• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

So What? I'm from RI!

Posted on 28 Jan 2010
Student from elite school blatantly eats on train

elite_student_lacks_social_ethics-thumbnail.jpg

STOMPer DK spotted this Raffles Institution student who was blatantly eating on the train, and feels that the product of an elite institution, equals a lack of social consciousness.

Says this STOMPer:

"This student from RI eats in the MRT like nobody's business.

"This is the product of an elite institution. Know how to study, but lack social consciousness."

Keywords: student eating on public transport

RI and Hwa Chong got exemption from canning and punishment .

Most go OCS . Other schools cannot go OCS .

Check their statistics of male students from these two schools going OCS .

Well most of the ppl call RI as Real Idorts. U know why bishan MRT station build a fence up near the tunnel mouth area. Its because of these little rich brats and CCB smart alecs. Every year end without fail some one from these rich schools will toss their school bag with all his school books over the tunnel mouth down the track hopping to hit a train comming out from the tunnel.

RI produced the first two PMs of Singapore. Must have done something right, no?

A reflection that elite school new generation attitude society...I am above the law ????It is a MAJOR CONCERN that must be addressed & have overlooked...emphasis is on academic achievements, excellent CCA points!

RI produced the first two PMs of Singapore. Must have done something right, no?

"LimPay....from RI....."...don't sabo me hor!
Posted on 28 Jan 2010

STOMPer DK spotted this Raffles Institution student who was blatantly eating on the train, and feels that the product of an elite institution, equals a lack of social consciousness.

Says this STOMPer:

"This is the product of an elite institution. Know how to study, but lack social consciousness."

He was not an RI student but he was wearing an RI T shirt lah. So he's an imposter.

Maybe he is Eric How?

'KNN, STomper...my father owned MRT ok"

Posted on 28 Jan 2010

Says this STOMPer:

Singaporeans are being conditioned to be concerned more about the letter than the spirit. Why was eating banned on trains? Because there're people who inconsiderately litter with packages and leftovers. If there's no littering and the trains are kept clean after eating, is there a need to ban eating? What if he eats his snacks cleanly and brings out the package to the rubbish bin? Any harm done to public? No. But it's still against the law to eat on a train. That's simply dumb, to criminalise eating, when the real offence is littering. It has nothing to do with RI or VS or whatever. That kid just happens to be from RI, could be any other school. Happens everyday and everywhere. Kids do snack and drink on trains and buses. If they don't litter, I don't see what's so wrong about that. Japanese eat box-set bento on their MRT.

RI and Hwa Chong got exemption from canning and punishment .

Most go OCS . Other schools cannot go OCS .

Check their statistics of male students from these two schools going OCS .

OCS or not, doesn't matter lah...

so what? are we going to serve NS for the rest of our lives?

serve until 50 years old when become occifer.

Well, if they don't like it, why didn't the photo taker just go and tell the RI boy nicely that it's not allowed to eat in the MRT...

I am sure people will respond nicely... when your approach is nice...:cool:

In recent years, there have been some former students who have got in trouble with the law, including some ex "student leaders".
There's nothing to say that elite schools produce better people.

Singaporeans are being conditioned to be concerned more about the letter than the spirit. Why was eating banned on trains? Because there're people who inconsiderately litter with packages and leftovers. If there's no littering and the trains are kept clean after eating, is there a need to ban eating? What if he eats his snacks cleanly and brings out the package to the rubbish bin? Any harm done to public? No. But it's still against the law to eat on a train. That's simply dumb, to criminalise eating, when the real offence is littering. It has nothing to do with RI or VS or whatever. That kid just happens to be from RI, could be any other school. Happens everyday and everywhere. Kids do snack and drink on trains and buses. If they don't litter, I don't see what's so wrong about that. Japanese eat box-set bento on their MRT.
I disagree with you.
Yes, banning of eating is due to potential littering and not the act of eating per se.
But if you were to allow eating and ban littering, you will have an endless steam of people saying that they ate but didn't litter, that they only spilt drinks and not food, that it was only a few crumbs so what's the big deal, that it was only a few drops of oil, that the milo stain would soon dry up, that the ants would carry away the curry puff crumbs, etc etc. I can think of a thousand more.
I'm quite confident that if you allow eating, the trains would be consistently dirty, or the cleaners would be on the trains round the clock. That's the way of humans and the way the world has become these days.

Singaporeans are being conditioned to be concerned more about the letter than the spirit. .......
..... It has nothing to do with RI or VS or whatever. That kid just happens to be from RI, could be any other school. Happens everyday and everywhere. Kids do snack and drink on trains and buses. If they don't litter, I don't see what's so wrong about that. Japanese eat box-set bento on their MRT.

This is Spore lah. This is where deterrent sentences are common.

If you want spirit then go look at Japan, Canada,...where there aren't any laws against bubble gum, eating,.... on trains.

Fact is that RI is an elitist school, so people expect the student to be model students. :eek:

I'm quite confident that if you allow eating, the trains would be consistently dirty, or the cleaners would be on the trains round the clock. That's the way of humans and the way the world has become these days.

I do have to agree with you somewhat this part. It's certain that many Singaporeans couldn't be entrusted with liberties. Substitute your "humans" with "Singaporeans" and your "world" with "Singapore".

OCS or not, doesn't matter lah...

so what? are we going to serve NS for the rest of our lives?

serve until 50 years old when become occifer.

Well, if they don't like it, why didn't the photo taker just go and tell the RI boy nicely that it's not allowed to eat in the MRT...

I am sure people will respond nicely... when your approach is nice...:cool:

This is Singapore . Everyone wants the tastier end of the carrot !

That boy was an RI boy, and RI boys are the smartest students in Singapore. So he knows how to eat without littering. You all retards out there can't do what he did with finesse, therefore, make way for the clever boys from RI and make sure you all dont break the laws.

This is Singapore . Everyone wants the tastier end of the carrot !

You are right... everyone just want to sit back and relax, and let somebody else do the shit job, which they do not want to do, but just gripe, and bitch about it in Stomp and SB forums.:cool:

Why don't the author say: "Elite people also take public transport",

or

"He will be a good leader one day because he will understand the problems facing heartlanders".

or

"Diligent student, eating on the go"

or better still "Elite student with an independant mind of his own"

It is a very Chinese trait - that is to judge others based on social strata and/or material wealth. I presume its a Chink that posted this message on stomp. How about just telling the student off or reminding him gently No. First think the Ah Beng does is to look for signs of prosperity or social class - in this case RI. I have come across many cases where Chinks use their material wealth and prosperity to forward their argument further. The educated illiterate as I call them.. Unfortunately there are many such Ah Bengs around.