• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

strange clause in filing income tax

ykhuser

under:Parent/handicapped parent relief (for maintenance of parents, grandparents & great-grandparents including in-laws)

Who can claim?

To claim Parent / Handicapped Parent Relief on the above dependents in the Year of Assessment 2013, you must satisfy all the conditions below:

5.NO ONE ELSE is claiming this relief or any other relief (except Grandparent Caregiver Relief) on the same dependant in the Year of Assessment 2013.

so to speak, i have 2 brothers.all 3 brothers supported the age parents.
we have to fight among ourselves who can claim
instead of promoting harmony in brotherhood in family, now we have to fight who can claim
kns

IRAS is filled with a bunch of blood sucking beggars.

Agree rule should change to all children can claim parent relief regardless how many people claim as long parent still live.
Why PAP gov so calculative.

haven't you been paying your tax?
that dumb tax relief has been around for years.
now, there are dumber relief in the form,
try spotting it.

under:Parent/handicapped parent relief (for maintenance of parents, grandparents & great-grandparents including in-laws)

Who can claim?

To claim Parent / Handicapped Parent Relief on the above dependents in the Year of Assessment 2013, you must satisfy all the conditions below:

5.NO ONE ELSE is claiming this relief or any other relief (except Grandparent Caregiver Relief) on the same dependant in the Year of Assessment 2013.

instead of promoting harmony in brotherhood in family, now we have to fight who can claim
kns

haven't you been paying your tax?
that dumb tax relief has been around for years.
now, there are dumber relief in the form,
try spotting it.

Wat dumber relief? :confused: Donate to SBF can claim oso izit? :D:D

kns

Errr ..... you guys can still share out the benefits of the tax deduction equally or in proportion to your actual contributions, financial or otherwise, in taking care of your aged parents. Just need to think out of the box lah.

First, find out which brother claim tax deduction will result in greatest cut in his tax bill. Say brother A claims means his tax bill is reduced by $1,200; brother B claims means by $750; and brother C claims means by $500. With this info, obviously, AS A FAMILY, the maximum benefit is obtained by allowing brother A to claim that tax deduction.

Then, you guys assess your actual contributions to taking care of parents - brother A & B each paid 50% of the monthly expenses needed to take care of parents, brother C did not give money but contributed by being the person who is by their side day in day out, doing chores, etc. So, for simplicity's sake, let's say you all agree that each brother's contribution should be regarded as equal. Then, brother A, after having his tax assesment confirmed by the IRAS i.e. know for sure that $1,200 is the benefit, distributes $400 each to brother B and C.

Problem solved. Think out of the box man.

Nothing beats the joke of NSman tax relief... $1500, $3k if go incamp! Can I return it and don't serve?

This claus have been around for a long time.

I feel so selfish when I tell my sister and brother I am claiming.....

got balls dun file income tax lah.. why feed the sinkie govt???

and why you losers still contribute to CPF???

Errr ..... you guys can still share out the benefits of the tax deduction equally or in proportion to your actual contributions, financial or otherwise, in taking care of your aged parents. Just need to think out of the box lah.

First, find out which brother claim tax deduction will result in greatest cut in his tax bill. Say brother A claims means his tax bill is reduced by $1,200; brother B claims means by $750; and brother C claims means by $500. With this info, obviously, AS A FAMILY, the maximum benefit is obtained by allowing brother A to claim that tax deduction.

Then, you guys assess your actual contributions to taking care of parents - brother A & B each paid 50% of the monthly expenses needed to take care of parents, brother C did not give money but contributed by being the person who is by their side day in day out, doing chores, etc. So, for simplicity's sake, let's say you all agree that each brother's contribution should be regarded as equal. Then, brother A, after having his tax assesment confirmed by the IRAS i.e. know for sure that $1,200 is the benefit, distributes $400 each to brother B and C.

Problem solved. Think out of the box man.

So calculative will create more problem. Next time everything need to be note down eg. bus fare/meal...........

Good solution ...very constructive comment!! Well done bro

thanks for being sensible!

dear threadstarter i thought that is for children claiming relief for parents, more than 1 child cannot claim for it. So only the child does looks after the parent (we are assuming it is the child that stays with the parent)

But i do agree it is rigid, all children should be allowed to claim for relief

Asterix's spot on: Just file claim with highest marginal tax, and split the ill-gotten gains amongst the siblings. Just common sense, instead of squabbling who shd claim or share from taxman.

And MS, don't forget claiming your double tax relief for your GL visits too.:p

Har?? Dis huan oso can claim?? Still got wat other lan sai thing can claim1 let moi noe leh...:D:p

My ex boss who is a pap paul lampard used to tell me........be thankful you fall into the category that needs to pay income tax........if not then you belong to those poor souls barely earning enough.......
I know of many people who likes to kpkb income tax need to pay alot.......5 figures blah blah blah etc......but actually is trying to show off.