• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Spike in Aircraft Safety Incidents After Pinoyisation of Ground Crew. Another Case!

While the ministers continue to draw their millions and the 60% look on with nodding heads.

Jet engine on fire but passengers keep cool

Cathay Pacific's Airbus A330 returns to S'pore 'without incident'

by Reuters, Channel NewsAsia
04:47 AM May 17, 2011
<SCRIPT type=text/javascript> var fontIndex = 2; var fontSize = new Array('0.63em', '0.69em', '0.75em', '0.88em', '1em', '1.13em'); </SCRIPT>
SINGAPORE - Terrified passengers aboard a Cathay Pacific aircraft prayed together as their aircraft - one of its engines on fire - made its way back to Singapore yesterday, and their calm response earned praise from the captain.

Cathay Pacific Airways said the Airbus A330, bound for Jakarta with 136 passengers on board, landed back in Singapore "without incident". It said the crew shut down the engine after receiving a "stall warning".

The Hong Kong-based airline added that it and engine-maker Rolls-Royce were investigating the incident.

Changi Airport said in a statement that the plane had departed at 1.12am yesterday. But due to an engine-related issue, the aircraft turned back to the airport and landed safely at 1.57am, it said.

Reuters photographer Beawiharta was on board the plane with his wife and children. About 20 minutes after take-off, there were two sharp bangs, sending cabin staff scurrying to retrieve the meals they had only just begun serving.

The plane began shaking violently, he said, and the lights went out. He could smell something burning. His son, Pradipta, 15, then saw fire on one of the plane's engines as he peered out the window.

Said Mr Beawiharta: "... Passengers were praying: 'God, save our flight! Give us your protection!'" The prayers got louder and louder, pierced by only the occasional cry of panic.

Said Mr Beawiharta: "We all grabbed life jackets from beneath our seats but the plane landed smoothly. Within five minutes, as firefighters doused the damaged engine, we walked off the plane into the terminal."

Changi Airport said in its statement that, after the aircraft landed, its airport emergency service "responded immediately with six fire vehicles and extinguished a fire in one of the engines".

In the waiting room, the pilot greeted assembled passengers.

"The best that we can ever ask of passengers is to stay cool, stay calm ... which you did," he said. "And for that we thank you."

Last November, a blow-out in a Rolls-Royce Trent 900 engine forced a Qantas Airbus A380 to make an emergency landing in Singapore and prompted the temporary grounding of the Australian carrier's A380 fleet. Investigations established that the incident was caused by a faulty oil pipe.

Re: Spike in Aircraft Safety Incidents After Pinoyisation of Ground Crew. Another Cas

You personally added in the caption with the word "Pinoyisation" which is not in the article. Where is the beef?

Re: Spike in Aircraft Safety Incidents After Pinoyisation of Ground Crew. Another Cas

You personally added in the caption with the word "Pinoyisation" which is not in the article. Where is the beef?

Agree, Cow's head irrelevant to horse's mouth.

Look at the nationality of the ground crew in Changi Airport now.

lianbeng says, "then should be 'internationalisation' and not just 'pinoyisation' liao mah. now we got msian, prc, indon, even angmohs, etc...":D

You mean to say you know they are Pinoys by looking at them? Are you working with a company that has access into the areas where they work?

I have no objection if the article itself says so but your addition to sensationalise the story is just guesswork on your part. Furthermore, only certain individuals are certified and allowed to inspect or work on the engines,

Please be fair and put the blame on those responsible when a report of findings has been published. We should not just shoot without verification or have some facts laid before us, thank you.

u r very sharp. a lot of pinoy staff working in airport hanger now.

You mean to say you know they are Pinoys by looking at them? Are you working with a company that has access into the areas where they work?

I have no objection if the article itself says so but your addition to sensationalise the story is just guesswork on your part. Furthermore, only certain individuals are certified and allowed to inspect or work on the engines,

Please be fair and put the blame on those responsible when a report of findings has been published. We should not just shoot without verification or have some facts laid before us, thank you.

makapa did not speculate, now sia engineering get all pinoy staff. good luck to all the people departing from changi airport. no need certified, they will train u. given the fun loving attitude of pinoy, can work in entertainment line only. ask them to work in this type of precision engineering field??? prepare for more mishap!!!!

hahaha.....the airport emergency service "responded immediately with six fire vehicles and extinguished a fire in one of the engines"......lidat also "tio cheng".
If you follow Aircraft Accident Investigation series.......the problems exist with all Nationalities....
sinkies also huntum, pinoy also huntum....ang mo tua kee isit???

makapa did not speculate, now sia engineering get all pinoy staff. good luck to all the people departing from changi airport. no need certified, they will train u. given the fun loving attitude of pinoy, can work in entertainment line only. ask them to work in this type of precision engineering field??? prepare for more mishap!!!!

No such thing as no need certified. Training given must also pass and have certification. Not any tom, dick or harry can work on aircraft equipment without certification. Furthermore, any evidence any engineer Pinoy or otherwise did some work on that particular engine?

I have worked with aircraft engineers in the past and a number of them Pinoys. They are as good if not better than other races. Aircraft incidents happens to the best of any airlines, and not due to the race of people. In fact if you want to check, there are countries with worst aircraft related incidents namely Indonesia, Taiwan, China and Russia. Most of the airlines of Arab countries are made up of Pinoy engineers like UAE and Kuwait Airlines.

No such thing as no need certified. Training given must also pass and have certification. Not any tom, dick or harry can work on aircraft equipment without certification. Furthermore, any evidence any engineer Pinoy or otherwise did some work on that particular engine?

I have worked with aircraft engineers in the past and a number of them Pinoys. They are as good if not better than other races. Aircraft incidents happens to the best of any airlines, and not due to the race of people. In fact if you want to check, there are countries with worst aircraft related incidents namely Indonesia, Taiwan, China and Russia. Most of the airlines of Arab countries are made up of Pinoy engineers like UAE and Kuwait Airlines.

u work with them? in what capacity? pinoy only can be server or work in a band. if u really work with pinoy, u will know. uncle, also work with them before.

For more than 20 years I was in the airline maintenance business, airframe and engines and work with a number of people in PAL from President to artisans, also the owner of Cebu Pacific and his men and people in Air Phils. Good enough?

yayaya, no need to tell me all these shit. DID YOU OR DID YOU NOT WORK WITH PINOY AND SEE HOW THEY WORK??? that matters. no need to tell me how u porlumpar the big shot, i rather u tell me u work on the ground and see how they work and their attitude. u said u in airline maintenance business 20 over yrs and u got your priority all wrong, its the staff and their attitude in the hanger who do the job that matters. its safety my friend.

You tell me what you know about aircraft maintenance before asking me details as though you are somebody. Who the heck you think you are asking for such info? The next thing you want to know the names and the number of years I work together with them.

I knew of a hardcore christian woman operated a airline maintenance company. she made tons of money by importing cheaper pinoy labour. this started about 10 years ago. the hire cheap FT model was very successful and she obviously made a pile at the expense of the singaporean workers.

You tell me what you know about aircraft maintenance before asking me details as though you are somebody. Who the heck you think you are asking for such info? The next thing you want to know the names and the number of years I work together with them.

aiyah! this is a cyber forum. u also here quite long. no need to compare professional knowledge here and i am not interested about your accolade. i ask u a very simple question. did u or did u not work with any pinoy??? did u monitor how they work and their attitude??? i already got the answer because i work with them. do u have the answer?

I knew of a hardcore christian woman operated a airline maintenance company. she made tons of money by importing cheaper pinoy labour. this started about 10 years ago. the hire cheap FT model was very successful and she obviously made a pile at the expense of the singaporean workers.

Just curious -are you referring to Janet L.C. Tan , Founder of A-Sonic Aerospace Limited ('A-Sonic Aerospace') and Chairman of Airocean Group Ltd. ?

The message you have entered is too short. Please lengthen your message to at least 10 characters.

saw on yester's news : pinoy is asian's most reproductive country in terms of childbirth. :eek: pinoy breed like pigs. :mad: more pinoys on the way thanks to the 60% dumb retards. :oIo:

lianbeng says, "they got no job nothing to do and not much entertainment due to poverty mah so they can f anytime anywhere mass production mah. and being a catholic country abortion is forbidden by law. so what u expect?" :D