• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Stuck like Singaporeans but can not afford to live here!

Slim_10_Sg

These are also quitters! They quit from here even when their flights can not take them off this red dot!

Because the greedy bastard govt here are self-serving bandits who plunder millions for themselves, no body want to and afford to live in this tiny red dot.

http://news.xin.msn.com/en/singapore/article.aspx?cp-documentid=4041690

Hundreds of stranded travellers forced to seek accommodation outside S’pore

SINGAPORE: Hundreds of Europe—bound travellers who are stranded in Singapore have been forced to seek alternative accommodation across the Causeway and in other nearby countries.

Adding to the hotel room crunch, some inbound tour operators said it’s getting harder to find hotel stays at reasonable rates.

One inbound tour operator in Singapore has been helping some 1,000 customers find lodging as they wait for flights to Europe to resume.

Most of the stranded travellers are from the UK, France and Germany, visiting Singapore on free—and—easy tours.

But the lack of hotel rooms in Singapore is making things even tougher.

Judy Lum, group vice—president, Sales & Marketing, Tour East, said: "We had to either try and accommodate them in Malaysia, in Johor or Batam or Bintan Island. So we have contacted hotels in all these areas and over the weekend, I think we have bused over 800 passengers to Johor."

Tour operators said it’s also difficult to secure rooms at decent rates.

Ms Lim added: "Some who managed to extend at the hotels that they are staying in came to us and gave us feedback that the hotels are charging them very high rates. International chains are a bit more compassionate."

Other inbound tour operators said that they were similarly affected. One of them described the situation as a "logistical nightmare" while another said that he had to stay up till 3am to find a solution for the stranded passengers.

Adrian Wong, destination manager for Singapore & Bintan, Pacific World Singapore, said: A group of travellers from France were made to switch three hotels before they could settle on a suitable one. Others were forced to relocate to another hotel because the rate in their current hotel were far too expensive.

Some of the inbound operators said it will take some time to clear the backlog of travellers as more flights resume.

Others said that some stranded passengers have also opted to extend their holidays to nearby destinations such as Bintan while waiting for a flight confirmation.

But the incident is likely to have a small impact on their business as it’s not the peak season for long haul travel to Singapore.

Some tour groups from Europe may have been cancelled but they said this is compensated by having those who extended their stay here.

The Singapore Tourism Board said it’s closely monitoring the situation.

It said it is still too early to tell how the disruption of air travel will impact Singapore’s tourist arrival figures for the second quarter this year. — CNA/vm

yeah heard a standard $200 room suddenly became $800 overnight. talk about kicking ppl when they're down. we're really gracious

it is a free market
demand and supply
tell me if you are boss of hotel chain? you do not want to earn money?
the owner of these business cant wait to kick out all sinkies and replaced them with cheap FT so they can make more money.

That's why the tourists are not coming here.
The Casinos will have to depend on low wage foreign workers and maids.

Expensive politicians
Expensive hotels
Expensive restaurants
Expensive shopping

Sadly the STPB still don't get it.

hotel price hike is happening world wide not just in singapore.

business purpose is to make money.

Singapore is not attractive to visitors any more.

They will pass through without trying to stop or spend here.

business point of view, prices will surely jacked up. but isnt it better to let them move in at the usual price rather than letting the room empty?
i tot as long the rooms are not empty, u r not losing money?

anyway, it could the ang mo dun bear to part with their money.
ang mo are not generous anyway. i tot usually dey come to asia countries, they like to say "cheap"?

I am not sure but could they claim if they had bought travel insurance? If can, then these ang moh are quite stingy, they are only generous when it comes to working less hours...

we should dump the western market

useless losers

concentrate on the east

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/uB6KW3sOHOM&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/uB6KW3sOHOM&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

— April 21, 2010 — The usual price for this Ibis hotel is S$138 since it's opening day.
During the Iceland Volcanic Crisis In April 2010 it doubled to S$268 when passengers were stuck in Singapore unable to return to Europe due to widespread flight cancellations. This is a very greedy exploitation. ALL the hotels in Singapore were profiteering and exploiting passengers this week.

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/uB6KW3sOHOM&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/uB6KW3sOHOM&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

— April 21, 2010 — The usual price for this Ibis hotel is S$138 since it's opening day.
During the Iceland Volcanic Crisis In April 2010 it doubled to S$268 when passengers were stuck in Singapore unable to return to Europe due to widespread flight cancellations. This is a very greedy exploitation. ALL the hotels in Singapore were profiteering and exploiting passengers this week.

Who asked them to be stupid ROBERTS to come here to SG? :D

The tourists are discovering that YOUR SINGAPORE is just as expensive as my Europe... ha ha ha ha

The hotel 81 are filled to capacity with activities...ha ha ha:D

Yes. Singapore now have a very bad name as a tour destination.

Remember the very first F1 race held here. All hotels within the circuit jacked up their prices to the stratosphere.

Ang mos F1 fans from Europe kau peh kau bo like crazy over the internet travel site forums like Lonely Planet. They swore never to step foot in Singapore again as we are deemed as a GREEDY SOCIETY.

Just check the attendance for last year's race. Heard tickets were given away at the last minute to charities as fans from overseas stayed away.

Now we have a new incident.

When that report about SIA giving blankets to their passengers to sleep at changi airport while MALAYSIAN AIRLINES checked all their passengers into hotels tell you this is a profit money greedy society.

Of course the 154th quickly came out with a report that all hotels were full in Singapore. You believe? RWS full? St. Regis full? Please lah.

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

it is a free market
demand and supply
tell me if you are boss of hotel chain? you do not want to earn money?

Hmm, who doesn't want to make money. Your present statement contradicts your suggestion that the food and beverages industry should pay locals more than the market rate to retain them over the need to hire foreign workers. Very amusing.

Doubtlessly your upset posts are all often against the ruling party and its cadres and policies like almost everyone else of which I have no complaints about, yeah I mean as a believer of net neutrality I also don't run the party and all anyway, but you sure are emotionally funny today.

Haha it is true that Chinese sometimes have no heart. Well as if the mostly racist Westerners and their filthy arrogant behavior at home and abroad are any better. So, given also the limitations of our situation in Asia, we therefore feel that putting food on the table for our families is much more important.

business point of view, prices will surely jacked up. but isnt it better to let them move in at the usual price rather than letting the room empty?
i tot as long the rooms are not empty, u r not losing money?

anyway, it could the ang mo dun bear to part with their money.
ang mo are not generous anyway. i tot usually dey come to asia countries, they like to say "cheap"?

Exactly. They think that's what Asia's all about. Some low-class unknown place to just spend a little extra money on, nothing more.