• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sporn Retrenched to Save FTrash. WHAT THE FCUK IS HAPPENING?

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - The only Singaporean in team asked to GO</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>LauZoeTay <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>7:06 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 10) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>19822.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Somebody in fuckwarezone posted this, why do you people think??
Doing a favor for a friend as he does not have an account here, who would like to seek suggestions from all helpful bros and sis here, and perhaps from the government.

Basically, he is Singaporean, connected with an MNC for more than 10yrs now, has excellent record of performance and attitude, and is now told by his new boss to look for another job. If we think of the ongoing economic and business situation, I thought there is no issue on this, until my friend shared more details.

It turns out that my friend is the only local Singaporean in their department, and the rest are expats (you probably can guess the discrepancy of the salary and benefits of a local vs an expat). The boss is also an expat, and has maintained that headcount reduction is driven by slowing business and to save costs, and has nothing to do with performance or behaviour. I also understand that expats are ONLY justified when there are no local talents available, but this is clear contradiction to take out local talent while retaining the more expensive foreign talent.

It's easy to side with my friend as he is my good friend, but what about you dear bros and sis. I believe that SG government will not tolerate such approach without due reason, especially that many people look up to SG government for it's ability to maintain harmony among various race and religion. Would appreciate your helpful comments.

The questions that need your opinions/suggestions are:
1. Is the MNC allowed to implement such kind of approach without violating SG labor laws?
2. What/where is the best venue for my friend to raise this issue in a formal manner?
3. Other comments and suggestions that may help.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>ficklebug <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>7:28 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>LauZoeTay <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right> </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>hi LauZoeTay, i dun know how to put it but if u go around n take a good look, u will find out the sad truth about Singgies. Singgies r shying away from one another, they even form a small alien group n kick out other singgies they dun like or r harmless to them. While the foreigners r sticking together in a bigger group at coffeeshops. They dun care whether their own ppl r educated or not, all they care is how to take care of one another at a foreign country.</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE class=msgtablealt cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt22 <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>8:07 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>LauZoeTay <NOBR></NOBR>unread</TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (6 of 10) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>19822.6 in reply to 19822.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>>> The questions that need your opinions/suggestions are:
1. Is the MNC allowed to implement such kind of approach without violating SG labor laws?

Yes, of course. There is no laws being violated here. For EP cases, that is, $2500 and above, there is no FT quota. So, technically speaking, a company can employ 100% FTs without a single SG. If you can, get your friend to write to forum and expose this... I sense that even 144th leeporters are frustrated with FTs too (probably seen more and more FTs coming in to replace them liao... HAHA).
This kind of case, no point going see MP lah...

2. What/where is the best venue for my friend to raise this issue in a formal manner?
No point write to PAP MPs, PM etc lah... this is PAP's policy.... they are so hardup to get foreigners to set up shop here that they are willing to consider a shop with 0 SG but 100% FTs... perhaps write to Oppo MPs or NMP Viswa lah... or 144th....
3. Other comments and suggestions that may help.
Comments? Just get your friend to spread around... don't vote for PAP in the next election... use himself as an example...

[email protected]

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>