• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Stupid Idea: Cable cars may replace free buses on Sentosa

With the entire island teeming with Indian FTrash, can one expect the transport woes be solved by cable cars? Which scholar's idea is it?

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Cable cars may replace free buses on Sentosa
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Lim Wei Chean
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->ZIPPING around Sentosa Island will be made easier from 2011 with the launch of a new cable car service.
The new transport link may replace the present free intra-island bus service.
<TABLE width=200 align=left valign="top"><TBODY><TR><TD class=padr8><!-- Vodcast --><!-- Background Story -->RELATED LINKS
<!-- Audio --><!-- Video --><!-- PDF -->
ico_pdf.gif
MAP: SENTOSA
<!-- Photo Gallery -->
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>The above-ground system is part of Sentosa Leisure Group's (SLG) over $250 million plan to overhaul the transport system on the island to ensure that it can handle the crowds when Resorts World at Sentosa opens next year.
Currently, Sentosa receives up to 30,000 visitors daily during the peak season. But that number is expected to rise to over 100,000 people daily with the opening of Singapore's second integrated resort.
Mr Lee Chin Chuan, director of SLG's property business development, said the cable car system will offer a greener way of travel compared to the current diesel-powered bus fleet.
The new cableway system will be at most six to seven storeys tall, a third of the height of the current cable car system which runs from Mount Faber.
It is expected to take anything from 1,400 to 5,000 passengers per hour in one direction, moving at speeds of 4m to 6m a second. It will also offer express waiting times of 12 seconds to 15 seconds instead of two minutes to three minutes for the monorail and 10 minutes to 15 minutes for the bus.
Currently, four stations have been earmarked. Mr Lee did not discount the possibility of rolling out the system to the rest of the island or even to the mainland.
The cost of the project is not known yet. SLG has hired consultants to help determine the system's capacity and cost.
One other unknown: whether visitors will be charged for rides. SLG is still mulling over this.
The group is also exploring other possibilities like electric trams, mini railways and buggies. Plans to boost links to the island include an $80 million, 710m-long second bridge, being built by the casino-resort and expected to be ready by the third quarter of this year.
SLG has invested $25 million to build a new depot extension and to buy two cars to raise the capacity of the monorail from 3,000 to 4,000 passengers per hour.
It is also building a new boardwalk so pedestrians can walk to the resort island. Construction of the walkway is slated to begin in the second half of this year. It will have travellators like those in the airport to ease the 620m walk.
Teacher Chai Jiamin, 27, welcomed the new moves. She used to play beach volleyball at Sentosa regularly, but said that on weekends, traffic congestion can get really bad.
However, other regulars like 26-year-old Benjamin Lau, who runs his own IT business, said replacing the free buses with a paid cable car will not benefit visitors.
He said: 'I don't think it's practical to invest in a cable car system when there are already free bus and trams serving Sentosa.' SLG's Mr Lee added that another key reason that is driving Sentosa's search for new modes of transport is to minimise the system's emissions and carbon footprint.

presby

I was at Hong Kong Ngong Ping 360 yesterday. It's Wednesday and the crowd should be much lower than Sat/Sun/Holidays. I still have to wait long queue to get on cable car, estimate about 30 mins. The weekday traffic at Ngong Ping should not be more than 5,000.

I suppose it will be faster to get people over with feeder service bus running at high frequency. MRT should be the best option for fast volume traffic. Getting 6-8 people at time on the cable car is very slow and the cable car move very slowly compare to MRT or bus. Cable car may be more fun and better for catching sights but not for moving thousands of people on a daily basis.

Hong Kong has a very cheap ferry service from Tsimshatsui to Hong Kong Island, about S$0.45. It’s fun and you can catch the sights. I usually try to catch the ferry rather than the HK MTR whenever possible. One way trip for the Ngong Ping 360 cable car is S$12.60. Perhaps low cost no-frills ferry may be an ideal option.

yah i prefer & i missed those days where u can take a ferry to Sentosa. I just don't trust cable cars. Its simply not an efficient way of moving people. And after seeing what our stupid Ferris wheel can do, one breakdown means the whole cable system is brought to a standstill...

and by that time, do we have to wait for a day or two for rescue?

snooker

I
Hong Kong has a very cheap ferry service from Tsimshatsui to Hong Kong Island, about S$0.45. It’s fun and you can catch the sights. I usually try to catch the ferry rather than the HK MTR whenever possible. One way trip for the Ngong Ping 360 cable car is S$12.60. Perhaps low cost no-frills ferry may be an ideal option.

Hong Kong ferry services are subsidized by Gov...here in Singapore is about profit n high returns to shareholder..a ferry system to Sentosa? How much will u reakon commuters need to pay?

banova888

With the entire island teeming with Indian FTrash, can one expect the transport woes be solved by cable cars? Which scholar's idea is it?

Idea came from this chinese scholar; Mr Lee Chin Chuan. Apparently he and the common folks in Singapore, do not see things the way you do; Island teeming with Indian FTrash! Maybe I have jaundice, because in Singapore, majority appears yellow.:oIo:

CB keling,

not happy, fuck off from our island.. u and your type belong to the dirty slums in india :oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

presby

HK Ngong Ping 360 also breaks down quite often and they closed once a month for maintenance. A few times when there is a problem, they shut down for weeks for investigation and repair. The stalls at Ngong Ping were complaining no business when cable car shuts down. How then are you going to move tens of thousands of people. You won't have this problem with bus & ferry.

I so afraid of breakdown that when I take cable car, I drink very little water and go to toilet before I board because if it breaks down it will take hours to fix.

Of all the available options, bus & ferry will definitely cost much less than MRT or cable car no matter who is paying.

THe whole idea is to force people to do this and that. so in this case force pple to use cable car.

THis govt style is to force pple this and that. If sinkie dun like it, they should just protest against this govt. but of course, go and look for your balls first before protest.

It will be so pai sei when protest half way, balls drop off

Instead of creating something new and marketable, they find ways to force people to use 3rd world existing tools. This is the type of sinkie govt you have.

presby

Jiang Zimin has his 3-gorge dam, Mahathir has his Petronas Twin Towers and there are many people who want to put their mark on this world will come up with grand ideas so that they have something to brag about. Some may be good and some may be bullshit and silly but there will always be assholes who want to do it just to create a name for themselves.