• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Splashing $400,000 to put butterflies in Orchard Rd

SNAblog

Look like the Govt's coffer is overflowing with money that they do not know how to splurge them fast enough.
Since they are spending $400,000 putting insects in Orchard road, might as well spend a couple hundred thousands more to put goldfishes in the canal for the next flood.
:mad:

356679_c01ace8664_o.jpg

http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20100622-223370.html

Butterflies to brighten up Orchard Road soon
Tue, Jun 22, 2010
my paper

BY SIA LING XIN

THE latest attraction in Singapore's busiest shopping district, Orchard Road, will be a trail - not for shopping, but for butterfly viewing.

Pockets of greenery in the Orchard area will be linked to form a green corridor that spans 4km, from Singapore Botanic Gardens to Fort Canning, called the Butterfly Trail.

Plants that attract butterflies - mainly nectar plants that are a source of food and shelter for caterpillars and butterflies - will be planted along this stretch over two years.

The Nature Society (Singapore) or NSS, which is spearheading the $400,000 project, aims to attract 50 species of butterflies, including the common birdwing and leopard lacewing, to move into the area, up from some 20 species that it has spotted there.

Its partners are the National Parks Board (NParks), the Singapore Tourism Board and the Orchard Road Business Association. The presence of butterflies indicates good air quality, as they are not attracted to polluted areas, said Dr Geh Min, the NSS' immediate past president.

This trail will offer urban dwellers a chance to get closer to nature, she added.

"There are many nature trails in Singapore, but they might be a little out of the way for people who do not specially go on them. We hope that planting a trail along a shopping belt will make appreciating nature more accessible," Dr Geh said.

She believes that planting more shrubs and trees will also help alleviate the risk of a flood, like last week's in Orchard Road, from occurring again.

"Trees and plants, with their thickets of leaves and their roots firmly in soil, will slow down the rain and help the soil absorb it," she said. This means that less water will flow into the drainage system, Dr Geh explained.

The NSS worked with Alexandra Hospital to create a butterfly trail there in 2001, and also with Changi Airport to create a butterfly garden in 2007.

Yesterday, Ambassador at Large at the Foreign Affairs Ministry Tommy Koh and other guests helped plant shrubs and trees on a 170-sq m plot along the Butterfly Trail near Nassim and Tanglin roads. More than 900 shrubs and 24 trees were planted in the plot, which NParks will maintain.

Tanglin resident Nicole Shuester, 44, a music teacher, said: "I'm really excited about seeing the butterflies. My husband and I take walks around the area every other day, and it'd be great to see some."

This is a great complementary project!!

After they spend $10,000,000 to integrate FT, it is great to earmark $400,000 to create a therapeutic effect for the FTs in orchard road.

1-3.jpg

I have tons of money to spend on useless stuffs like putting butterflies in Orchard Rd, invest in money losing SuZhou, and TV Mobile on SBS buses.

But I have no money to increased your poor Sinkies handout monthly allowance of $360 per month.

Get it Sinkies ah!!!

Plants that attract butterflies - mainly nectar plants that are a source of food and shelter for caterpillars and butterflies - will be planted along this stretch over two years.

Caterpillars droppings on the pavement will be plentiful and good for pedestrians to slip and fall.

She believes that planting more shrubs and trees will also help alleviate the risk of a flood, like last week's in Orchard Road, from occurring again.

"Trees and plants, with their thickets of leaves and their roots firmly in soil, will slow down the rain and help the soil absorb it," she said. This means that less water will flow into the drainage system, Dr Geh explained.

The official reason for the flood given by PUB was that the canal was choked with debris and vegetation. More shrubs and trees could only mean more chokes and more floods.

Waste money project are going to fail. With so many vehicle zoom zoom in the Orchard area. Noise level and carbon monoxide going to kill all the bitterflies and scare then away from the area.

1-3.jpg

I have tons of money to spend on useless stuffs like putting butterflies in Orchard Rd, invest in money losing SuZhou, and TV Mobile on SBS buses.

But I have no money to increased your poor Sinkies handout monthly allowance of $360 per month.

Get it Sinkies ah!!!

lee-hsien-loong.jpg

This year i am leaving this.....(use fingers to form a nuimber) for the poor....hahaha!

DSC_1809.jpg

So what do you want hah???

3 meals in hawker center or meals in restaurants hah???

$360 handout per month for you poor Sinkies is more than enough Ok???

So dont disturb me when I want to spend $400,000 to put butterflies in Orchard Rd Ok hah???

Those FTs will come out at night to catch butterflies at Orchard Road, make them into specimens, frame them up and then sell them at Orchard road to Singaporeans.

lee-hsien-loong.jpg

KNN! My subcon supporters donch need to be fed ah? *chey*

fuck...another white elephant project...i wonder whose mini-star's WITS proposal is that.

What is the shelf-life of butterfly? People go Orchard to see chiobus, to shop, who go there see butterflies? KNN...with all the cars zipping around, if i am butterfly i will also fly lah..stay at Orchard for fuck.

and looking at those ulu backlanes where they intend to introduce butterflies, who the fuck go there? FTs? Sure, thats where they stay anyways..

Lastly, you intro butterflies, you asking their caterpillars to eat up all the plants, and then, you grow more plants...spend more money...akin to take stone and knock your feet.

Instead of spending the amount...spend it on preventing further floods lah...spend it on improving the ventilation...provide shelter walkways..etc...things that benefit the public and not stupid things that benefit nothing but the fat egos.

Can you please stop posting the picture of the short fat dark girl with the ugly black mole on her jaw? I nearly threw up my breakfast!:mad:

(try posting Madam HC photo if you got nothing else to do. At least, Madam HC is prettier than the mole girl!)

Waste money project are going to fail. With so many vehicle zoom zoom in the Orchard area. Noise level and carbon monoxide going to kill all the bitterflies and scare then away from the area.

Singapore government are laughing IN your faces .

They know as usual you will do nothing about it !

1. bro, bingo!
2. honest, with such high concentration of traffic such as people and vehicles within the given space, no butterflies, flies or spiders would dare to come close man!
3. probably, some white elephants may!

Wah Lan KNN CCB! I kenna arrow liao!

Next time Orchard Rd floods I have also rescue S$400K worth of butterflies is it?

:oIo::oIo::oIo:

Hong Kan Seng! Hong Kan Seng! Hong Kan Liao!

Singapore government are laughing IN your faces .

They know as usual you will do nothing about it !

Maybe u right . I can't do anything about it.
But what I can do is every 5 year I have one chance. And also educate others to increase my chance. That what I doing now.
But those MPs better don't knock on my door or they will kena fuck by me.:D

Maybe u right . I can't do anything about it.
But what I can do is every 5 year I have one chance. And also educate others to increase my chance. That what I doing now.
But those MPs better don't knock on my door or they will kena fuck by me.:D

And do you think by voting you even got a slim chance ?

When they got their goons / civil servants who are manning their voting stations !

And do you think by voting you even got a slim chance ?

When they got their goons / civil servants who are manning their voting stations !

I know that next election PAP will win. But I hope for the 2nd and 3rd election from now.
Hopefully all youngster are smart enough can make their choice wisely.
Most older generation LKY age level will support PAP.
When they pass away PAP vote will be lesser and younger generation support Opposition. That the hope.:D

I know that next election PAP will win. But I hope for the 2nd and 3rd election from now.
Hopefully all youngster are smart enough can make their choice wisely.
Most older generation LKY age level will support PAP.
When they pass away PAP vote will be lesser and younger generation support Opposition. That the hope.:D

The amount of stupidity of Singaporeans are exhibiting are unbelievable .