• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tan Cheng Bock closing clinic after 41 years

hokkien

images.jpg

Thursday, Nov 22, 2012
YourHealth, AsiaOne

SINGAPOARE - Former presidential candidate Dr Tan Cheng Bock has closed down his clinic, one that has been operation for 41 years.

In an online post on his Facebook account last night, Dr Tan revealed that Wednesday would be his last day practicing at the Ama Keng Clinic. It was previously reported in August that Dr Tan had sold the clinic, located in Jurong West.

First opened in 1941, Ama Keng Clinic was situated in the village Ama Keng, 28km away from town and in the Lim Chu Kang Road.

It was relocated several times but Dr Tan kept the original name. In his Facebook post, Dr Tan revealed that he is very sad to part with his clinic.

He also revealed his experiences at the clinic including, making house calls to the sick in their homes which involved crisscrossing narrow m&d tracks with pot holes.

Addressing the children of the village fondly, Dr Tan said he loved the "incredible" children who loved playing in the rain and carrying his "doctor's bag".

In closing his post he thanked all his for their faith in him.

Dr Tan reportedly told The Straits Times that he will continue to practice twice a week at his cousin's clinic two bus stops away.

The story of Ama Keng Clinic

Today is my last day of medical practice in Ama Keng Clinic. It is indeed very sad to part with my clinic which I started in 1971, 41 years ago. I named my clinic after the village Ama Keng. This far away village was 28km from town, along Lim Chu Kang road.

My clinic was a run down shophouse made of wooden planks and zinc roof. Many thought l was crazy as there were so many other options in town. But I love medicine and practicing in the rural environment was my idea of doctoring.

It was obviously challenging as you had to manage the cases all by yourself as the nearest hospital was 28km away from the village.

My patients were generally poor farmers growing vegetables and other crops, tendering to the chickens and a few pigs. Their homes were attap huts and the roads to the huts were laterite m&d tracks with numerous pot holes. Making house calls to the sick in their homes involved crisscrossing these narrow tracks.

When it rained the tracks got flooded. Once the villagers lifted my car out of a flooded ditch. The village children were incredible, I love them, full of fun and loved playing in the rain. They all love to carry my doctor's bag.

Many homes did not have tap water. Water was from deep wells and water standpipes. So the villagers had to carry water buckets on their shoulders from these 2 sources. No flushing toilets, bucket system prevailed.

My medical fees were low yet some still cannot afford, so they pay me in kind like eggs, vegetables, and chickens. For those who cannot pay l waived the fees.

They were very grateful. Over the years the villagers and l developed a special bond that money cannot buy… a deep trust and respect.

Then came resettlement. One day, we were told we had to move out because of comprehensive redevelopment of the area. It was devastating for many as they had no other skills except farming. Many villagers look to me for help for their resettlement problems. I obliged.

I had to speak on their behalf on their housing problems and compensations. It was sad, seeing friends moving out of this village. We were one big family but we had to go separate ways.

We were resettled to different parts of the island but primarily to Punggol, Bukit Panjang, Jurong West, Boon Lay and Chua Chu Kang.

I was resettled to Teck Whye but continued to practice under the name Ama Keng Clinic. The HDB practice was different from old Ama Keng. I moved 2 more times before moving to my present clinic at Jurong West where l practiced for another 15 long years.

Many old patients from old Ama Keng and staying far away continue to see me. My oldest patient is more than 100years old. She appeared in my Facebook before and 4 generations of her family sees me today.

I have come to accept the fact that Ama Keng Clinic will finally close its door on 22nd Nov. 2012. I want to thank all my patients for their faith in me.

Goodbye AMA KENG CLINIC.

He sounded like "Atticus Finch"...but people want "banker" cousin AnThONY...ha ha ha

not surprise he finally close shop. Too many ppl go his clinic to tok cock or ask him write letters to govt agencies. patients can sit inside his consultation room for up to an hour when he was still a mp to pour their problems to him. if really sick, better dont go his clinic as it could be a longer wait than polyclinic. many of his residents treat his clinic as the MTP venue, take Q number just to see him and he never reject anyone. Maybe that the reason why Dr Tan always re-elected in high percentage despite not being a minitoon.

Why close such a iconic clinic? Don't understand.

not surprise he finally close shop. Too many ppl go his clinic to tok cock or ask him write letters to govt agencies. patients can sit inside his consultation room for up to an hour when he was still a mp to pour their problems to him. if really sick, better dont go his clinic as it could be a longer wait than polyclinic. many of his residents treat his clinic as the MTP venue, take Q number just to see him and he never reject anyone. Maybe that the reason why Dr Tan always re-elected in high percentage despite not being a minitoon.
He old Liao, and sky high rental rates must be strangling his balls, just like many sole proprietor GP out there.

In spite of his popularity and health, Old man was determined to get rid of this outspoken back bencher who has the backing of woody, probably as a warning shot to other MPs. All PAP MPs certainly learnt this lesson well.

In the old days, children play in the rain. Today, see water also scared.

He old Liao, and sky high rental rates must be strangling his balls, just like many sole proprietor GP out there.

In spite of his popularity and health, Old man was determined to get rid of this outspoken back bencher who has the backing of woody, probably as a warning shot to other MPs. All PAP MPs certainly learnt this lesson well.

of course he cannot tahan the rental lah with so many non paying customers/patients.

Many other GPs also struggling with five figure rentals and stagnant consultation fees because the masses' income also stagnant.

This trade is no longer as lucrative as in the past. GPs need to upgrade to specialist, or some become cosmetic specialist without the professional degree.

This guy twist and turn so much, don't know what he wants.

He would have been president if not for 2 others who turned out to be spoilers.

He is afterall a PAP man and since TT is the preferred candidate there is no way TCB can win in a one on one with TT. This is Singapore politics lah!

Understandably, that is the reason purveyed by supporters of the other 2.
Yet, the combined vote of the other 2 failed to even get above 30% (25.04% + 4.91%).

TCB twisted and turned during the PE. He will never be president.

In a real Parliamentary Democracy,,not the the Leegime,,,TCB would have been Prime Minister,,,but bcos he is a threat to the Leegime due to his popularity,,he had to go,,,let me ask,,,Dr Tan retired from politics under the PAP renewal crap,,he is much younger than old fart,,how come old fart can still remain PAP MP whereas Dr Tan Cannot?? Fuck PAP