• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The last speaker: Dr Wong Wee Nam, the National Solidarity Party

fivestars

The last speaker was Dr Wong Wee Nam who stood for elections under the National Solidarity Party in 1997. He said that Singapore's politics comprised of "one loud voice and many squeaks." He echoed the view that fragmented groups cannot give rise to unity and urged opposition parties and NGOs to form a united front.

"If you come together, you do Singapore a great service. But if you keep separate, then you will not be of service to anyone," said Dr Wong.

fivestars

Key parties to skip forum
WP, SDA parties among those not attending event organised by SDP
By Kor Kian Beng

THE need for unity and identifying the future direction of the opposition in Singapore are among issues to be discussed at a forum on Saturday - but several key parties are giving the event a miss.
The meeting, organised by the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) and titled Opposition - Where To?, will also address questions such as what parties are doing to build confidence and support among the electorate, and whether greater cooperation is necessary to attract votes.

A posting on the SDP's website listed five panellists: Reform Party (RP) chairman Ng Teck Siong, Singapore People's Party (SPP) chairman Sin Kek Tong, National Solidarity Party (NSP) president Sebastian Teo, SDP chairman Gandhi Ambalam and Singapore Democratic Alliance (SDA) secretary-general Desmond Lim.

Potong Pasir MP Chiam See Tong, who is SPP's secretary-general and SDA's chairman, and Hougang MP Low Thia Khiang, the Workers' Party (WP) secretary-general, are not involved.

The duo are the only elected opposition MPs in Parliament along with WP chairman Sylvia Lim, who is a Non-Constituency MP.

The absence of Mr Chiam and Mr Low prompted some queries on the SDP website, with one person saying: 'Cheers to SDP for organising such (a) forum. The two opposition MPs should join in. Where are they?'

When contacted, WP organising secretary Yaw Shin Leong said the party received the SDP's invitation last week but did not respond to it. He declined to comment when asked for the reason.

Mr Chiam's SPP is not being formally represented at the forum.

Mr Sin, its chairman, is attending in his private capacity, but said he did not object to the SDP billing him as SPP chairman: 'I said I have no objections because you can't hide these things.'

The SDA - a grouping of the SPP, Singapore Malay National Organisation and Singapore Justice Party - will also not be represented.

This despite Mr Lim being listed as a panellist.

He told The Straits Times that he was not going as he had to attend a Potong Pasir grassroots event on that day.

The SDA is not sending a replacement as it requires a meeting and the consensus of its executive council, he added.

'There are other opportunities to work together in the future,' said Mr Lim, who is also SPP's assistant secretary-general.

Echoing this sentiment was the NSP's Mr Teo, a business consultant.

He, too, may skip the forum due to work commitments in China this weekend. He said the party would have to discuss whether to send a replacement.

'Things cannot be perfect all the time. We can always find other opportunities,' he said, but added that the forum was a good occasion for opposition parties to foster greater understanding.

Mr Ng of the RP, set up by late opposition politician J.B. Jeyaretnam, confirmed that he would be attending the forum.

The event at the Copthorne Orchid Hotel will also discuss the role of civil society and the blogging community, whose representatives include former WP member Chia Ti Lik and former NTUC Income chief executive officer Tan Kin Lian.

The SDP's Mr Gandhi declined to comment when contacted for more details on the event and its participants.

thanks for ur prompt info and clarifications.

this should be the standard - a neutral position without prejudices.

if i were to join an opp political party, yours would definitely be the first i consider.:smile:

actually what so great about this silly forum anyway. dun go means dun go lor...must give them reasons one meh? they think they are rulers or what?:confused:

The last speaker was Dr Wong Wee Nam who stood for elections under the National Solidarity Party in 1997. He said that Singapore's politics comprised of "one loud voice and many squeaks." He echoed the view that fragmented groups cannot give rise to unity and urged opposition parties and NGOs to form a united front.

"If you come together, you do Singapore a great service. But if you keep separate, then you will not be of service to anyone," said Dr Wong.

hahaha...u just got a special 33points from me. keep up the unadulterated update. and thanks for the info!:wink:

guavatree

old faggot BobDog joints GAY club

if i were to join an opp political party, yours would definitely be the first i consider.:smile:

unemployed parasite old fart faggot fake monk PAP dog Bob Sim Kheng Hwee,

temple thief, swindler, fraudster, cheat, con-artist, liar, hypocrite, deceiver, all rolled into one!

political party ki lan lah!

you join GAY club say so lah!

Sideswipe

Key parties to skip forum

THE need for unity and identifying the future direction of the opposition in Singapore are among issues to be discussed at a forum on Saturday - but several key parties are giving the event a miss.
The meeting, organised by the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) and titled Opposition - Where To?, will also address questions such as what parties are doing to build confidence and support among the electorate, and whether greater cooperation is necessary to attract votes.

Firstly, the opposition parties have a combined 33% of nationwide votes but only 2 seats in Parliament. They should demand for some sort of proportional representation system in elections.

Strangely, no opposition politicians are interested in PR. I started a thread on why singapore must have PR system a while back and the guys here are not interested too in mixed-member proportional voting system in SG.

fivestars

Thank you to join Opp Party.

Democracy mean:-

Opposition Front: Mr Chiam and Mr Low speak, we question but we never oppose.

Singapore Alliance: Mr Chiam talk, we question but never appose.

NSP: Mr Sabestian brief, we question but never oppose.

What I repect is Opposition Front, Singapore Alliance and National Solidary Party. They are our party leaders. Personal politiacal view and own personal circle political clan shall not overide them unless we are the leader of OF, SA and NSP.

MR Sin Kek Tong is SPP Chaiman, he had the right to talk.

Dr Wong Wee Nam had right to speak because the Chairman of NSP want him to go on behalf of him.

http://singaporeparty-myhome.blogspot.com

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/sg_ppa

fivestars

Firstly, the opposition parties have a combined 33% of nationwide votes but only 2 seats in Parliament. They should demand for some sort of proportional representation system in elections.

Strangely, no opposition politicians are interested in PR. I started a thread on why singapore must have PR system a while back and the guys here are not interested too in mixed-member proportional voting system in SG.

Datuk Sri Abdullah said win mean win, lose mean lose and enough mean enough.

LKY only can accept 1 to 3 NCMP and 9 NMP. Lose mean lose, LKY does not want opposition in parlaiment (One Party System).

Unless we had a new Prime Minister who can accept opposition who able to met 33% votes will be NCMP (Democracy). It is more fair and the PM will be the most respected person in our Singapore history.

Sideswipe

Datuk Sri Abdullah said win mean win, lose mean lose and enough mean enough.

LKY only can accept 1 to 3 NCMP and 9 NMP. Lose mean lose, LKY does not want opposition in parlaiment (One Party System).

Unless we had a new Prime Minister who can accept opposition who able to met 33% votes will be NCMP (Democracy). It is more fair and the PM will be the most respected person in our Singapore history.

It's not a matter of wheater LKY, PAP want or not. proportional voting system is fair to everyone and apply to basic Democracy principles where every vote counts.

The opposition must demand for PR before GE start. There are 2 opposition MPs in Parliament. They can talk about the issue in parliament, PAP will rebuke and distort the benefits of PR. I believe they can even submit a PR bill. PAP will vote it down but it's the efforts that count. The peasants will be the judges at the next GE after learning that they have been denied a more democratic PR vote for so long.

fivestars

proportional representation — additional member systems, require a party list to achieve an election threshold — a certain minimum 30% of votes to receive a NCMP seats.

If the both Opposition front leaders do not want to help, we still can call public to sign the requests and submit to PM office.

If PM agree, the history will change.

This is positive thinking. No more negetive thinking about LKY, Mr Chiam and Mr Low????

Sideswipe

If the both Opposition front leaders do not want to help, we still can call public to sign the requests and submit to PM office.

If PM agree, the history will change.

absolutely, I like to hear what reasons our PM will give for rejecting PR. The logic of reasons is on PR side. The peasants have to know that we have been denied a more democratic and fairer way of election system all this years.

PAP will still win a landslide majority ( 75% of parliamentary seats ) using MMP system by 2006 results.
But the point is a more democratic election system that reflect the political landscape of the country.

I hope Dr Wong realizes that he will be doing Singapore a great service by standing for elections again.
The country needs people like him to step forward and keep the government accountable and transparent to the people.

Lestat

We have so many parties in Singapore? NSP, SPP, SDP, SDA, WP, RP, etc.

What the FUCK are they doing?

Only 3 voice so far? WP, SDA, SDP???

The rest? All fucking mutes?

fivestars

As far Mr Sin Kek Tong, Mr Yip Yew Weng and Mr Steve Chia are there, SDA party is one voice for SPP and NSP.

Mr Chiam, Mrs Chiam and Mr Demond Lim will put SPP little bit high than NSP and SDP.

Are you, one of the three lucky god "Fu Lu Su", supporter?

or

WP supporter who put WP little bit high than RP?