• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

S'pore Doctors given expired Tamiflu by MOH

SNAblog

http://www.techgoondu.com/2009/06/25/doctors-given-expired-tamiflu-in-singapore/

Techgoondu, 25 Jun 2009

Doctors given expired Tamiflu in Singapore

Singapore’s Ministry of Health has sent expired Tamiflu supplies to the general practitioner’s in Singapore. Tamiflu, which comes in boxes of 10 pills each, is the anti-viral drug for th H1N1 flu. According to the report and to my own sources as well, these Tamiflu meds hve expiry dates of 2007, and was manufactured in 2003. MOH has added a sticker that says that these meds can be used beyond their shelf life - to 2010.

MOH’s circular to the GPs say this:

We would like to assure you that the extension is with the approval from the manufacturer (Roche), U.S Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and our Health Sciences Authority. This extention is made possible due to our stringent conditioning and maintenance requirements in our storage facilities. The efficacy of the drug is not compromised in any way and is fit for usage.

Straits Times has done really well to get doctors to give their response.

Dr Wong Tien Hua, a general practitioner in Sengkang, said an expiry date can vouch for a drug’s effectiveness only for that period. ‘If it is past the expiry date, the effectiveness of the drug might not be good,’ he said, adding that someone with the H1N1 virus might take longer to recover if given ‘expired’ medication. (from ST)

Agreeing, Dr Vincent Chia, deputy director of Healthway Medical, said although it is a national stockpile, the onus will still be on the doctor to explain to patients. ‘Tamiflu is not without its side effects…so when that happens we won’t know if it’s because the drugs are expired or because of the side effects,’ he said. (from ST)

For the full story, go to ST.com here http://www.straitstimes.com/Prime+News/Story/STIStory_394934.html

-----------------------------

Latest at Singapore News Alternative:

1. Doctors given expired Tamiflu in Singapore
2. 50 CIMB Traders In Singapore Under Quarantine For H1N1 Risk
3. Singapore's planned Resorts World at Sentosa expects fewer visitors
4. Singapore Armed Force (SAF) steps up measures against H1N1 Virus
5. UK Tax Rise Could Increase Immigration to Singapore
6. David family feels unfairly treated by Singapore court
7. Concerns over Temasek's investment in China Construction Bank as lending irregularities were uncovered.
8. DBS Vickers Securities to take six firms to a roadshow in Thailand
9. Firefly to link Singapore to Alor Setar and Kota Baru
10. Nuclear-powered Aircraft Carrier USS Ronald Reagan Arrives in Singapore for Port Visit
11. Lawyer doesn't know fugitive Joko Tjandra is in Singapore
12. S'pore rated 11th as emigration choice, New Zealand at top spot
13. Singapore Company Gets Around India's Ban On It's Howitzers Gun
14. Singaporization of American education and Americanization of Singapore education?

Latest video added:

1. Peter Schiff's Vlog Report - 24 Jun 2009

TeeKee

Wah World Class Healthcare is not cheap u know?

Why MOH so cheapstakes?

Some jerks must be hoardings those new Tamiflus..

MarrickG

No lah...I think our SAF should try this...it is part of their national service...Maju Camp???

TeeKee

Why Tamil Flu?

Chilli and Spices is good enough.

Neber heard of widespread infections of SARs/Swine in Ah Neh country?

lidat can save gahmen alot of moni 1 ... can eat dun waste ...

moni saved can go n squander off wif another rd of bye hi sell low @ ze nex best opportunity ...

Wah World Class Healthcare is not cheap u know?

Why MOH so cheapstakes?

Some jerks must be hoardings those new Tamiflus..

The new batches of Tamiflu are reserved for the "members", members have their privileges...haven't you being asked the often repeated question. "MEMBER" :mad:

Oh! I forgot the lesser mortals gets the extended expriry date Tamiflu from Roach..oops!..ROCHE!:biggrin:

FuckSamLeong

fuck you lah, everywhere i post response, you attack me personally with something irrelevant to thread

cheebyekia loser

come on SAFGU guard dog, we are old friends, How about we fuck your Sichuan whore together. I cum into her first, then you can take a dip in my juice. lol...lol..restaurant owner sell lohmoh haiyoke!...lol

Eurekas

Next in line will be giving cheap generic Tamilfool to the peasants whereas the elite members gets the real original drug from the parent company so as to save cost for the clinics and hospitals

Big Sexy

someone please ask that cow if he will take sub standard product or not...
singaporean are getting ripped off big time..:mad:

I suggest that this batch of 'expired' Tamiflu be given to the Ah Nehs and FTs to test first!

Good ideas. All MPs must test 1st especially those who make comment must take 3 times the doses. Every hospital and polyclinic director must test 1st also before sell the tamiflu.

ScarFace

emea.gif

European Medicines Agency recommendations on extension of shelf life for Tamiflu

The European Medicines Agency has recommended that the shelf life of Tamiflu capsules should be extended from five to seven years. Once formally approved by the European Commission, this will apply to all newly manufactured Tamiflu capsules.

In view of the recent outbreak of the novel influenza A/H1N1 virus, the European Medicines Agency has also reviewed ways to use Tamiflu capsules in case of a shortage. The Agency's Committee for Medicinal Products for Human Use (CHMP) recommended that Tamiflu capsules that are already on the market may be used for up to two more years after their current five-year expiry date during a declared pandemic. Patients who have Tamiflu capsules that have recently expired should not dispose of them because they might be needed during a novel influenza A/H1N1 pandemic.

The recommendations are made by the Committee as part of a wider request from Agency's Executive Director Thomas Lönngren to look into ways to prevent shortages of antiviral medicines and to ensure that the medicines are available to those who might need them. These recommendations will only apply if a pandemic has been declared by the World Health Organization (WHO).

Antiviral medicines such as Tamiflu play an important role in the management of an influenza pandemic. Unlike vaccines, which are normally not available during the early stages of a pandemic, antivirals can be used right from the onset of the pandemic. Governments worldwide have been stockpiling these medicines, including Tamiflu, to make them available to the public, in accordance with national preparedness plans.

More information is available in a question-and-answer document.