• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The incredible shrinking Yong Tau Foo!

enterprise2

Ever experience this?? U pick out your Yong Tao Foo pieces and u hand over the bowl for cooking. The lady starts cutting up the pieces and put them into the soup for cooking. After that she put the cooked pieces into the bowl. Sometimes I do a double-take ? Is that all?? I could have sworn I have more than this?? From a full bowl of uncooked pieces, I ended with half bowl of cooked Yong Tao Foo!!

some stalls I observed that they put back the item you picked for cooking, and exchanged for similar item but not so desirable in appearance :mad:

... Sometimes I do a double-take ? Is that all?? I could have sworn I have more than this?? From a full bowl of uncooked pieces, I ended with half bowl of cooked Yong Tao Foo!!
u can ask 4 n xtra plate n den u rearrange ze pieces back 2 c whether u haf been shotchanged ...

I usually kena the opposite....adding items I din choose to inflate the total price

Or sometimes the YTF auntie likes you, and secretly adds another piece of tofu or fishball for you at no extra charge. ;)

And on days when you don't patronize her stall, she looks sadly at you. :D

This is last time type of experience.

The shrinking case is more current.

They are like pap, last time increase price, now make smaller.

This is last time type of experience.

The shrinking case is more current.

They are like pap, last time increase price, now make smaller.

Maybe next time, we'll just pay 50 cents to smell the food. No need to eat.

Ever experience this?? U pick out your Yong Tao Foo pieces and u hand over the bowl for cooking. The lady starts cutting up the pieces and put them into the soup for cooking. After that she put the cooked pieces into the bowl. Sometimes I do a double-take ? Is that all?? I could have sworn I have more than this?? From a full bowl of uncooked pieces, I ended with half bowl of cooked Yong Tao Foo!!

lianbeng says: better look at her cutting n cooking ur yongtaufoo without batting an eyelid hor! :D urs may go to other people's bowl n vice versa hor! check n count ur pieces before paying hor!

You guys should try the basement Yong Tau Hu at Golden Mile Hawker Centre, I'm quite amazed at them memorizing all the items and the right owner for each bowl.

Its one of the best Yong Tau Hu I've eaten.

Maybe next time, we'll just pay 50 cents to smell the food. No need to eat.

My prediction is that next time, they'll charge you for breathing air.
They will also have a ministar for air.

...and if a scholar can invent a way to zone the air and put in an ERP gantry, wa lao eh!!!! BEEEEEEEEEEEE TANGGGGGGGGGG!!!!!

y use erp method? ... use coe method can liao ... :eek:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/Mjs9VWkdKD0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Like this better.

A new ministry called Ministry of Emission will be formed , you have to pay a COE, Certificate of Emission to let go of flatulence & breath in fresh air. Fees will be automatically deducted monthly by GIRO from your POSB Savings Account ( compulsory) & no opting out. It will be charged on a household basis, on size of flat, type of properties & property tax. Lower Income group will pay less, living in rental or 3 room flat, over 55, will be charged less, discount will be given to NTUC Union members & NSF and, and... To help you defray the cost during the first year, a $100 offset will be credited to your account.

By now, we should know all their "templates" by heart... ha ha ha ha :D

A new ministry called Ministry of Emission will be formed , you have to pay a COE, Certificate of Emission to let go of flatulence & breath in fresh air. Fees will be automatically deducted monthly by GIRO from your POSB Savings Account ( compulsory) & no opting out. It will be charged on a household basis, on size of flat, type of properties & property tax. Lower Income group will pay less, living in rental or 3 room flat, over 55, will be charged less, discount will be given to NTUC Union members & NSF and, and... To help you defray the cost during the first year, a $100 offset will be credited to your account.

The nice original People's Park Hakka Yong Tau Foo used to be good and filling. Nowadays, the noodles quantity is half of what it used to be and the materials have kieu chwee, plus higher prices.

By the way, there is such a thing as carbon tax too ... aspiring COE class scholars can think and work along these lines ... if good policy, sure huat, huat end of the year bonus liao......

The ministar will occasionally claim that the air is cheap and good and is affordable. But Singaporeans should only breathe in the amount of air they can afford and not stretch their lungs too thin.
One creepy guy will claim that he bought a certain amount of air for only $8.
Someone else will claim that he under-budgeted for the air he wanted to buy, but it was well worth it.
Another clown will claim that it makes him feel rich and good breathing in the air he bought.
Then there will be those who continue to fawn over them and do their bidding, hoping to get more fresh air to breathe later for themselves and their families.

The nice original People's Park Hakka Yong Tau Foo used to be good and filling. Nowadays, the noodles quantity is half of what it used to be and the materials have kieu chwee, plus higher prices.

By the way, there is such a thing as carbon tax too ... aspiring COE class scholars can think and work along these lines ... if good policy, sure huat, huat end of the year bonus liao......

Our authentic local food is disappearing, even the malay or even Indian...in the past, we would have food along certain dialect lines, certain Malay sub type lines, like Boyanese etc.. & Indians too, we have Northern Indian, Gujaratis, then Tamil, Malayam, Ceylonese etc... each giving themselves an unique flavour & many due to the number of years became uniquely local food..nowadays, we have FOODCOURT FOOD..

The PP Hakka Yong Tau Foo standard had gone down...even the unique Cantonese food there is gone, many old timers have closed shop & it is now mostly Republic Of China Food & the tourists now think this is SINGAPORE CHINATOWN FOOD...the pxp have effectively killed our heritage..

there is another method they use to scam you.

I always choose the standard 6 piece + Noodle = say $3.50. their sign will say extra piece + $0.50. I've had a few time after handing over the bowl, they charge me $4, ie 1 extra piece. There is no point in arguing as everthing is cut up which is exactly what they are hoping for......

Nowadays, after giving them the bowl, I will tell them immediately 6 pieces + Noodle.