewers are too stupid to watch this show becos it is just a love story in different attires and malay food.

Nyonya food is simply Malay food that is modified.

Admiral Cheng ho set sail to SEA might wonder where were many of his soldiers went MIA becos of hardship on ships for many years.
They were saved by the Malays and then were being dressed up like the malay tribe, learn to speak malay language, made malay kueks.

Admiral cheng ho must be wandering why chinese in Malay attire, speak Malay, cook Malay food. They called themselves Nyonya to escape prosecution.

Years passed, when Ming dynasty was dethroned, and Admiral cheng Ho was no more a marine CEO, the Nyonya people stayed away from the Malays after they sensed they were safe to be their own.

not trusting anyone, they still stick to their tribe called Nyonya, speak Bahasa at home, and behave like nyonya.

Ever Wonder why the old monkey could speak well his malay ?

All in all, Nyonya people are illusive people, may be called traitors.

Anyway this is a legend, but if you think about it, how the chinese could be half half chinese in their culture, the legend may hold true.

Mediacock dogs should do research how Nyonya people came about and stop selling their cakes and kueks. The best place is at Malacca to know more about this half chinese half malay culture.
66% is already stupid, please dont make them more stupid.

But i doubt the mediacock people have the intelligence to discuss about it.

When we eventually know the truth, the illusive tribe called Nyonya should thank the Malays for saving their heads.

Last edited by a moderator:

Zeitgeist

Mediacock dogs should do research how Nyonya people came about and stop selling their cakes and kueks. The best place is at Malacca to know more about this half chinese half malay culture.

The won't care. It's all about generating advertisment dollars and to create an illusion of Lion City uniqueness at the behest of the junta!!!!!

char_jig_kar

i remember a documentary on baba in Malacca by phoenix tv. so where are the baba, nyonya in malacca? TO THE WESTERN COUNTRIES! IMMIGRATE TO THE WESTERN COUNTRIES. THE END. so much for baba culture.

speak gang tang, eat gang tang. baba, nyonya tribe? now its just a tribe who goes ga ga over western culture, western countries.

WHen u live in another country and settle there over a period of time ur bound to take up some of their customs like clothing or food etc

Am glad they didn't inter breed with the mats though. Although this gaga over ang moh thing is crap, yet not all babas are like this. They still rather remain with chinese.

char_jig_kar

WHen u live in another country and settle there over a period of time ur bound to take up some of their customs like clothing or food etc

Am glad they didn't inter breed with the mats though. Although this gaga over ang moh thing is crap, yet not all babas are like this. They still rather remain with chinese.

come on. LKY and the lot, they are good example isn't it? they go ga ga over western culture and language to the extend come up with language policy which put so much weight and emphasis on english language.

our country had been gang-tang-nized (westernized) dont u realize that???

char_jig_kar

this baba LKY had so much influence on this country, this country had also been babanized. turn into a country people of which most of them go ga ga over western language, and culture.

sohbuckkong

Babas are not only confined to Chinese, there are also Indian babas.

Babas are just like Singporean Chinese. In the beginnings, thses Babas are pure Chinese but living in Malay communities. After living for some times, they adopt these local malay cultures, food, habits etc which cannot be avoided. After some time, inter marriage cannot be avoided and thats how the Babas evolved.

In those olden days, Babas are very well off people and usually their children are very well educated and educated in English. They are very well dressed and their homes look modern. Because of this, this sparks off jealousy and envy among those chinese educated and those not well off chinese. This explains why there are so many non-babas-chinese who simply hated babas because they are babas, similar to our current situations whereby chinese-educated-chinese who simply hate english-educated-chinese.

To all Singaporean-born-english-educated-chinese, you are just a baba in the eyes of these chinese-educated-chinese. So to all Singaporean chinese that scorn or dislike babas, let me tell you that you are also a baba. I spoke to a China born lady and I told her that I am a chinese too and she told me that "No!, you am not a chinese but a Singaporean".

Mediacock cannot forget the little Nyonya.
So it's a solace for the PAP dogs to offer during hard times .
Watch little Nyonya, your pain will go away.

Did the viewers ever ask the mediacock dogs how the Nyonya (baba) tribe is born ???
Talk about all their malay kueks and cakes ? The half Malay and half chinese attire. The chinese that speaks bahasa ? Sound like chinese indonesian that are oppressed for decades ??

it is a sad story that the viewers are too stupid to watch this show becos it is just a love story in different attires and malay food.

Nyonya food is simply Malay food that is modified.

Admiral Cheng ho set sail to SEA might wonder where were many of his soldiers went MIA becos of hardship on ships for many years.
They were saved by the Malays and then were being dressed up like the malay tribe, learn to speak malay language, made malay kueks.

Admiral cheng ho must be wandering why chinese in Malay attire, speak Malay, cook Malay food. They called themselves Nyonya to escape prosecution.

Years passed, when Ming dynasty was dethroned, and Admiral cheng Ho was no more a marine CEO, the Nyonya people stayed away from the Malays after they sensed they were safe to be their own.

not trusting anyone, they still stick to their tribe called Nyonya, speak Bahasa at home, and behave like nyonya.

Ever Wonder why the old monkey could speak well his malay ?

All in all, Nyonya people are illusive people, may be called traitors.

Anyway this is a legend, but if you think about it, how the chinese could be half half chinese in their culture, the legend may hold true.

But i doubt the mediacock people have the intelligence to discuss about it.

When we eventually know the truth, the illusive tribe called Nyonya should thank the Malays for saving their heads.

char_jig_kar

singapore had been babanized. period.

chinese educated were passe. not much of them left.

the whole of singapore is now english educated.

char_jig_kar

baba people are proud of not able to speak mandarin well, or not at all. wear it like some kind of fucking badge of honor. shows their mentality towards chinese language and culture.

come on. LKY and the lot, they are good example isn't it? they go ga ga over western culture and language to the extend come up with language policy which put so much weight and emphasis on english language.

our country had been gang-tang-nized (westernized) dont u realize that???

LKY is just 1 of the babas not every baba anyway he screwed over his own ppl. Cos at that time the babas were high ranking and he brought in the mother tongue thing that forced many sinkees to want to migrate, remember?

char_jig_kar

LKY is just 1 of the babas not every baba anyway he screwed over his own ppl. Cos at that time the babas were high ranking and he brought in the mother tongue thing that forced many sinkees to want to migrate, remember?

come on lah. singapore is getting more and more babanized, westernized. wat do u need? hard data to show u that?? just look around, listen to the young people, most of them use singlish/ english. and the root cause of it is the lumer one baba in spore LKY, his policy.

baba people are proud of not able to speak mandarin well, or not at all. wear it like some kind of fucking badge of honor. shows their mentality towards chinese language and culture.

Not only baba what. even chinese ed sinkees also try and speak ang moh in front of china ppl.

It's quite fugged up, on one hand china ppl might be chinese, but on the other some of them are not too frenly and seek to take advantage of sinkees too. Yet i guess they are a neccessary evil. To counter those kelings or mats or whatever.

As for babas, well this is sinkeeland near matland and these babas have been living like this for close to a few hundred years.

If it's any comfort to you baba seems to be a dying breed. Their culture is dying.

Many modern day babas dun even dress like that anymore. Btw do u have any baba ancestry? I do.

come on lah. singapore is getting more and more babanized, westernized. wat do u need? hard data to show u that?? just look around, listen to the young people, most of them use singlish/ english. and the root cause of it is the lumer one baba in spore LKY, his policy.

Well there's many china students here so it counters with the english or engrish educated students.

Personally for me speaking english is cool, cos hey u speak english u can live almost anywhere. U can go to canada, US, carribean,OZ, a number of places in europe, UK etc no problem.

As for mandarin well it's more limited.

char_jig_kar

u said it. baba is a dying breed.

why? 'cause baba culture had mutated (in spore) into a westernized, a culture ga ga over western language and culture. thats why its a dying breed. no culture, no identity. just one gang-tangnized (westernized) asian people thats all.

and that would be the epitome of singapore culture as well. 'cause we have been babanized, and thus gang-tangnized (westernized). our asian cultural identity had been flush down the toilet, because of that dictator, baba LKY, his belief, his outlook, his attitude towards language and culture.

Big Sexy

zheng he himself is a muslim la, maybe he was the one who taught his sailors to make the malau kueks..:biggrin:

but hey u r spot on.. it is just another low class production of mediacock.

u said it. baba is a dying breed.

why? 'cause baba culture had mutated (in spore) into a westernized, a culture ga ga over western language and culture. thats why its a dying breed. no culture, no identity. just one gang-tangnized (westernized) asian people thats all.

and that would be the epitome of singapore culture as well. 'cause we have been babanized, and thus gang-tangnized (westernized). our asian cultural identity had been flush down the toilet, because of that dictator, baba LKY.

If u think about it Baba was a mixed culture in the first place. Imagine how some chinese must have felt, hey how come these chinese dun like chinese culture want to take up malay culture.

Yet i guess ur POV is hey why take up english since their chinese.

Well many of the younger babas cannot speak malay too, since they are babas they should at least be able to speak malay. i guess they replaced the malay with english then. In the first place babas already stopped following their chinese culture, now they are forgetting their own baba "roots" but are not taking up their real original heritage,chinese, but instead taking up english, that's what ur pissed off about right?

Well it's not a big loss taking up english instead of chinese, after all how many chinese ppl are there?

I'm more concerned about the baba culture being lost.

char_jig_kar

depends on what one's pov.

if singapore think its good to be culturally colonized by the western world, take up english name, read shakespare, read plato, read socrate, read english poetry, etc. then, nothing to debate about.

if singapore think its bad to be culturally colonized by the western world, then, what is Singapore gotta do about it?

Big Sexy

blame it on that baba ming emperor and ba ba zheng ho

if they had taught their subjects to make malau kuek.. then maybe the baba culture will be pass down liao...

btw what is so good about the baba culture???:confused:

chinese dun like chinese culture want to take up malay culture. I'm more concerned about the baba culture being lost.
t.

blame it on that baba ming emperor and ba ba zheng ho

if they had taught their subjects to make malau kuek.. then maybe the baba culture will be pass down liao...

btw what is so good about the baba culture???:confused:

There's nothing really special about it, just that it's unique. It's just like how those macau ppl whom i heard speak a type of canto-portugese patois. I forgot the name of their language. It's also a dying language and dying culture. I think only the older generation can speak it.

Stuff like that should be retained since there are quite a number of sinkees who might not be baba but have baba ancestry or heritage.