• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tampines residents protest against building of rental flats during dialogue session

Watchman

Tampines residents protest against building of rental flats during dialogue session with PAP MP

February 8, 2010 by admin
Filed under Headlines

Leave a comment

Written by Our Correspondent

First it was Pasir Ris residents who protested against the building of rental flats in their constituency and now it is the turn of Tampines residents who were shocked to discover that the empty plot of land in front of Blk 885 along Tampines Street 83 will be used to construct 234 units of rental flats.

As expected, HDB made the announcement suddenly without consulting the residents, 80 of whom have submitted a petition to their MP Sin Boon Ann to express their unhappiness and to ask for the construction work to be halted.

They have three worries: that the value of their flats will drop, security problems and the rental flats blocking wind to theirs.

Mr Sin conducted a half an hour dialogue session with angry residents yesterday afternoon to allay their concerns.

He urged Tampines residents to spare a thought for needy Singaporeans in the community as there is a dearth of rental flats to meet rising demands.

The construction of the flats will proceed as planned and is scheduled to be completed by the beginning of 2012. It is not known if they will really be rented to Singaporeans or foreign workers eventually.

HDB has converted two blocks of flats in Toa Payoh lately to rental flats for foreign workers from the Resort World Sentosa Integrated Resort.

Dr Paul Cheung, a former Chief Statistician of Singapore, also proposed HDB to rent out flats to foreign workers who may not be able to afford private apartments during an event celebrating the 50th anniversary of HDB.

Tampines GRC is helmed by National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan who is becoming increasingly unpopular among Singaporeans for his housing policies.

At least three opposition parties have indicated that they will compete in Tampines GRC in the next general election to give Singaporeans a chance to assess Mr Mah’s mixed track record.

In response, MM Lee Kuan Yew retorted that Tampines residents must be “daft” if they cast a protest vote against Mr Mah over rising prices of HDB flats which has caused widespread frustration, resentment and anger on the ground.

News source: Lianhe Wanbao

Re: Tampines residents protest against building of rental flats during dialogue sessi

Expect more of such rental flats for FTs as long as the PAPies are in power. They want 6.5 million in SG and there is no way to get to their magi cnumber without allowing in more FTs.

LKY is senile if he thinks people will continue to vote for a minister that deliberately hides the truth from the public and refuses to allow citizens to gather information that his ministry is in charge of.

But the problem isn't only MBT, it is the PM and the entire PAP that has allowde the HDB to manage itself in such a diabolical manner.

Vote MBT out and the other PAP MPs.

Re: Tampines residents protest against building of rental flats during dialogue sessi

Expect more of such rental flats for FTs as long as the PAPies are in power. They want 6.5 million in SG and there is no way to get to their magi cnumber without allowing in more FTs.

LKY is senile if he thinks people will continue to vote for a minister that deliberately hides the truth from the public and refuses to allow citizens to gather information that his ministry is in charge of.

But the problem isn't only MBT, it is the PM and the entire PAP that has allowde the HDB to manage itself in such a diabolical manner.

Vote MBT out and the other PAP MPs.

brother, totally agree with you....
but with the little opposition that we have, we can only pray that the citizens will wake up and throw their full weight behind the underdogs, instead of being scared of the cheng hu
its true the cuntry is in a big mess now.....

They have three worries: that the value of their flats will drop, security problems and the rental flats blocking wind to theirs.

this is very bad, if its me, i'll be very pissed ... this is what i mean when i say quality of life sucks ...

Mr Sin conducted a half an hour dialogue session with angry residents yesterday afternoon to allay their concerns.

ahh ... sinkees are finally in touch with their anger ...

The construction of the flats will proceed as planned and is scheduled to be completed by the beginning of 2012. It is not known if they will really be rented to Singaporeans or foreign workers eventually.

hee hee, another serangoon gardens ... this time they can't say the residents are 'atas' ... c'mon any resident, HDB or landed, will be fuming !

Tampines GRC is helmed by National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan who is becoming increasingly unpopular among Singaporeans for his housing policies.

At least three opposition parties have indicated that they will compete in Tampines GRC in the next general election to give Singaporeans a chance to assess Mr Mah’s mixed track record.

oppo shd not have 3 corner fights, don't be silly, preserve your resources since u ain't got much ...

burma_vj3.jpg

brother, totally agree with you....
but with the little opposition that we have, we can only pray that the citizens will wake up and throw their full weight behind the underdogs, instead of being scared of the cheng hu
its true the cuntry is in a big mess now.....

you pray to God but don't forget to talk to your family and friends. Everyone can do their part. Posting here is a good start. Now take the information and make use of it.

If you can convince one and they go on to convince others then the momentum will grow. We only need to kick 80. If we manage less than so be it but hopefully we reach at least a majority win gor the combined alternative parties.

... They have three worries: that the value of their flats will drop, security problems and the rental flats blocking wind to theirs.[/SIZE][/I] ...
wherever dey plant dose ft's ... residents there wil oso kpkb wif dese 3 reasons 1 la ... lazy gahmen dun bother 2 look 4 alternatif solns ...

Tampines residents protest against building of rental flats during dialogue session with PAP MP.

I think the writer is mis-informed la.

LKY only said if MBT is voted out, then the HDB price will collapse mah. So building a few rental flats only the price can collapse meh ?

So writer is saying LKY is a liar and tell half-truth that even if MBT is again voted in, the HDB can collapse too meh ? So why bother to vote MBT as rental flat can do the job (and does not cost tay-payer millions of salary a year).

Do not worry..."MEE SIAM NAI HUM"...will think of a way to "FIX" the residents.....;)

Vote MBT...they musn't loose him...:D