• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Temasek to suffer heavy loss with sale of Chartered to Abu Dhabi's ATIC

temasekreview

Singapore’s semiconductor industry had floundered in recent years with mounting losses caused by reduced demand and intense competition from Taiwanese and U.S. chipmakers, a situation exacerbated by the global financial crisis.

Once the crown jewel of Singapore inc, Chartered Semiconductor has struggled to make a profit in the last two years.

Chartered Semiconductor was created in 1987 as a venture that included Singapore Technologies Engineering Ltd., another state-linked company owned by Temasek Holdings.

When its shares were first floated in the market in 1999, they were sold in the pricing range of between $16 and $18 a share. 10 years later, it is worth only $2.66 per share. (Source: IPO Investor)

Advanced Technology Investment Co., an investment company owned by Abu Dhabi, will pay S$2.68 ($1.86) a share in cash for Chartered Semiconductor. It will spend a total of S$2.5 billion to buy Temasek’s stake of 62 per cent or 930 million shares in the company.

In Monday’s statement, the companies said Temasek fully supports the acquisition by ATIC and will vote in support of the transaction.

Read rest of article here:

http://temasekreview.com/?p=13219

the end of semiconductor in singapore is near.

they are finished. the small number of sinkies and huge number of FT/FW, going to go back kampung.

so be it.

poore

not 2.66, but 2.68

ermmm....chartered just had a 10 to 1 share consolidation....that means $0.268 vs $16...u sure that is the ipo price?

send their own citizen to germany, USA, singapore, ATIC to train, then next, move all the machine to middle east.
create job in their country.

with the technology in these fab, they are competiting with china, not south korea or taiwan. both south korea and taiwan are way ahead in semi con technology.

ChaoPappyPoodle

the end of semiconductor in singapore is near.

they are finished. the small number of sinkies and huge number of FT/FW, going to go back kampung.

so be it.

Tech Semiconductor is still around and if not for the recent economic crisis they would have made money last year. They make money almost every year.

Chartered is a horribly managed company. The jinxed woman was there for a while. If under good management, they may actually make money, just like Tech Semiconductor.

OverTheCounter

Tech Semiconductor is still around and if not for the recent economic crisis they would have made money last year. They make money almost every year.

Chartered is a horribly managed company. The jinxed woman was there for a while. If under good management, they may actually make money, just like Tech Semiconductor.

All the fucking GLC are horribly manage companies, because they r all run by bureaucrats APPOINTED through the PAP PATRONAGE SYSTEM, and NOT by free market competition or by their own merit based on their business experience/skills!!

The jinx was there for a while at Chartered FULL con ..... is there any wonder it failed?!?!?

OverTheCounter

not 2.66, but 2.68

ermmm....chartered just had a 10 to 1 share consolidation....that means $0.268 vs $16...u sure that is the ipo price?

the IPO price was ard $10, rose to $20 in the dot com bubble, then fell to 60 cents in 2002, rose again to over $1.30, then plunge all the way

no thanks to the jinx who stayed long enough to jinx up everything she can lay her hands on

UseYourBrain

arabs, are brainless investors. they will not be able to turn it around, they will close it down soon.

You think they are stupid? I think the Singaporean chink are stupid. the money the Arabs use to buy is not theirs but money spent by temasek when the bought merryl lynch , citi etc etc. The arabs sold those shares to them and now using temasek money to buy chartered. So who is stupid? Ns what more the cost of digging the oil is nothing to the oil they sell to you. everytime you start your car the sheikh is counting your money.

ahleebabasingaporethief

You think they are stupid? I think the Singaporean chink are stupid. the money the Arabs use to buy is not theirs but money spent by temasek when the bought merryl lynch , citi etc etc. The arabs sold those shares to them and now using temasek money to buy chartered. So who is stupid? Ns what more the cost of digging the oil is nothing to the oil they sell to you. everytime you start your car the sheikh is counting your money.

Why u think CPF minimum sum adjusted from $40K to $120K. When lumpar cannot adjust upwards anymore bcos most S'poreans will not have $120K, they came up with:

CPF LIE SCHEME 2009

mscitw

Peelip Yeo was one of the swines who says foundries are good for peasantpore, indirectly roping in his protege, Ho Jinx to fund and mismanage CSM.

Only in Peasantpore where overly educated paper tigers, believing themselves to be visionary CEOs but are incompetent idiots in the globalised industrialised arena.

Watchman

[COLOR="_______"]We judt wished it's time these GLCs and gov freeloaders citizen sponsored enterprise get their free market-justice in due time ![/COLOR]