• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

tell me honestly, do u think our mrt stations safe?

I really hate to awaken everyone to this dreadful truth about the safety state of our mrt stations.

if u r waiting the train, u notice those security boys walking around in a small group of 4 or 5 persons each carrying semi-auto and threatening lethal weapons. honestly, do u think they can defend and protect us should there be a terrorist event happening right under our very nose?

I really doubt so.

the way I observed - none of them was really alert. it was like a routine walk about or even a nice stroll for them - chatting joking...anything but paying attention to their surrounding and be very aware.

one more very important thing, not that I m prejudiced against age or race but most of them were young malays. I stopped my projection and exponentation of what would happen if there were to be a bomb to go off....

I just shuddered and stopped wondering and hurry out of the station feeling apprehensively relief! phew!!:*:

I really hate to awaken everyone to this dreadful truth about the safety state of our mrt stations.

Why would the MRT trains be any safer than a cinema or a shopping centre?

Many of the train stations are poorly designed in terms of safety during any emergency evacuation.
When LTA and SMRT construct the stations, it was never catered and planned for a huge population of 6.9mil.

One good example is Bishan station whereby the platform is so narrow that it can easily caused over crowding during any train delays or breakdown.
The escalator and stairs itself already took up a huge amount of space which left very little area for standing in the waiting area.
Should there be any fire and emergency, people will be stepping on each other to rush out of the platform.

..... One good example is Bishan station whereby the platform is so narrow that it can easily caused over crowding during any train delays or breakdown. The escalator and stairs itself already took up a huge amount of space which left very little area for standing in the waiting area.
Should there be any fire and emergency, people will be stepping on each other to rush out of the platform.

I've been to the new Bishan circle line station. Even on a good day when the trains runs properly the crowds can build up. I can imagine the chaos that could happen if there is panic or the trains breaking down causing a build up of waiting commuters.

I think this is an accident waiting to happen with it being so crowded now. With so many people packing into Spore I don't see things improving & it'll only be a matter of time until we have an "incident"

Why is there this implicit belief in safety? Even the national stadium was torn down because it was not safe security wise. During the stoppage people easily could have died if they did not break the glass because the backup did not work. Trust not in any of our cheaply built structures

Why would the MRT trains be any safer than a cinema or a shopping centre?

u should have posed that silly question to our vain gahmen who puts those security army boys for decoration.

Many of the train stations are poorly designed in terms of safety during any emergency evacuation.
When LTA and SMRT construct the stations, it was never catered and planned for a huge population of 6.9mil.

One good example is Bishan station whereby the platform is so narrow that it can easily caused over crowding during any train delays or breakdown.
The escalator and stairs itself already took up a huge amount of space which left very little area for standing in the waiting area.

i fully agreed.

clementi station is a whole day cramp packed sardines!

If SCDF applies the same rules to all private and public organisation, both Mustafa shopping centres and all MRT stations are unsafe.

I got the insider info that ex SCDF chief Peter Lim was actually tough on MRT stations and this was part of the reason why he was removed.

If SCDF applies the same rules to all private and public organisation, both Mustafa shopping centres and all MRT stations are unsafe.

I got the insider info that ex SCDF chief Peter Lim was actually tough on MRT stations and this was part of the reason why he was removed.

those hot areas our gahmen doesn't have a share in it. you think they bother?

u should have posed that silly question to our vain gahmen who puts those security army boys for decoration.

those security army boys are for the purpose of deterrence. every one should logically be alert and play their individual part to prevent the occurrence/possibility of potential threats

let's look at how train breakdowns were being handled. u think smrt has the capability to handle a real emergency? one that causes panic like a bomb explosion or a gun trotting terrorist(s)?

......When LTA and SMRT construct the stations, it was never catered and planned for a huge population of 6.9mil.

Agree with your observation. It goes to show that Old Fart, Holy Goh and Pinky were boasting when they said the minstars and top civil serpents they put in place have helicopter vision, able to plan for the future, good policymakers, blah, blah, blah.

don't worry, we should be safe
our defence and security budget is many times our health and care budget
defence and security should be airtight ..
nothing happens for the past 50 years

don't worry, we should be safe
our defence and security budget is many times our health and care budget
defence and security should be airtight ..
nothing happens for the past 50 years

nothing appearing now doesn't mean nothing shall not appear later. if it really does appear, i doubt the pappies are ready to handle it.

just look at the mini havoc THE MESSIAH is creating. seemingly quite harmless pun and yet the gahmen is clueless.

get the m&ds in the SMRT to stop people going up the platform, once a certain number of people is reached. SMRT full of useless lazy m&ds, give them something to do.

I've been to the new Bishan circle line station. Even on a good day when the trains runs properly the crowds can build up. I can imagine the chaos that could happen if there is panic or the trains breaking down causing a build up of waiting commuters.

I think this is an accident waiting to happen with it being so crowded now. With so many people packing into Spore I don't see things improving & it'll only be a matter of time until we have an "incident"

Yes..thats why the Thai girl who lost her leg can sue SMRT to the last dollar..

1. They only react when a major accident happen..

2. If no accident, there will be no safety barriers like what we have now.

3. The disgusting CEO, Saw, only see profits and bonuses as the main KPI...even planned maintenance and safety checks are secondary...

4. Look at many stations, they are all boxed up as they erect more and more retails spaces alongside the station perimeter..all in the name of greater retail $$DOllar...

5. Hot and stuffty..??? They give u big big fans to cool your anger and frustrations.

This is how the big corporate use their might against the ordinary folks..and they have the govt behind them....

All Evil minds think alike.....

I have been to Boston and use The Green Line...It is some 150 years old and still runs smoothly.

I was there over the weekend and there was a planned maintenance during the weekend, for part of the Green Line.
As a tourist and together with many many other tourist we enjoy the use of the shuttle buses which ferried us to our destination
without a hitch.

You see...our World class standard..only slightly over 10 years and our train system in a shamble and giving us NIGHTMARE, both in terms of usage and reliability.

This is a very good point raised..

Now, over the years has our Transport Minister give directives to have a Public Evacuation Exercise for our MRT commuters.???

What if we are trapped in a tunnel or when there is a fire or a flash flood..???

Or is it they think and say it only happen ONCE IN EVERY FIFTY YEARS...
Many hundreds of commuters will die . Then only they will react and do such exercise to appease us.

If this dreadful accident happen, can the Minister be charged with Manslaughter,,????

I wonder why are we paying such a high salary for these people....????

The stars got to align for one big accident to happen....
Then will be huat time....
Pappies cannot keep running on luck forever....