• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Swiss President deftly sidestep S'pore's attempt to politicise Swiss vandel sentence

SNAblog

Good of her not to allow the swiss vandal issue to be politicized by the Singapore side.

http://www.earthtimes.org/articles/news/334067,citizen-facing-caning-singapore.html

Switzerland accepts verdict for citizen facing caning in Singapore

Fri, 09 Jul 2010 13:30:39 GMT

Singapore - Visiting Swiss President Doris Leuthard said Friday that her country accepted the conviction of a Swiss national sentenced to caning and jail for vandalism in Singapore, adding that she did not ask the city-state's authorities for clemency.

"For us, it's not a big debate because, obviously, this Swiss citizen did not follow the laws of Singapore," said Leuthard after a one-day working visit to the island state.

In June, a Singapore court sentenced Oliver Fricker, 32, to three strokes of a cane and five months in jail for breaking into a train depot and spray-painting two metro carriages on May 16.

Leuthard said she respected the decision "but the perception in our country is not a positive one."

She said she had discussed the case with Singapore President SR Nathan but did not ask for a more lenient sentence.

"We agreed that we have difficult views on punishment," she said.

Singapore's strict upholding of rules and punishment became famous when in 1994 it caned US teenager Michael Fay for vandalism despite pleas from the United States for clemency.

Fricker has appealed the jail term but faces caning which is mandatory for vandalism in Singapore.

Re: Swiss President deftly sidestep S'pore's attempt to politicise Swiss vandel sente

wahlaneh...
that should be the way mah.
country got country laws 国有国法 house got house rules 家有家规 mah.

Re: Swiss President deftly sidestep S'pore's attempt to politicise Swiss vandel sente

IN the rest of the world, a vandalism case is not a big deal, except in S'pore where media turns it into headlines and a very big deal. In the rest of the world, when their govt. losses $billions its a very big deal worthy of news headlines and journalistic investigation, but in S'pore. its no big deal, just a honest mistake.

It's about accountability or the lack of it.
The Swiss national is a nobody, but he made a lot of important people lose face by his actions.
He will face punishment, but of course not as severe as a nobody Singkie.
If important people make mistakes that cause losses to a whole bunch of ordinary nobody Singkies, it's "let's move on".

that means that USA passport is BIGGER and better than Switzerland passport.

On 2nd thought, the swiss guy help us to expose a loophole in the MRT depot, where so easily can be broken into. If not,one day, a real terrorist breakin,we will be in deeper shit. I think the sentence is just to cover up the face value of certain high profile pple.:rolleyes:

I think SWISS got agreement to transfer all illegal banking secrets, technology and know-how here; hence this small thing sweep under lah.

The World still needs a 'SWISS' type banking system of old.

......and they know all know where since SWISS secret banking is no more.
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="if(typeof(jsCall)=='function'){jsCall();}else{setTimeout('jsCall()',500);}" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

On 2nd thought, the swiss guy help us to expose a loophole in the MRT depot, where so easily can be broken into. If not,one day, a real terrorist breakin,we will be in deeper shit. I think the sentence is just to cover up the face value of certain high profile pple.:rolleyes:

wahlaneh...
just bcoz theres a big lobang on the fence u must say he broke in meh?
did u see him cut the fence?
why not say he was let in by some "kar kee lang" to test out the effectiveness of mrt security system?

whoa lan eh, it was stated in the news that he and his accomplice cut the lobang in the fence. check your facts...;)

wahlaneh...
just bcoz theres a big lobang on the fence u must say he broke in meh?
did u see him cut the fence?
why not say he was let in by some "kar kee lang" to test out the effectiveness of mrt security system?

whoa lan eh, it was stated in the news that he and his accomplice cut the lobang in the fence. check your facts...;)

wahlaneh...
so wheres the other guy leh?

still on the run! I honestly think that the sentence imposed is too heavy for a creative but mischievious person.

wahlaneh...
so wheres the other guy leh?

still on the run! I honestly think that the sentence imposed is too heavy for a creative but mischievious person.

wahlaneh...
so what would u suggest?
if u r the judge how would u sentence that guy?
but if let him go then michael fay will surely cowpeh cowboo liao.:D

Look at this article here,it says:

Leuthard said she respected the decision "but the perception in our country is not a positive one."

http://www.earthtimes.org/articles/news/334067,citizen-facing-caning-singapore.html

but CNA says:

"I discussed it with the president, but you know for us it is not a big debate," Leuthard said according to the Straits Times.

"We agree that he is guilty, which he also accepts by the way. It's correct what you do but it's not our way," she added.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp_singapore/view/1068646/1/.html

wahlaneh...
so what would u suggest?
if u r the judge how would u sentence that guy?
but if let him go then michael fay will surely cowpeh cowboo liao.:D

sooner or later, singaporeans abroad will be targetted like the Americans:rolleyes:

Or like the FTs currently in Singapore. :rolleyes:

What goes round, comes around.

IN the rest of the world, a vandalism case is not a big deal, except in S'pore where media turns it into headlines and a very big deal. In the rest of the world, when their govt. losses $billions its a very big deal worthy of news headlines and journalistic investigation, but in S'pore. its no big deal, just a honest mistake.

ho_ching.jpg

I agreed totally with you. Singaporeans is very concerned about Temasek Holdings investment like concerning about Singapore Football team.

As you know lah, the ball is round. So sometimes you win, sometimes you lose lah!

Losing a few billions of US dollars in investments is really no big deal lah.

But I admit that at times, we really have a very lousy football team. A lot of blur and bobo shooter and sometimes we kicked into our own goal post. And among all the blur sotong bobo players, I am one of them too.

I am really blur at times as I dont know which investments to invest in. So most of the time, I flipped a coin to decide on which investments to go in to lah.