• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

S'poreans prefer instant relief like GST credits

metalslug

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,4136,191018,00.html?

By Tan May Ping

January 28, 2009

NP_NEWS_1_CURRENT_MPBUD27.jpg

TNP INFOGRAPHICS: JONATHAN ROBERTS

HELPING businesses survive the sharp downturn and saving jobs formed the thrust of this year's Budget.

But to the man in the street, cash in hand is what matters.

This emerged from a random poll of 200 Singaporeans conducted by The New Paper over the weekend.

When asked which of the Budget goodies made them most happy, almost a third singled out the doubling of GST credits.

The reason: It served their immediate needs.

As civil servant Preeti Rai, 23, put it: 'It is the only item that I can benefit directly from.'

In addition to what Singaporeans will get in July as part of the 2007 GST Offset Package, there will be one more payout this year.

This payment, to be made on 1 Mar, will cost the Government $580 million.

The next favourite Budget goody was the Jobs Credit scheme, to help companies with their wage bills.

One in four of those polled favoured this innovative measure, under which the Government will pay 12 per cent of the first $2,500 of the wages of citizens and permanent residents.

The reason for their choice: It would help stave off retrenchments.

The $4.5 billion temporary wage subsidy is the single biggest item in the Budget, and is equivalent to a 9 percentage point cut in employers' CPF contributions.

Hope

It gives hope even to soon-to-be job seekers like undergraduate Lee Ting Jun.

Mr Lee said: 'As a student about to graduate, I am concerned about employment prospects, and this scheme will definitely boost my chances of finding a job in the future.

'With the cost of employment now lower, employers might be more willing to employ Singaporean workers during this financial crisis, and this directly benefits me.'

The other Budget measures that people polled were pleased about were again those that would help them save money.

Some picked the property tax rebate, personal income tax rebate, and others the service and conservancy charge rebates for households.

A handful were heartened that the Government is looking to the future and will invest in infrastructure, health care and education.

As a mother, housewife Madam Ivy Neo, 44, felt it was important to invest in children.

Madam Neo said: 'There are children who are restricted in many areas because of this financial crisis. If children are enriched because of government aid, it will naturally help our economy improve in the long term.'

Another interviewee, Emeritus Professor Lee Seng Lip at the National University of Singapore, 84, said that a country cannot achieve economic development without good infrastructure.

'This is the reason why Singapore has done so well economically in the last 20 to 30 years,' Prof Lee said.

'Building roads and bridges will create more jobs, and is necessary as it leads to long-term economic benefits.'

Tapping into past reserves caught the attention of only six of those interviewed.

Mr Melvin Cher, 31, who is a teacher, said he felt better about the uncertain times knowing that there are enough reserves that can be used if needed.

Mr Cher said: 'It is heartening to see how much has been put in place to help the common Singaporean cope. However, I'm not sure if these measures are quick fixes rather that long-term solutions.'

Ironically, despite the massive $20.5 billion bonanza, 10 of those interviewed were more excited by news that bus and train fares are set to go down this year.

The announcement came on Friday, just a day after the Budget.

Line manager John Tang, 46, said: 'The Budget doesn't seem to affect me much because it is targeting businesses. I am more interested in transport fares because it would help my family more.'

Out of the 200 polled, only 13 people were unimpressed with the Budget measures.

Mechanical engineer Patrick Liow, 51, said the Government should have dipped more into the reserves, and given out vouchers which he felt would have been of more use.

Additional reporting by Stacey Chia, Eoin Ee, Joanna Hor, Bernice Huang, Julian Lee, Sing Keng Loon, Audrey Tan, Pearly Tan, Su Vien Tan and Geraldine Yeo

sunny302

In these times :(, cash in hand is definitely what matters to the man in the streets especially the elderly.

Another spin and spin... Singaporeans prefer lower cost of living and not GST relief.

It is like you punch the guy and then show kindness by bring him to the hospital. Then in the first place , dun punch the guy lah, then no need to waste time, effort and money to send him to hospital.

So that is how PAP runs the country.

The_Latest_H

They need instant cash for now, for sure. But investments in education, improving the efficiency of health care(without increasing the costs), infrastructure are also needed.

But what's even more important is the financial system needs strong reformal restructuring. People also need to be involved more in the local economy, and this means that rentals and other costs for SMEs should be lowered permanently to more reasonable levels- so that these companies can expand.

We also need to realise that Singaporeans need to have access, fair and equal, to jobs that pay well and which allows work-life balance so that they can balance family life with work life. If people are retrenched and are forced to be waiters, or do other menial jobs, people won't spend all that much, and they won't have time and money to spend for each other(if they are together as a couple, married/otherwise). All this affects the economy and on a personal individual basis.

DerekLeung

It is like you punch the guy and then show kindness by bring him to the hospital. Then in the first place , dun punch the guy lah, then no need to waste time, effort and money to send him to hospital.

So that is how PAP runs the country.

Haha.

PAP is one step higher. PAP takes a knife and stab you he makes you bleed.
PAP uses your blood to make painting, sells the painting for some money.
While you are bleeding, brings you to hospital to keep you alive.
You are worth more to them while you are alive.
While you lying there. PAP makes you donate blood.
Patients are automatic opt in unless patients state otherwise.
While they make you donate blood, blood are sold to other users !

tiulehloumoh

Haha.

PAP is one step higher. PAP takes a knife and stab you he makes you bleed.
PAP uses your blood to make painting, sells the painting for some money.
While you are bleeding, brings you to hospital to keep you alive.
You are worth more to them while you are alive.
While you lying there. PAP makes you donate blood.
Patients are automatic opt in unless patients state otherwise.
While they make you donate blood, blood are sold to other users !

Ha ha ha,
Who say papy is one step higher. Asshole forumer like you are two step higher than the papy that is you, ass hole here can think of such reasoning........

ha ha ha.....