• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Squash, Badminton or Tennis; for those above 40's ?..

Fishypie

Tried aLL 3 racquet games for the Last week.Have to make a decision soon,as i wouLd be then spLurging some $ into my preferred choice of game from footwears to racket types etcc..:cool:
Insofar, i think badminton shouLd be the most accomodating one; any feedbacks from bros here ?..

maybe a bit too late to indulge in any. maybe should take up biking or golf.

Tried aLL 3 racquet games for the Last week.Have to make a decision soon,as i wouLd be then spLurging some $ into my preferred choice of game from footwears to racket types etcc..:cool:
Insofar, i think badminton shouLd be the most accomodating one; any feedbacks from bros here ?..

Badminton only if playing doubles. Singles behtahan.

Tennis is the best because less start/stop and directional changes which can cause injuries.

For past time I think any of these are good provided you can get regular kaki to play with you.
If you are looking into staying healthy and problem getting kaki for your games, may I suggest that you go to gym.
With gym routine it is at your own time and own pace.

For past time I think any of these are good provided you can get regular kaki to play with you.
If you are looking into staying healthy and problem getting kaki for your games, may I suggest that you go to gym.
With gym routine it is at your own time and own pace.

Never Liked non-competitive workouts.They can bore you to death.Sorry if i am too direct..

All these are partner games....you need friends of the same level to play against...
So you want to take up first make sure you got kakis...

maybe a bit too late to indulge in any. maybe should take up biking or golf.
Kawan, goLf is an expensive hobby La; pLus the fLipside is, you wouLd tend to put on more caLories after your game more often than not !...:eek::D

Played all 3 sports before.. Frankly speaking, squash and tennis can really make my legs go wobbly due to the intense running..

Budget wise, I think badminton rackets and shoes are quite affordable.. For less than $100, can easily get yourself a good Yonex racket and a good sports shoe..

Only few months ago, thought of making a '' comeback '' in tennis when my bro in law asked me to join him for a game.. Thought of buying a new racket.. Went to Sports Link shop to survey some tennis rackets.. The cheapest was $49, a low quality racket from Prince.. Decided not to buy it and instead used my trusty old Head racket..

All these are partner games....you need friends of the same level to play against...
So you want to take up first make sure you got kakis...

Kakis aside, no probLem..now it's which game to induLge in ?; each one have their own's preference..*scratch head*

Played all 3 sports before.. Frankly speaking, squash and tennis can really make my legs go wobbly due to the intense running..

Budget wise, I think badminton rackets and shoes are quite affordable.. For less than $100, can easily get yourself a good Yonex racket and a good sports shoe..

Only few months ago, thought of making a '' comeback '' in tennis when my bro in law asked me to join him for a game.. Thought of buying a new racket.. Went to Sports Link shop to survey some tennis rackets.. The cheapest was $49, a low quality racket from Prince.. Decided not to buy it and instead used my trusty old Head racket..

Bro zed, did i get you wrong ?..now an entry LeveL of Yonex's is cLose to 200 bucks !..reaLLy can't beLieve it.:(

Ahh really ahh..???? Thats means I'm out of touch with badminton for a long time liao..

I always thought you can get a good Yonex badminton racket for $50 to $80..

Ahh really ahh..???? Thats means I'm out of touch with badminton for a long time liao..

No more.At best you can get for this price is the LiNing made in China brand..:eek:

Used to play with a Yonex Carbonex 15 racket. I think cost me 100 plus in the 90s.

ExactLy what i had in mind..Looking at doubLes too; especiaLLy mixed ones ...;)

good one!!! yes i love mixed doubles...singles cannot tahan leh....your knees better don't get injured leh...

Go & swim, only equiptment needed is swim trunks & goggles, entry fee is $1, can get competative if you got swim buddy & do lengths. Overall full body work out & good cardio-vascular.. additional bonus got nice "fishes" to look at. Those racket games i played before until my knees all nearly kena damaged, same as pounding the pavement jogging, the older you get the more teruk it'll be. SG so many pools, not like there's no pools or very EX like in other countries. My 2cts. :)

BrO FiSh, go brisk walking lah...good for you and your spouse....:) Many of my kakis all kena knee problems and even back problems playing badminton...Now many go brisk walking....:)

Tennis is the best because less start/stop and directional changes which can cause injuries.

Sorry mama drama....

Rolled ankles from directional change, tennis elbows from improper stroke production, back problems and hammy from serves, wrapped up knees from all the jumping and body impacts..

PLus only hard courts in Singapore.. Not good for the aging bodies..

:D