• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Some businesses are enjoying a jump in sales due to the wet weather and fears of floo

Maximilian Chua-Heng

You see there's always something good out of something unfortunate, if you really really search deep enough...:p

Wet weather spells better business for water pumps, sandbags
By Lim Zhi Ying/Alvina Soh | Posted: 22 July 2010 2106 hrs

SINGAPORE: Some businesses are enjoying a jump in sales due to the wet weather and fears of flooding.

Sales have been brisk for shops selling products like water pumps and sandbags.

Shop owner Alvin Chia has seen a 30 percent increase in sales of pumps.

The smaller pumps are the most popular. Each costs between $100 and $200.

The demand for sandbags has also gone up, as customers use them to protect their premises against rising water levels.

Each sandbag costs between $2 and $3.

Shop owners noted that most customers do not buy enough bags to effectively ward off the floodwaters.

They said premises like shops would need 30 to 40 bags each.

These must be stacked as tightly as possible so that there are no gaps for the water to seep through.

A sandbag of between 20 and 30 kilogrammes costs $2, while a 50kg bag costs $3.

- CNA/ir

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1070945/1/.html

Re: Some businesses are enjoying a jump in sales due to the wet weather and fears of

Wow, no mention of umbrellas and rain coats

Re: Some businesses are enjoying a jump in sales due to the wet weather and fears of

KNN, die die must spin it into good news.

Sampans, anyone?

Raindrops keep falling on my head....

You see there's always something good out of something unfortunate, if you really really search deep enough...:p

SINGAPORE: Some businesses are enjoying a jump in sales due to the wet weather and fears of flooding.

Sales have been brisk for shops selling products like water pumps and sandbags.

Shop owner Alvin Chia has seen a 30 percent increase in sales of pumps.

The smaller pumps are the most popular. Each costs between $100 and $200.

The demand for sandbags has also gone up, as customers use them to protect their premises against rising water levels.

Shop owners noted that most customers do not buy enough bags to effectively ward off the floodwaters.

They said premises like shops would need 30 to 40 bags each.

These must be stacked as tightly as possible so that there are no gaps for the water to seep through.

A sandbag of between 20 and 30 kilogrammes costs $2, while a 50kg bag costs $3.

- CNA/ir

You chee bye Maximilain Chua heng PAP supporterl

You don't come here to start your chee bye propaganda hor!

You chee bye caused more damage and losses to many others rather than create something good out of your chee bye smart aleck ' I build barrage' to impress other countries how I can be self-sustaing on my own water resources' hor!

You bloody bastards only care about yourself and draws the blood of the Sinkie to sustain your own pockets!

M'sia must banned sandbag to SG liao.

Yeah, saw the picture with single row of sand bag ....do they think one single row can stop water flow ??? Don't know whose idea. Another laughing stock Better borrow the little india manpower to line up single line.

... Sales have been brisk for shops selling products like water pumps and sandbags. ...
peasants have 2 spend mor moni! ... goot 4 sg economy! ... gdp wil soar again! ... world bestest paid politicians can boast abt gdp again! ...

1 masterstroke of creating floods can do so much! ... :eek: