• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sri Mulyani Indrawati vs PAP Scholars

After bullshitting Singaporeans for 5 decades the PAP has yet to have any of its sons or daughters climb this high on the International Stage. Imagine a 47 year old Indonesian lady has secured the post of MD for the World Bank. Not an easy feat.

Where did we go wrong?

After bullshitting Singaporeans for 5 decades the PAP has yet to have any of its sons or daughters climb this high on the International Stage. Imagine a 47 year old Indonesian lady has secured the post of MD for the World Bank. Not an easy feat.

Where did we go wrong?

Pappies are afraid that if sinkies were to be put in high positions, (eg. CEOs of banks, public intitutions and finance companies, etc... other than their own cadres like Tony Tan or Dhanabalan), these highly qualified experienced ppl will turn against the PAP and stand for presidential election.

Better to employed FTs in all these high positions and like sinkies eat shit than allowed them to be a threat to their rule.

Where did we go wrong?

We didn't bribe the directors at WB enough, the Indonesians have plenty of experience and expertise in this area :D

Where did we go wrong?

Our DBS Bank, none on this planet can compare...what is world bank? HJ is better than any world banker, all of them pale in comparison. Where on earth you can have access to unlimited funds, looses money no need to account for mistakes make; and is also related to the source of funds & someone they 'trust' hold the KEY to to vault; who wonder, "why Am I Here"?

World Bank position ...nuthing!:D

Tell you a story and you will get the picture. In the mid 90s onwards , DBS began to recruit foreigners to cover their main positions. It started with John Olds.

They have had as a Head of Fraud and Security a British Chap who was previously with HK Police. Even the local auditors are scared of him. While at Barclays at Canary Wharf, the Head of Fraud Management for their Global Retail Bank is guy who was born, schooled and did his NS in Singapore. Imagine this guy heading a similar function for a Global bank in the thick of London while in tiny Singapore, we are paying big bucks to someone who can't even sell koyok in his own hometown in the UK.

During the mini bond crisis, he recruited an ang mo HK days drinking buddy to conduct "complex" investigation. The HK authorities in the meantime handled the whole thing themselves. What complex investigation? It more like did the aunty who it bought know english?

Our DBS Bank, none on this planet can compare...what is world bank? HJ is better than any world banker, all of them pale in comparison. Where on earth you can have access to unlimited funds, looses money no need to account for mistakes make; and is also related to the source of funds & someone they 'trust' hold the KEY to to vault; who wonder, "why Am I Here"?

World Bank position ...nuthing!:D

It's the Singapore system. Old Man has a bad track record of picking losers, but once he has dropped a hint from on high, maybe he didnt even say go ahead but rather something like "I've heard he is quite good", the lower cogs of the machinery will dare not question, on the false assumption that what comes from on high must be perfect and well researched, and who are they lower minions anyway to question the gods? Yawning Bread wrote something on this lately titled "at the feet of the gods", and I tend to agree that is Singapore's system, and it is dangerous; and at best, silly and frustrating.

Tell you a story and you will get the picture. In the mid 90s onwards , DBS began to recruit foreigners to cover their main positions. It started with John Olds.

They have had as a Head of Fraud and Security a British Chap who was previously with HK Police. Even the local auditors are scared of him. While at Barclays at Canary Wharf, the Head of Fraud Management for their Global Retail Bank is guy who was born, schooled and did his NS in Singapore. Imagine this guy heading a similar function for a Global bank in the thick of London while in tiny Singapore, we are paying big bucks to someone who can't even sell koyok in his own hometown in the UK.

During the mini bond crisis, he recruited an ang mo HK days drinking buddy to conduct "complex" investigation. The HK authorities in the meantime handled the whole thing themselves. What complex investigation? It more like did the aunty who it bought know english?

He has cocooned himself at the Istana for so long that he he has no clue what is going on.

He is still can't understand how HSBC became the largest bank in the world while Standard Chartered and DBS both majority owned by Singaporeans have done fuckall. Bear in mind that both SCB and HSBC started as note issuing banks in HK.

With the appointment of Peter Seah, this is the 3rd stab to get this right.

As to your point - one has to look at Kishore Mahbubani, a President scholar who goes to extraordinary lengths to parrot his master.

At the other end is Tommy Koh - not a product of scholar scheme and he speaks his mind.

It's the Singapore system. Old Man has a bad track record of picking losers, but once he has dropped a hint from on high, maybe he didnt even say go ahead but rather something like "I've heard he is quite good", the lower cogs of the machinery will dare not question, on the false assumption that what comes from on high must be perfect and well researched, and who are they lower minions anyway to question the gods? Yawning Bread wrote something on this lately titled "at the feet of the gods", and I tend to agree that is Singapore's system, and it is dangerous; and at best, silly and frustrating.

Where did we go wrong?

The answer is simple - the PAP appoints Sinkies in high places only if they are willing to worship the Old Man and pinky and confrom to their wishes, even to the extend of selling Sinkies out - and not to do the right thing for Singapore.

He has cocooned himself at the Istana for so long that he he has no clue what is going on.

He is still can't understand how HSBC became the largest bank in the world while Standard Chartered and DBS both majority owned by Singaporeans have done fuckall. Bear in mind that both SCB and HSBC started as note issuing banks in HK.

As to your point - one has to look at Kishore Mahbubani, a President scholar who goes to extraordinary lengths to parrot his master.

At the other end is Tommy Koh - not a product of scholar scheme and he speaks his mind.

all old man has to do is utter gibberish in his sleep, and an army of minions will go all out to carry out his snoring will, without keeping tabs on spend nor feedback. that contact sg monstrosity is still chugging along, either roguishly or on auto-pilot. once they start a mini-empire on energizer battery, they don't when or how to shut it down. i keep receiving spam mail from contact sg. here's the latest:

"Singapore is where it's all happening. As a pro-business global city, it abounds with career opportunities for everyone - in particular, we look forward to welcoming global talent, including overseas Singaporeans who are looking to demonstrate their innovativeness in their chosen profession.

Many career-minded professionals are already reaping the benefits of working in vibrant Singapore, a financial centre of international repute and lists major growth industries such as biomedical sciences, electronics, chemicals, interactive & digital media, healthcare, professional services, R&D and many more

By clicking on either of these buttons below, you'll have the opportunity to fast-track your career in a cosmopolitan society and see your capabilities grow from strength to strength."

How can we have a Mulyani from within the scholars when they are internally validated and rewarded by how well they carry their masters' balls? Only very few of our scholars are like to stand scrutiny in an externally validated system. But that really is a moot point, why would any person want to slog in the World Bank when they can get paid equally (if not better) in the Mininstries, doing less work and having more power?

Why indeed?

Having been in the public service for a while, I know what it is like. You have to have the balls to make any suggestion that perhaps yr masters were wrong. It is often a career ending move so one has to prepare for eventual exit, if one does not come overnight. First yr immed superior will give you that incredulous look and raised eyebrows to signal you to back down from whatever outrageous correction you are about to make. And if you are so foolhardy enough to press on in the belief that you have Singapore's wider interests at heart and everybody including yr political masters will appreciate that and go on to appeal to yr boss' boss, he'll wag his head and either over-rule you for fear of his own career security or totally distance himself from yr madcap rants. Thus nothing survives the system's own self-censor mechanism. Unless you are somebody like Ngiam Tong Dow who had the privilege of an elbow's touch with the Minister direct.

We didn't bribe the directors at WB enough, the Indonesians have plenty of experience and expertise in this area :D

This Mulyani must be a talent, a female in charge of the finances of a muslim nation :eek: Heard on CNBC some angmo saying it is a loss to Indonesia & a gain for WB.

Spore has its Ho Ching but I really doubt the WB pays enough to attract such talents :rolleyes:

The mandarin system in Singapore has to evolve and changed.

The government scholarship system has created a few problems. Wouldn't it be better for the schools and universities to issue more scholarships instead og going through PSC and the various GLCs and government institutions?

Local universities' graduates have little fellowship. The Alumni strength is weak as compared to many top universities in the world. If the universities are the ones who issue scholarships and education grants to poor Singapore students with no bonds whatsoever, I think they would have grown far much better in bonding their graduates.

The government agencies could then employ these people. The present system has created talent hogging by the government and its agencies. This does not help the economy at large.

Goh Meng Seng

It proves one thing. All those lky gentic and Chinese being a superior race theory is bullshit and was intentionally propagated in such a way at those time simply to boost the low esteem Chinese migrants. This is true because at those times the peasants were of a lower stock and were brought here just to be enslave by oppurtunist like lky. They were able to stay ahead of other races because of the oppurtunities they received by the guangxi principles. Now when lky open the door for real competition and compete against prc, Indian and Indonesian, they simply collasped and are beaten hands down. Now they are only left with one option. Either be good to lky and beg him to favor them again or start the migration cycle again like their ancestors. The end

Read in some book written by a local don that when Old Man requested Deng Xiao Peng to get the Communists off his back, the then Chinese PM asked for Dr Goh to become his economic adviser in exchange as part of the deal. Old man wasn't quite ready at the time to release him so Deng made him owe a rain check which as we all know now, he cashed in after a number of years (tho posthumously). So maybe Old Man had at least a bragging right, tho it wasnt on the international stage and also the fact that GKS was self-made and his peer and not 'made' by the LKY system.

Where did we go wrong?

Having been in the public service for a while, I know what it is like. You have to have the balls to make any suggestion that perhaps yr masters were wrong. It is often a career ending move so one has to prepare for eventual exit, if one does not come overnight. First yr immed superior will give you that incredulous look and raised eyebrows to signal you to back down from whatever outrageous correction you are about to make. And if you are so foolhardy enough to press on in the belief that you have Singapore's wider interests at heart and everybody including yr political masters will appreciate that and go on to appeal to yr boss' boss, he'll wag his head and either over-rule you for fear of his own career security or totally distance himself from yr madcap rants. Thus nothing survives the system's own self-censor mechanism. Unless you are somebody like Ngiam Tong Dow who had the privilege of an elbow's touch with the Minister direct.
The incredulous look and raised eyebrow is still ok. That happens in the private sector as well.
What I know is one high ranking civil servant who when she hears something that she does not agree with or if she thinks sounds incredulous, makes an exaggerated gesture of putting her hand on the table and her head on top of the hand, as if in exasperation.
That's how high handed some of them are.

He specifically asked for CPM radio to be shut down. Deng agreed. Chin Peng was devastated as that was one and only activity left and it was gone.

Read in some book written by a local don that when Old Man requested Deng Xiao Peng to get the Communists off his back, the then Chinese PM asked for Dr Goh to become his economic adviser in exchange as part of the deal. Old man wasn't quite ready at the time to release him so Deng made him owe a rain check which as we all know now, he cashed in after a number of years (tho posthumously). So maybe Old Man had at least a bragging right, tho it wasnt on the international stage and also the fact that GKS was self-made and his peer and not 'made' by the LKY system.

Where did we go wrong?

Think, thick head. There is nothing that we did wrong.

Some of these international posts in UN and World Bank pay much less than what our ministers get for all the positions they hold. Salary-wise it's not worth the efforts -unless they are there for the glory.

I bet you that the Indonesian Finance minister salary is much less than our junior ministers. At World Bank she'll get est. US$300,000 a year or US$25,000 a month - which is lesser than what our CEOs gets at Singtel or DBS. (But a bonaza to Mulyani = Indon Rupiah 2,774.1 million)

Anyway what she has done for Indonesia is nothing short of what our Finance Minister has been doing all along - if not much better. Because the passage of finance bills in parliament is rather smooth going, there is nothing to shout about.

But Indonesia is different because their houses need a lot of fixing - and nobody wants to fix it. And if one is able to fix just a part of the broken house successfully, then it becomes an achievement. Do you know that Mulyani was the one who raised the salary of the civil servants so as to minimise temptations from corruption - a policy that Singapore has done since day one of the PAP government???? (And yet some Sporeans KPKB about this.)

Anyway she is just going to be a regional Managing Director - not the President of World Bank, which is still controlled by the angmoh. Anway if you are looking for Sporeans holding UN posts, there are some - for example, even a small fry university professor is holding a director post in UN eg Professor Paul Cheung, the Director of the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD), Department of Economic and Social Affairs at the United Nations Headquarters in New York. . There are others.

Indonesian ministers take up political positions not because of the money - they are paid very little - but more for the power and influence which could lead to greater wealth.

You got no clue what transpires in the International space. This lady has been praised by many nations shortly after taking office and issuing a slew of policies that was found to be sound.

She has been rated highly as the best Finance Minister in Asia.

Your ignorance is staggering. By your logic, I suppose Singapore Ministers did not stand for US Presidency because it pays less.

Think, thick head. There is nothing that we did wrong.

Some of these international posts in UN and World Bank pay much less than what our ministers get for all the positions they hold. Salary-wise it's not worth the efforts -unless they are there for the glory.