• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Temasick Buay Tahan Liao! They Sell, U...?

Very easy to make $ from the Familee if u understand their fcuked up track record.

Singapore’s Temasek Sells Stake in Bank of America (Update2)

Share | Email | Print | A A A

By Chen Shiyin
data

May 15 (Bloomberg) -- Temasek Holdings Pte sold its 3.8 percent stake in Bank of America Corp., reducing investments in U.S. and European financial companies that dragged down the value of the Singapore state-owned investment firm last year.
The sale of the shares, worth $2.14 billion at yesterday’s closing price, was completed by March 31, according to a U.S. securities filing. At the average price of $6.73 for the first quarter, the sale would have fetched $1.27 billion for Temasek, which had spent about $5.9 billion since 2007 buying shares in Merrill Lynch & Co., acquired by Bank of America this year.
Temasek earlier this week bought some of Bank of America’s stake in China Construction Bank Corp., and Chief Executive Officer Ho Ching yesterday said the fund would increase investments in emerging markets and reduce exposure to developed economies.
“The belief now is that the world is not so American- centric anymore,” said Melvyn Teo, associate professor of finance at the Singapore Management University. “It’s going to be driven more and more by the Chinese economy and consumer so might as well load up more on Chinese banks than American banks.”
The value of Temasek’s assets fell 31 percent to S$127 billion ($87 billion) in the eight months to Nov. 30 as the credit crisis drove down the value of stakes in Merrill Lynch, Barclays Plc and Standard Chartered Plc. The drop in the portfolio tracked a 38 percent retreat in the MSCI World Index.
The global stock benchmark has risen 0.5 percent this year, compared with a 45 percent gain in China’s benchmark Shanghai Composite Index.
Bank of America Stake
A Form 13F filing to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission yesterday from Temasek indicates that the fund no longer held shares in Bank of America or Merrill Lynch as of March 31. An earlier filing showed that the Singapore investment firm owned about 219.7 million shares in Merrill Lynch at the end of 2008.
Temasek confirmed it sold its Bank of America shares in an e-mailed response to Bloomberg News queries today. The company declined to say how much it sold the stake for or when the sale was conducted. Mark Tsang, a Hong Kong spokesman at Bank of America, declined to comment.
Since the end of March, when Temasek completed the sale, Bank of America has rallied 66 percent. The shares dropped 52 percent in the first quarter.
Merrill Lynch investors received 0.8595 Bank of America stock for each share held in the U.S. brokerage in the acquisition. The deal meant Temasek received about 188.8 million Bank of America shares, the equivalent of a 3.8 percent stake in the company, according to calculations by Bloomberg.
Standard Chartered, Barclays
The shares of Charlotte, North Carolina-based Bank of America, under pressure from U.S. regulators to raise $33.9 billion to boost its capital base, have tumbled 69 percent in the past year, outpacing the 37 percent decline in the Standard & Poor’s 500 Index.
The stock rose 2.7 percent to $11.31 in New York yesterday. It traded between $14.81 and $2.53 apiece in the first quarter.
Sovereign funds, mostly from Asia, have made “substantial losses” on more than $60 billion invested in U.S., Swiss and U.K. banks since the start of the subprime crisis, according to International Financial Services London, an industry lobby group.
Along with its stake in Merrill Lynch, Temasek also raised holdings in Standard Chartered, the London-based bank that gets almost all its profit from emerging markets, and bought shares in Barclays, the U.K.’s third-biggest bank. The company had earlier said it wants the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development countries to account for about a third of its investment portfolio.
Reassessing the Portfolio
Temasek will cut its holdings in the so-called OECD countries to 20 percent as it expands in Asia and emerging markets from Latin America to Africa, Ho said in a speech posted on the company’s Web site yesterday.
“We have also been re-assessing our long term portfolio balance over the last two years,” Ho, 56, said in the May 12 speech. “As Asia continues to develop, it continues to de-risk. We are increasingly more confident of Asia’s future.”
Ho, the wife of Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, in October will step down as chief executive of the investment firm set up in 1974 with state assets such as shipyards and an airline, and which counts the city’s Ministry of Finance as its only shareholder. She will be replaced by Charles Goodyear, the 51-year-old former head of BHP Billiton Ltd.
China Construction
Temasek was among a group of investors including Hopu Investment Management Co., a private-equity fund run by Goldman Sachs Group Inc.’s China partner Fang Fenglei, that bought a HK$3.6 billion ($465 million) stake in Beijing-based Construction Bank, according to a document sent to fund managers and obtained by Bloomberg News this week.
“We’ve been very heavily overweight in Asia for some years now and leery of the Western financial institutions because Asia is where the growth is at,” said Hugh Young, managing director at Aberdeen Asset Management Plc, which has about $30 billion of Asian assets.
To contact the reporter on this story: Chen Shiyin in Singapore at [email protected]
Last Updated: May 15, 2009 01:12 EDT

jim007jimmyboy

MM Lee explains Singapore’s long-term investment horizon

February 7, 2009 by Daniel Ling
Filed under News

Leave a comment

Photos 1 of 1

Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew

Related Videos
MM Lee explains Singapore’s long-term investment horizon

SINGAPORE : Singapore’s Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew has said the country has over S$100 billion in reserves today, unlike the 1960s when the country first gained independence.

But the Republic has not relied on borrowing to fund its investments.

Mr Lee said: “Within three to four years, the economy must recover.”

The minister mentor gave his forecast on the economy to 1,500 of his Tanjong Pagar constituents at a Lunar New Year dinner on Friday.

He said that the Singapore government turned many of its stocks and shares into cash early last year before prices went down. That was why the country was able to invest in the American banks.

Mr Lee explained: “When we invest, we are investing for 10, 15, 20 years. You may look as if you are making a big loss today, but you have not borrowed money to invest. You will ride the storm, the company recovers, your shares go up.”

But he said that Singapore is not a master of its own economy.

He said: “Of all the economies in the world, we have the highest percentage of external trade - three and a quarter times our GDP. No other country has got that size of external trade. So when the external trade shrinks, remember it is going to hurt us.”

Still, Mr Lee is confident Singapore will recover from the current downturn, due to various reasons like good labour relations and pro-investment climate in the country. But he said that giving handouts will not help boost spending and the economy.

“So those MPs who say, ‘Give S$300 to every citizen and we will boost the retailers’, they just do not understand the bigger picture. You give S$300 like that and it is gone in a shot, and all the things that they will buy, three-quarters of it are imported,” he said.

Mr Lee added that, with luck, America’s economy may recover by the end of this year or early 2010. He said the outcome of President Barack Obama’s economic plans is expected in nine months. And by then, the Singapore government may have to update its record S$20.6 billion national budget.

Source: CNA/ms

TeeKee

Buy High Sell Low...

That's their investment strategies...

Never mind lah taxpayers monies lah...

Gone already, squeeze the peasants some more!