• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Taxi Drivers Saw 40% Drop In Revenue

SNAblog

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/8152279.stm

BBC News, 16 Jul 2009, Mariko Oi

Singapore cabbies dream of upturn

<object height="400" width="512">

<embed src="http://news.bbc.co.uk/player/emp/external/player.swf" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowscriptaccess="always" flashvars="config_settings_showUpdatedInFooter=true&config_settings_showPopoutButton=false&playlist=http%3A%2F%2Fnews%2Ebbc%2Eco%2Euk%2Fmedia%2Femp%2F8150000%2F8152600%2F8152603%2Exml&config=http%3A%2F%2Fnews%2Ebbc%2Eco%2Euk%2Fplayer%2Femp%2Fconfig%2Fdefault%2Exml%3F1%2E3%2E114%5F2%2E14%2E10344%5F10753%5F20090716112218&config_settings_language=default&config_settings_showFooter=true&config_plugin_fmtjLiveStats_pageType=eav6&config_settings_showPopoutButton=false&config_settings_showPopoutCta=false" height="400" width="512"></object>

Some drivers have seen a fall in revenue of around 40% from last year

A decade ago, James Yang upgraded his taxi to a seven-seater maxi cab to target Singapore's corporate sector.

And for a while it worked out well, "bringing in more money", he says.

"Travel agents asked me to pick up their clients, or I did big corporate events.

"But now, companies are spending less on taxis. My revenue has fallen almost 90% since last year."

So recently, Mr Yang has been scouting for passengers on the streets.

Unaffordable luxury

Taxis in Singapore are already amongst the cheapest in the world, with a minimum charge less than $2 (£1.20).

They have been a popular form of public transport for everyone from builders to executives.

But in the recession, it is the luxury that they cannot afford.

"People are more cautious. They prefer to get up early and take public transport instead of taxis," says Mr Yang.

"And to make things harder, they tend not to hail my cab, assuming it would be more expensive, so I have to drive around even longer than an ordinary taxi to find a customer."

Bouncing back

As long as people are reluctant to spend, business will remain tough for Mr Yang, though there are signs that the worst recession in Singapore's history could be nearing its end.

The economy expanded at an annualised rate of 20.4% between April and June.

It was the first quarterly expansion for a year, and the fastest growth for nearly six years.

It is a huge bounce-back compared with the 12.7% contraction in the first quarter ending in March.

This is thanks to increased drug sales and construction activity, according to the Ministry of Trade and Industry.

Manufacturing is not a huge part of Singapore's economy, but the island specialises in pharmaceuticals and high-end specialist manufacturing.

Increased demand for flu vaccines helped an already recession-proof sector to expand.

Unsustainable recovery

While this is a huge relief for many Singaporeans, the government remains cautious.

The Ministry of Trade and Industry says the economic growth seen between April and June "may not be sustained".

"The real economic indicators are still plunging," says Roman Scott of Calamander Group.

Retail sales suffered their biggest drop since 1999 in April. They fell at an annual rate of 11.7%, after dropping 7.3% in March and 5.5% in February.

This is not surprising, as people are worried about losing their jobs.

The government revised up its first quarter unemployment rate to 3.3%. That is a jump from 2.5% in December.

"You can never have a real economic recovery when people are still getting fired," Mr Scott adds.

"The economy was at the bottom so it had to bounce back. In this economic climate, any recovery looks huge because we saw a total collapse."

The government still expects the economy to contract for the year.

It now predicts the economy will shrink between 4% and 6% for 2009 as a whole, less than its earlier estimate of a contraction of between 6% and 9%.

Still not healed

And yet, Mr Scott says, it will take much longer for ordinary Singaporeans to feel the miracle recovery.

"Singapore was taken out of an intensive care unit a month ago, after so much stimulus medicine was given."

"But it is not out of hospital. It can walk around and meet visitors, but you will have to wait until the end of the year for it to be discharged."

--------------------------

Latest update @ Singapore News Alternative:

1. Taxi Drivers Saw 40% Drop In Revenue
2. Chinese Govt to allocate more university spots to the poor
3. India Target Singapore To Invest In Infrastructure Project
4. Internationalizing The Yuan - Not As Easy As It Looks
5. JTC Launches Integrated Apartment Unit At Fusionpolis For Foreign Media Professionals
6. Tiger Airlines out to disrupt Delta Airways deal
7. Rubbed out in Singapore? We'll have you
8. GIC part of consortium to acquire stake in Chinese lender

A decade ago, James Yang upgraded his taxi to a seven-seater maxi cab to target Singapore's corporate sector.

And for a while it worked out well, "bringing in more money", he says.

"Travel agents asked me to pick up their clients, or I did big corporate events.

"But now, companies are spending less on taxis. ]My revenue has fallen almost 90% since last year."

So recently, Mr Yang has been scouting for passengers on the streets.

Unaffordable luxury

Taxis in Singapore are already amongst the cheapest in the world, with a minimum charge less than $2 (£1.20).

They have been a popular form of public transport for everyone from builders to executives.....

This report was 15 years ago izzit? simi less than $2??? :confused::confused::confused:

commoner

aiya,,, taxi drivers shld listen more to the Upturn The Downturn Song, then they be happy and can earn $5,000,,,, if no have, save some money by kerosene,,,,,

This report was 15 years ago izzit? simi less than $2??? :confused::confused::confused:

Obviously the standard at the BBC is down, must be all the FT they are hiring for their Spore office.

Recently they gave the false impression that internet connection was free in Spore :eek:

besotted

mountain tortoise ... BBC reporting convention is US$ lah.. it caters to a global audience, not loser young softie Singaporeans who cannot stand on their own two feet without government nipple nanny

..While this is a huge relief for many Singaporeans, the government remains cautious...

wrong:cool:

While this is a huge relief for the government, many Singaporeans remain cautious.:cool:

besotted

Obviously the standard at the BBC is down, must be all the FT they are hiring for their Spore office.

Recently they gave the false impression that internet connection was free in Spore :eek:

internet connection wireless@sg is free, you mean you mountain tortoise too

SamuelStalin

We think the incredible drop is because of the ongoing swine flu. When that has totally dissipated, their revenue should improve a bit.

internet connection wireless@sg is free, you mean you mountain tortoise too

Are you a foreigner??? Maybe working for the Truth brigade???

Tell me what is free Spore in free?

Did you factor in the dial up costs? Or are you referring to the 'free' WiFi connection.

Worst coming soon when next year most of the Circle link MRT start operation.
Taxi commuter will drop another 10~20%.
Blame the operatot itself increase the Taxi fare by 20%(off peak) and up to 50%(peak)

cooleo

talkkok.JPG

Sometimes cannot listen to those cab drivers tok cock one la. Many times i have seen some of them refusing to take passengers and don't have 'change shift' or other signs one.

Then the worst ones are those who appear at 'certain hours' to earn the extra charges.

Some of them even can yaya papaya say they 'drive for fun' or 'earn more than those wear nice nice go CBD to work'.

SamuelStalin

Are you a foreigner??? Maybe working for the Truth brigade???

Tell me what is free Spore in free?

Did you factor in the dial up costs? Or are you referring to the 'free' WiFi connection.

I can tell you. O2, H2O (from taps in corporate washrooms and hotels) and especially CO2 that this forum is stuffed with.

aiya,,, taxi drivers shld listen more to the Upturn The Downturn Song, then they be happy and can earn $5,000,,,, if no have, save some money by kerosene,,,,,

All taxi drivers must have a recorded version of the "UPTURN the DOWNTURN " song sung by Limp S.S., on their ripped CD, and played every morning, to start the day...

Then the -40% will be come 400% in no time, just like we have a 20% jumped...it is MAGIC!:biggrin:

talkkok.JPG

Sometimes cannot listen to those cab drivers tok cock one la. Many times i have seen some of them refusing to take passengers and don't have 'change shift' or other signs one.

Then the worst ones are those who appear at 'certain hours' to earn the extra charges.

Some of them even can yaya papaya say they 'drive for fun' or 'earn more than those wear nice nice go CBD to work'.

Mention about the change shift...I have taken cabs outside Singapore, have yet to encounter cabs that changed shifts from almost anytime of the day..from dawn to dusk...

How can they be making money..when they are changing shifts all the time?:rolleyes:

Hope

All taxi drivers must have a recorded version of the "UPTURN the DOWNTURN " song sung by Limp S.S., on their ripped CD, and played every morning, to start the day...

Then the -40% will be come 400% in no time, just like we have a 20% jumped...it is MAGIC!:biggrin:
Haha,this morning I just heard that a fiend taxi driver has given up at stay at home, I was surprised and asked:did he strike S$10 million ang Pow?

Wow,looks like it is dead bad for taxi drivers now.

My sympathy to them.

I can tell you. O2, H2O (from taps in corporate washrooms and hotels) and especially CO2 that this forum is stuffed with.

Hotels or your company are subsidising the O2. Don't feel too bad for them as its the cost of doing business.

Some people have learned to advantage of it. I remember seeing this short angmo guy at a few seminars being held at the hotels & realised he was freeloading :smile:

Would only see him at the tea breaks & never at the conferences/seminars. Saw the same guy at different hotels.

SamuelStalin

Hotels or your company are subsidising the O2. Don't feel too bad for them as its the cost of doing business.

Some people have learned to advantage of it. I remember seeing this short angmo guy at a few seminars being held at the hotels & realised he was freeloading :smile:

Would only see him at the tea breaks & never at the conferences/seminars. Saw the same guy at different hotels.

Hahaha really? In Singapore? Maybe I should take a break and try these for fun too. There was once I walked past a bar in a mall (I forgot the name of it) and I saw a buffet spread. It must be an opening ceremony of sorts.

For a few times I badly wanted to disturb them by approaching the table and helping myself and then leaving with the look as if I am like, "one of them" and like, "I'll be back to join you guys as I got to go somewhere first" but I changed my mind because I wasn't really dressed for the occasion (too casual for that). :cool::cool::cool:

alvin36

if taxi drivers kpkb that they earned so little.. why dont they become a bus drivers ? why so stupid ??

from what i know... most taxi drivers are lazy, they want freedom, able to manage their own time and working hours... so they choose to be a taxi drivers. Any time happy happy can go supper and kopi. There are also some taxi drivers who are actually having sidelines, some are bookies. they work as taxi drivers just to cover up.

I have a friend, who drive partime on Saturday night. He is hard working, he need the extra money to for kids education. He said drives 12 hours, he said can make net $200-$250. which is a very good income, right ?

Hahaha really? In Singapore? Maybe I should take a break and try these for fun too.

Yes, there used to be alot of product talks held at various Spore hotels. Many of these talks were free & you get to meet many IT folks & can be interesting as many of them work with the GLCs.

I expect alot of companies have cut back on their seminars/talks in this economic crises.