• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

ST: New Citizens Support PAP

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
http://www.sgpolitics.net/?p=4145

Straits Times finally admits: New Citizens overwhelmingly support PAP
June 24, 2010 by admin
Filed under: Current Affairs

Written by Ng E-Jay
24 June 2010

You would have thought the mainstream media would have been coy about this issue.

But today, Straits Times columnist Rachel Chang finally admitted in her article “New citizens and the next GE (24 June 2010)” that new citizens regularly express overwhelming support for the ruling People’s Action Party (PAP), with some even going to the point of unfettered adulation and admiration.

Ms Chang writes in her article that when she informally sought out the political views of new citizens, she found that she was “hard-pressed to find a new citizen who harbours anything but admiration for the ruling party“, and that their support for PAP ranged from “placidly approving to aggressively proselytising“.

Take careful note of the last word that Rachel Chang used — proselytising. New citizens do not merely support the PAP. They worship the PAP like Gods.
Rachel Chang’s article also contains quotes from some new citizens explaining why they support PAP. These quotes do not just express admiration for the PAP as a political party, but in fact seem to be geared at justifying many of PAP’s autocratic policies.

For example, university lecturer Ori Sasson, who originally hails from Israel, expressed support for PAP’s restriction on public demonstrations and other civil liberties.

Mr Sasson said that in Israel, he had never felt the need to participate in public demonstrations even though they were allowed.
Mr Sasson also said that while other countries give citizens freedom of expression, their tax rate is higher.

His implication of course is that he prefers Singapore’s lower tax rate and is prepared to give up his human rights and civil liberties in exchange for it.
Naturally, the PAP would want all Singaporeans to think like Mr Sasson, who is probably viewed as a “model citizen”.

A*Star research officer Niu Liming, who originated from Beijing, told the Straits Times that his experience with other political systems made him favour the PAP.

He said that the problems Singaporeans face, such as the lack of a social safety net or high property prices, pale in comparison to the problems citizens of other countries face.

Of course, Mr Niu as a government researcher is drawing a much higher salary compared to the daily rated and blue-collar workers, and so he may not be able to empathize with how rampant inflation and escalating prices have hurt poorer Singaporeans, and how low wage workers in Singapore are left unprotected because they do not have a minimum wage, and there are no independent labour unions to represent their interests.

But naturally, views such as those of Mr Niu are very welcome by the PAP who would want all citizens to share similar opinions.

Ms He Li Fang, 41, a teacher from China, also explained to the Straits Times that because Singapore is a small country, the strong impact of government in the lives of people meant that “new citizens will not waver in their loyalty to the ruling party“.

The overwhelming support of new citizens for the incumbent PAP does not come to a surprise to most netizens, who have probably known it all along.
All the Straits Times article does is to assure us that the government will not do anything major to drastically reduce the import of new citizens in the name of increasing productivity.

You can be rest assured that the status quo will continue, no matter how the government seems to be changing its tune every now and then.

So what's your plan or response Mr Goh?

June 24, 2010 by admin

Written by Ng E-Jay
24 June 2010

You would have thought the mainstream media would have been coy about this issue.

But today, Straits Times columnist Rachel Chang finally admitted in her article “New citizens and the next GE (24 June 2010)” that new citizens regularly express overwhelming support for the ruling People’s Action Party (PAP), with some even going to the point of unfettered adulation and admiration.

Ms Chang writes in her article that when she informally sought out the political views of new citizens, she found that she was “hard-pressed to find a new citizen who harbours anything but admiration for the ruling party“, and that their support for PAP ranged from “placidly approving to aggressively proselytising“.

Take careful note of the last word that Rachel Chang used — proselytising. New citizens do not merely support the PAP. They worship the PAP like Gods.
Rachel Chang’s article also contains quotes from some new citizens explaining why they support PAP. These quotes do not just express admiration for the PAP as a political party, but in fact seem to be geared at justifying many of PAP’s autocratic policies.

For example, university lecturer Ori Sasson, who originally hails from Israel, expressed support for PAP’s restriction on public demonstrations and other civil liberties.

Mr Sasson said that in Israel, he had never felt the need to participate in public demonstrations even though they were allowed.
Mr Sasson also said that while other countries give citizens freedom of expression, their tax rate is higher.

His implication of course is that he prefers Singapore’s lower tax rate and is prepared to give up his human rights and civil liberties in exchange for it.
Naturally, the PAP would want all Singaporeans to think like Mr Sasson, who is probably viewed as a “model citizen”.

A*Star research officer Niu Liming, who originated from Beijing, told the Straits Times that his experience with other political systems made him favour the PAP.

He said that the problems Singaporeans face, such as the lack of a social safety net or high property prices, pale in comparison to the problems citizens of other countries face.

Of course, Mr Niu as a government researcher is drawing a much higher salary compared to the daily rated and blue-collar workers, and so he may not be able to empathize with how rampant inflation and escalating prices have hurt poorer Singaporeans, and how low wage workers in Singapore are left unprotected because they do not have a minimum wage, and there are no independent labour unions to represent their interests.

But naturally, views such as those of Mr Niu are very welcome by the PAP who would want all citizens to share similar opinions.

Ms He Li Fang, 41, a teacher from China, also explained to the Straits Times that because Singapore is a small country, the strong impact of government in the lives of people meant that “new citizens will not waver in their loyalty to the ruling party“.

The overwhelming support of new citizens for the incumbent PAP does not come to a surprise to most netizens, who have probably known it all along.
All the Straits Times article does is to assure us that the government will not do anything major to drastically reduce the import of new citizens in the name of increasing productivity.

You can be rest assured that the status quo will continue, no matter how the government seems to be changing its tune every now and then.

If the Straits Time were to interview indigenious Singapore citizens, the responses would probably be similar. Talk is cheap. Who wants to attract unnecessary attention by scolding the ruling party?

Even if there were disgruntle voices, Straits Time would make sure that these do not get reported.

It not a matter of freedom of expression or not.

Corrupted leaders and trecherous leaders cannot be tolerated. Why must ppl in sg tolerate it?

If can tolerate, then anyhow select can liao, right?

NEXT GE is the last chance for Sporns to overthrow the Familee TRAITORS + FAPEE DOGS to stave off EXTINCTION!

Of course new convert Singapore citizen will support current gov/PAP. If not why do they want to convert to Singaporean?
When they convert to Pink IC. They can buy new flat and also get grant.
They will also received GST rebate,..............all benefit as Singaporean.

The Labour Party in UK is guilty of using immigration for its political gains.

See

http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/news/e...ants-was-borderline-treason-and-plain-stupid/

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/debate/c...bour-voters-shameful-I-hardly-believe-it.html

We need to stop this shameless partisan PAP immigration policy to re-engineer the country into PAP voters for its own political advantage!

We will lose our Singapore soon. Go all out to rally your friends for this coming GE. It’s now or never!

just now, I took a cab back home from town,throughout the journey,uncle and i were talking about our local politics. He stayed in Hougang and was saying how the whole of ave 5 support WP. He was very disgusted with lao goh saying he is a smiling tiger! According to him, there is a small group in Marine Parade wanting to dig some dirt in the RC but RC made police report. Anybody know what is going on in Marine Parade,please comment,thanks!

Looks like the times have been kind to you, from driving cab to taking cab.

ya...I took cab today as i have back pain for standing and walking the whole day. I hurt my back when I was in army,too naive,occifer ask to chiong, i chiong,now my back hurt...:mad:

But the more interesting thing is to talk to uncle,know what is Hougang's stand on coming election. Very interesting... I will be going to Hougang's rally to hear them speak!

Looks like the times have been kind on you, from driving cab to taking cab.

ya...I took cab today as i have back pain for standing and walking the whole day. I hurt my back when I was in army,too naive,occifer ask to chiong, i chiong,now my back hurt...:mad:

Weak is weak. No need excuse. How come nothing happened to me and hundreds of thousands of others? But if your officer happened to be Lt. (now Cpt.) Goh Meng Seng, I can understand. He was mad on.

But the more interesting thing is to talk to uncle,know what is Hougang's stand on coming election. Very interesting... I will be going to Hougang's rally to hear them speak!

You haven't been to an opposition rally before? Zzz... Wake up your idea!

hey,btw, I received a phone call on a morning few months back,apparently awakened by it and was told "wrong number". I have a strong feeling that the guy is you...sneaky fella...:rolleyes::p:D

Weak is weak. No need excuse. How come nothing happened to me and hundreds of thousands of others? But if your officer happened to be Lt. (now Cpt.) Goh Meng Seng, I can understand. He was mad on.

You haven't been to an opposition rally before? Zzz... Wake up your idea!

Adding on, I will also come to GMS's rally to show my support!;)

June 24, 2010 by admin

Written by Ng E-Jay
24 June 2010

hey,btw, I received a phone call on a morning few months back,apparently awakened by it and was told "wrong number". I have a strong feeling that the guy is you...sneaky fella...:rolleyes::p:D

Who's so 无聊?I never give telco free profit.

The PAP strategy all along is to stay in perpectual and hold on to their mega dollar salaries. Granting new citizens to immigrants is part of the strategy. Why should they care about the real citizens when the new influx of quitters will vote for them?

whenever i post bad criticisms about SDP IB and its ninjas and turtles, my phone rings non stop.

wahlaneh...
ofcoz those new citizens will support papaya lah coz they dunnoe the good old history of Singapore mah.
tell them all those painful, ugly n bad experiences maybe they might change their minds.

GMS, don't press panic button lah. New citizens less than 30,000 a year. Not all can vote, as some are children and not voting age. Versus a couple of million of voting Sinkies, there is still a long way to go for them to have a serious impact on singapore politics, if at all.