• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

the fallacy

been thinking about a number of issues over the past few nights now, i think the populace need a jolt to wake them up.

1. the HDB pigeon holes belong to the HDB, not its occupants. folks are taking a 99 year lease only. folks are really just paying up-front rentals. the occupants, in fact, are allowed to transfer their leasehold to another goondu & allowed to make a small profit from the transaction.

2. the need of a conscripted civilian force to form up the SAF. a small & potent regular force is what we really need. not wussies who need their maids to carry their fieldpacks.

3. the CPF is a retirement fund. there is a pressing need to decouple the CPF monies & HDB up-front rentals. the idea of using one's retirement fund for an expenditure is simply ridiculous. until there's a delink of the CPF monies & the HDB up-front rentals, can the CPF be truly serving its function as a retirement fund.

with a proper smack across the back of the head, we can wake these kutus up & let them understand the true nature of the state of affairs.

yes, those in HDB flats are mere tenants. Even after you have paid up 100%, you are still a tenant. HDB is landlord and owner, forever.

Sinkies are lemmings!

The biggest fallacy of all is that they believe they are great and indispensable and many singkies actually agree.

Silent88scope

You will be 100% disappointed that even with a proper smack across the back of the head, 90% of the sillyporeans will still refuse to wake up.

I can tell you why as I have spoken to many people and I have came to this conclusion. First, 90% of the sillyporeans are only concern about the 3 following needs as their own top priority:
1) Food to put on the table
2) House to provide a roof over their head
3) $$$ to sustain their own materialistic living expenses

As a result, we sillyporeans became very selfish and only knows how to take care of our own interests to satisfy our own needs. we will not even bother to think of others critical issues that lies ahead of us that will affect our lives in the near future such as the following:
1) Human rights
2) Freedom of speech
3) Democracy
4) Jobs security for our own citizens for the next generation
5) Sense of belonging as citizens of our own country
6) Cost of living in the near future
7) Purchasing power
8) Retirement

The lists can goes on but sillyporeans just won't bother to consider all these. They will always question and doubt the capabilities of all those "alternative parties" what they can do if they get into the parliament. They don't see the big picture of having more alternative parties required to provide checks and balance for all the implemented polices. They only want to visualize the kind of life they want to live in short term but refuse to see much further than that for everyone else.

At the end of the day, sillyporeans will still choose to go back to the same old path of living the same old life from getting bad to worst. They are too afraid of sacrificing their own way of living life in the short term for the sake of everybody. We have became "soulless" and extremely self centered. We will continue to hack care others even when we see robbers trying to rob them. This is the kind of society that we have developed over so many years of nation building.

The biggest fallacy of all is that they believe they are great and indispensable and many singkies actually agree.

after reading Silent88scope's post, i can't help but start to believe that a large portion of Singaporeans are too wimpy and selfish, i'm not discounting the fact that some Singaporeans are plain stupid.

KuanTi01

That's the tragedy facing all the Sinkaporeans. They will continue to sink if they continue to believe that PAP knows best & are the godliest, holiest & most reliable!So sad!

after reading Silent88scope's post, i can't help but start to believe that a large portion of Singaporeans are too wimpy and selfish, i'm not discounting the fact that some Singaporeans are plain stupid.

You left out apathetic, brainwashed and porlumpar. :wink:

That's the tragedy facing all the Sinkaporeans. They will continue to sink if they continue to believe that PAP knows best & are the godliest, holiest & most reliable!So sad!

I've come to the conclusion that people and their descendents will have to live with their decisions.
In the meantime, they can continue to enjoy their kaya roti and kopi while they can.

I've come to the conclusion that people and their descendents will have to live with their decisions.

bro,

in the last GE, 1.2m voted when the eligible voters is well over 2m. looking at some 0.8m votes that went to the incumbent, the entire nation needs to listen to them?

bro,

in the last GE, 1.2m voted when the eligible voters is well over 2m. looking at some 0.8m votes that went to the incumbent, the entire nation needs to listen to them?

Their reply would be that
-- these are the rules of the game, what to do?
-- the opposition could have contested the seats to let all 2m voters vote, why didn't they?
-- the opposition would have sent their best candidates to the contested seats, it would be reasonable to assume that the pap would have got at least 50% of the uncontested seats, if not more, if they were contested.

At the end of the day, we need to take a good look at ourselves.
I'll also be looking at the uncles and aunties eating kaya roti and drinking kopi and gossiping. :wink:

i reckoned without strong financial backing, the oppositions will find it tough to make themselves heard.