• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Smoking Dr Michael Loh: Don't treat us as subnormal human beings!

Porfirio Rubirosa

Those of us who smoke: Don't treat us as subnormal human beings

I REFER to Tuesday's letters by Mr Karl See and Mr Raymund Koh, 'No smoking in lifts, but enclosed lift lobbies' and 'Ashtrays in bus shelters defeat message'.
These are examples of an anti-smoking lobby that has become totally unreasonable and insensitive, and which ignores the rights of other human beings.

What happened to the call to build a more gracious, tolerant and forgiving society?

Smoking is now banned even in nature reserves. The authorities explained that carelessly thrown cigarette butts can start bushfires during the hot season.

Translation: We cannot even smoke outdoors.

This can only be considered a Nazi-style approach.

How about banning children from aircraft because they drive most passengers nuts? Reminiscent of the eugenics movement or Pol Pot's Year Zero Initiative?

George Santayana said: 'Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.'

Smoking is already banned in many places. From next month, the ban will be extended to children's playgrounds, exercise areas, markets, underground and multistorey carparks, ferry terminals and jetties. It will also be extended to non-air conditioned areas in offices, factories, shops, shopping complexes and lift lobbies.

Smoking bans are misguided efforts by retrograde Puritans.

The problem with bans and restrictions is that they are an easy way to deal with life's moral issues which could eventually weaken - and not strengthen - the moral fibre of society.

We need to step back to look where we are heading, for there is a lot more at stake than a breath of fresh air.

The epidemic of calls to castigate smokers even more has spread and is symptomatic of a far more grievous threat, a cancer that has been spreading for decades and has now metastasized throughout society.

This cancer is the only real hazard involved - the cancer of a relentless anti-smoking lobby.

The issue is not whether smoking or second-hand smoke is a real danger or a phantom menace. The issue is: If it is harmful, what is the proper and reasonable reaction? Should anti-smokers satisfy themselves with educating people about the potential danger and allowing them to make their own decisions - or should they influence the Government to force people to make the 'right' decision?

The decision to smoke, or to avoid second-hand smoke, is a question to be answered by each individual based on his values and assessment of the risks.

This is the same kind of decision that free people make regarding every aspect of their lives: how much to spend or invest, whom to befriend or sleep with, whether to go for further studies or get a job, whether to get married or divorced and so on.

All these decisions involve risks; some have demonstrably harmful consequences; some are controversial and invite disapproval from the neighbours. But the individual must be free to make these decisions. He must be free because his life belongs to him - not to his neighbours - and only his own judgment can guide him through it.

Yet when it comes to smoking, this freedom is under attack. Smokers are a numerical minority, practising a habit considered annoying and unpleasant to the majority. So the majority tries to commandeer the power of government and use it to dictate smokers' behaviour.

That is why these bans are far more threatening than the prospect of inhaling a few stray whiffs of tobacco smoke while eating at your favourite hawker stall. The anti-tobacco crusaders point in exaggerated alarm at those wisps of smoke - while they unleash a systematic and unlimited intrusion of privacy into our lives.

I smoke cigars and pipes and am merely defending the right of an adult to use a legal product. Since when can we exercise the rights of the many at the expense of the rights of the few?

I will be the first to defend the right of non-smokers, but each right also carries a duty - the duty to look out for those whose minority rights are infringed when a majority exercises its rights.

Remember, cigarettes, cigars and pipe tobacco are not banned in Singapore - they are not cocaine, heroin or Ecstasy. There is no need to treat those of us who smoke like subnormal human beings, criminals or social outcasts.

Dr Michael Loh

1. He should stand for elections and try to change the law.
2. I wonder if he's the type who will blow smoke in the faces of others.

madmansg

Dr Michel Loh is an idiot who have no self control and self decipline who rightly should be put to sleep to save the rest of us healthy people.

2lanu

Smokers are paying higher tax and yet white scums are expanding the banned area! Mind you, HK ciggie cost HK$29 (~S$6) and they are saying ciggie is expensive. How about Sinkapore?

As long as this rule remain, white scum will be a social target!

SneeringTree

Dr Loh should understand that "choice" is illusory when one is addicted. This much I grant to smokers: they choose to be addicted.

Try this for reasonableness or unreasonableness. Smokers smoking in their own home, also get complained smoke gets into other people's flats.

<TABLE class=body cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=738 background=/images/hdr_bkgrd.gif border=0><TBODY><TR><TD height=24>Voices // Thursday, December 11, 2008</TD><TD width=23> </TD><TD width=23> </TD><TD width=30> </TD><TD width=22> </TD><TD width=24> </TD><TD width=17> </TD><TD> </TD><TD width=10></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=738 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD align=middle>
spacer.gif
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=738 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top height=30>Woes of the non-smoker </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>My nieces are prisoners in their own house Dispose of cigarette butts responsibly

Letter from Bernie Leau

I VISITED my sister’s house at Hougang Ave 5 one weekend and was surprised to see that all their windows were kept shut. It seems their neighbour one floor below has rented out rooms to tenants who are heavy smokers, and the smoke drifts up and into my sister’s house.
Her family has to bear with the second-hand smoke when they are at home. I pity my two young nieces, who have been put at risk of lung cancer.
Home is not a home when you can’t even keep your windows open. Is there anything the authorities can do to assist them?

I only know burning incense papers can get smoke and ashes into neighbouring flats. Smoking in a HDB flat can get smoke into others' flats to cause second-hand smoke and lung cancer? This is something new to me. How heavy is the smoking? If it's that heavy, better call the Civil Defence fire brigade instead of writing to newspaper.

SneeringTree

Try this for reasonableness or unreasonableness. Smokers smoking in their own home, also get complained smoke gets into other people's flats.

I only know burning incense papers can get smoke and ashes into neighbouring flats. Smoking in a HDB flat can get smoke into others' flats to cause second-hand smoke and lung cancer? This is something new to me. How heavy is the smoking? If it's that heavy, better call the Civil Defence fire brigade instead of writing to newspaper.

Ah, so it's OK for Indonesia to burn down the forests and allow the haze to form in Singapore and Malaysia?

Smokers generally don't realise how bad the smell or cigarette smoke is. And how far it can travel and what a nuisance it can be.

Ah, so it's OK for Indonesia to burn down the forests and allow the haze to form in Singapore and Malaysia?

It's not OK. That's why there're actions and pressures against it.

Smokers generally don't realise how bad the smell or cigarette smoke is. And how far it can travel and what a nuisance it can be.

I agree. Smoking in lifts, smoking in public transport, smoking in areas for non-smokers or where there're mostly non-smokers should be banned and penalised if breached. However, smoking at home? Smoke travel from wall to wall and from home to home? Then I'd suggest banning public corridor incense paper burning first.

In fact, I'd think perhaps criminalising tobacco products once and for all is the only solution. That's just about the only to stop your neighbour smokers from smoking at home without evicting them.

SneeringTree

It's not OK. That's why there're actions and pressures against it.

I agree. Smoking in lifts, smoking in public transport, smoking in areas for non-smokers or where there're mostly non-smokers should be banned and penalised if breached. However, smoking at home? Smoke travel from wall to wall and from home to home? Then I'd suggest banning public corridor incense paper burning first.

In fact, I'd think perhaps criminalising tobacco products once and for all is the only solution. That's just about the only to stop your neighbour smokers from smoking at home without evicting them.

I don't live in an apartment. There is an old guy from the neighbouring street who always smokes just outside my gate every night at about 9 pm. I live in the third floor and the smoke without fail filters into my entire room.

One night, I shouted at him from my balcony, asking why must he smoke outside other people's house. Can't he do that in his own house? Outside his own gate?

So moral of the story is: if someone were to smoke by their kitchen window in a flat, the smoke can and will rise upwards to the upstairs neighbours. If their clothes are hung outside, then the smoke will stink their clothes too.

Zeitgeist

I would suggest the banning of smoking by all below the age of 21! I'm sure most smokers will admit that they picked up this stupid habit in their teens. I DID!:o

Ah Hai

I would suggest the banning of smoking by all below the age of 21! I'm sure most smokers will admit that they picked up this stupid habit in their teens. I DID!:o

what wrong with smoking? i knew a few guys they did't smok, but up lorry already. what say you...

Zeitgeist

what wrong with smoking? i knew a few guys they did't smok, but up lorry already. what say you...

Ah Hai

All I can say is that I'm disgusted with myself every time I lit one up! I feel the same way when I have to breathe in the smoke from someone else's cigarette! Honest truth! In case you ask, why don't I stop all together. I 've tried, and went as far as 4 months! But I broke in the end all the time........

You may have a point about people living to a ripe old age despite being heavy smokers.

I knew a guy, ex commando, handsome, good natured, non drinker , non smoker, non womaniser and a man who was at peace with himself and the world................ He died of LUNG CANCER! At the age of 44 I think.........
and I tell you I wished I had not taken a last look of him during the funeral....
He looked like a 100 year old man......:(

2lanu

Those white scum said smoking proven by scientist, so they help the peasant by "taxing" them. What about obese people? Scientist also proven that obesity lead to heart problems and many others. Why dun I see them tax them as well?

2lanu

I knew a guy, ex commando, handsome, good natured, non drinker , non smoker, non womaniser and a man who was at peace with himself and the world................ He died of LUNG CANCER! At the age of 44 I think.........and I tell you I wished I had not taken a last look of him during the funeral....He looked like a 100 year old man......:(

The same truth also happened to a old woman in the 80s and she still pink and healthy. That's why I kept asking why scientist proven and yet there are cases like that happen around???

2lanu

And working long hour also lead to many health problem. I dun see the govt is banning or imposed heavy tax to it.

One thing I guess is that they are in for the $$$ the rest are secondary.

angie II

I knew a guy, ex commando, handsome, good natured, non drinker , non smoker, non womaniser and a man who was at peace with himself and the world................ He died of LUNG CANCER! At the age of 44 I think.........
and I tell you I wished I had not taken a last look of him during the funeral....
He looked like a 100 year old man......:(

talking about commando n leading a healthy lifestyle, u all probably know about the case of an ex-commando who led a healthy sporty lifestyle, the SBS bus he was in jerked 2 a sudden stop, flung him backwards, head kena #@ϼЖ®ᴂ den became a vegetable for the rest of his life...

SBS lost the case n had 2 compensate...
dat SBS ah neh resigned due 2 overstressed...

life is never fair... unpredictable n a box of chocolates...
u never know wad u gonna get...
:rolleyes:

I hear that every non-smoker is trying to corner smokers somewhere where their smoke won't affect them. Why don't I hear non-smokers lobby for outright banning of tobacco products? Please, dear non-smokers. Don't just support the no-smoking campaign or smoking corner campaign. Support banning of all tobacco products.

madmansg

He looked like a 100 year old man......
===================

it is the curse of NS lar. Like that still you dont know.

SneeringTree

I hear that every non-smoker is trying to corner smokers somewhere where their smoke won't affect them. Why don't I hear non-smokers lobby for outright banning of tobacco products? Please, dear non-smokers. Don't just support the no-smoking campaign or smoking corner campaign. Support banning of all tobacco products.

There are two reasons why I don't support the banning:

1) It is impossible to do so and hence a moot point
2) I believe a smoker should have the right to lock himself in a room in his house and smoke himself to death.

There are two reasons why I don't support the banning:

1) It is impossible to do so and hence a moot point
2) I believe a smoker should have the right to lock himself in a room in his house and smoke himself to death.

LOL! Nothing is impossible to ban in Singapore. Just ban smoking and tobacco products. Save mortuary costs.