• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SM Goh: I can't get feel of younger voters

aurvandil

What you don't know can often kill you.

Heard that the PAP is supremely confident of victory. With the exception of Aljunied, they have put down the deposits for the victory celebrations of yet another 5 good years !

In the off chance than George and Co somehow survive, they have even made contingency plans for extra tables at the Marine Parade celebration.

http://www.todayonline.com/Singapore/EDC110503-0000947/SM-Goh--I-cant-get-feel-of-younger-voters

SINGAPORE - Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong, 69, says he is confident of strong support from elderly residents in Marine Parade Group Representation Constituency (GRC).

But he says he can't say the same when it comes to the younger population.

Speaking at a walkabout in MacPherson this morning, he says he is unable to get a feel of what they think.

He said: "The thinking of the younger ones, they are not at home even during house-to-house visits, which I have done. In Marine Parade, most of them are not at home. So for them, their thinking I'm not too sure. That group they are open, they assess the candidates and their policies before they decide, and they probably will decide at the last minute."

Mr Goh says he wants to let them know that their votes are important as it involves their future.

He adds: "Don't just go on the basis of what you hear over the elections. The day after elections what will happen? Who will look after the estate?

"Don't talk about national issues, just talk about the estate. So, for Marine Parade, on 8 May, who is going to attend to the problem of the old folks, the livelihood issues, the jobs and so on. you see.

"The young think it is not their problem, it is government's problem. That is wrong. It is their problem because it is their parents."

Mr Goh's team includes the youngest People's Action Party candidate, Ms Tin Pei Ling, 27, and is facing a contest from the National Solidarity Party (NSP).

And on the whole Mr Goh says he is still "quite comfortable" about the ground sentiments in the GRC.

He says one reason is because he feels that the NSP has not been very active on the ground.

On a question about the good online support the NSP has been receiving, Mr Goh says he is not that too concerned as all the support is for one person.

Some netizens have described the NSP as the "Nicole Seah Party".

But Mr Goh said: "My sense is that it is a "No Substance Party".

"They have just one attraction, the rest are just being carried along. So, am I worried? If the people in Marine Parade GRC vote for that team and I'm out, I think Singapore will be in deep trouble, as simple as that."

FuzzyDude

If the people in Marine Parade GRC vote for that team and I'm out, I think Singapore will be in deep trouble, as simple as that."

This is so funny... if he is out, Singapore is in deep trouble ????
NSP should ask him, MR GCT, what is he doing that is so important !! What is his job ??

moneymind

SM Goh,

You are saying that NSP team in marine parade is about nicole seah. That goes the same for you in the PAP team in marine parade. Just that too bad, you introduce TPL in and NSP found a much better candidate that TPL.

You already say when "Don't talk about national issues, just talk about the estate " so why you say you worry for singapore if marine parade PAP lost ?

Why the double standard again ?

What you don't know can often kill you.

Heard that the PAP is supremely confident of victory. With the exception of Aljunied, they have put down the deposits for the victory celebrations of yet another 5 good years !

In the off chance than George and Co somehow survive, they have even made contingency plans for extra tables at the Marine Parade celebration.

http://www.todayonline.com/Singapore/EDC110503-0000947/SM-Goh--I-cant-get-feel-of-younger-voters

SINGAPORE - Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong, 69, says he is confident of strong support from elderly residents in Marine Parade Group Representation Constituency (GRC).

Speaking at a walkabout in MacPherson this morning, he says he is unable to get a feel of what they think.

He said: "The thinking of the younger ones, they are not at home even during house-to-house visits, which I have done. In Marine Parade, most of them are not at home. So for them, their thinking I'm not too sure. That group they are open, they assess the candidates and their policies before they decide, and they probably will decide at the last minute."

Mr Goh says he wants to let them know that their votes are important as it involves their future.

He adds: "Don't just go on the basis of what you hear over the elections. The day after elections what will happen? Who will look after the estate?

"Don't talk about national issues, just talk about the estate. So, for Marine Parade, on 8 May, who is going to attend to the problem of the old folks, the livelihood issues, the jobs and so on. you see.

"The young think it is not their problem, it is government's problem. That is wrong. It is their problem because it is their parents."

Mr Goh's team includes the youngest People's Action Party candidate, Ms Tin Pei Ling, 27, and is facing a contest from the National Solidarity Party (NSP).

And on the whole Mr Goh says he is still "quite comfortable" about the ground sentiments in the GRC.

He says one reason is because he feels that the NSP has not been very active on the ground.

On a question about the good online support the NSP has been receiving, Mr Goh says he is not that too concerned as all the support is for one person.

Some netizens have described the NSP as the "Nicole Seah Party".

But Mr Goh said: "My sense is that it is a "No Substance Party".

"They have just one attraction, the rest are just being carried along. So, am I worried? If the people in Marine Parade GRC vote for that team and I'm out, I think Singapore will be in deep trouble, as simple as that."

what you don't know can often kill you.

Heard that the pap is supremely confident of victory. With the exception of aljunied, they have put down the deposits for the victory celebrations of yet another 5 good years !

In the off chance than george and co somehow survive, they have even made contingency plans for extra tables at the marine parade celebration.

sm goh: I can't get feel of younger voters

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/edc110503-0000947/sm-goh--i-cant-get-feel-of-younger-voters

singapore - senior minister goh chok tong, 69, says he is confident of strong support from elderly residents in marine parade group representation constituency (grc).

Speaking at a walkabout in macpherson this morning, he says he is unable to get a feel of what they think.

He said: "the thinking of the younger ones, they are not at home even during house-to-house visits, which i have done. In marine parade, most of them are not at home. So for them, their thinking i'm not too sure. That group they are open, they assess the candidates and their policies before they decide, and they probably will decide at the last minute."
mr wooden goh, we made up our minds long ago!

mr goh says he wants to let them know that their votes are important as it involves their future.
we know already lah. We heard lky and we are taking his advice

he adds: "don't just go on the basis of what you hear over the elections. ya lor, that is why we don't listen to you lor.

the day after elections what will happen? Who will look after the estate?
but our estate is already so dirty!

"don't talk about national issues, just talk about the estate.now your confuse me. Every pap candidate, including you, tell us that only pap can look after your national interest. Now you tell me don't talk national issues!

so, for marine parade, on 8 may, who is going to attend to the problem of the old folks, the livelihood issues, the jobs and so on. You see.

"the young think it is not their problem, it is government's problem. That is wrong. It is their problem because it is their parents."
but now everything already my problem. Rin tin tin in her first media interview that that poverty is not the problem of the government. Hmm, so what does the government do?

mr goh's team includes the youngest people's action party candidate, ms tin pei ling, 27, and is facing a contest from the national solidarity party (nsp).

And on the whole mr goh says he is still "quite comfortable" about the ground sentiments in the grc.
good to know that you are comfortable and sleep well at night, when one has no problem, no conscience

he says one reason is because he feels that the nsp has not been very active on the ground.
good for you lah, if nsp not active. What is your problem now?

on a question about the good online support the nsp has been receiving, mr goh says he is not that too concerned as all the support is for one person.
at least there is one person for people to support............. ;-)

some netizens have described the nsp as the "nicole seah party".

But mr goh said: "my sense is that it is a "no substance party".
sir, that is not a very statesmanlike statement, coming from a former pm and now sm. A graceful society starts from the top. Not quite sure if this is a swiss standard posture for a former pm, sir.

"they have just one attraction, the rest are just being carried along. So, am i worried? If the people in marine parade grc vote for that team and i'm out, i think singapore will be in deep trouble, as simple as that."
wow, this is serious, man. Perhaps you want to tell us about your track record?

Sperminator

That shows how out of touch Goh Chok Tong is. The reason why the young are not at home is so obvious, they are all working hard to sustain a living... if they are not at home, they are obviously having some outings, to destress... I hope the young voters give Mandate to the opposition.

Sleepless

'This is one early sign of danger... If this is happening, it is very serious.'

“This is your constituency,” SM Goh replied. “What do you want me to do to make you feel Marine Parade belongs to me?”

“If this is happening, it is very serious,” said SM Goh.

“If the younger voters feel I don’t belong here, then I have a fundamental problem. Then I would ask myself: What am I doing here?” asked SM Goh

Spearhead

Seem that Marine parade will be in the hand of NSP!!!

Woody have keep talking double standard again......Well done!!!
Nicole Seah is going into the Parliament afterall

Deranged666

It seems that now the strategy is to talk about the estates and not national issues. Same case as in Aljunied. Suddenly, PAP is encouraging a "everybody for himself" mindset.

What happen to the “先有国,才有家” which MG CCS talk about when he was 1st introduced? :confused:

cooleo

>>He said: "The thinking of the younger ones, they are not at home even during house-to-house visits, which I have done. In Marine Parade, most of them are not at home. So for them, their thinking I'm not too sure. That group they are open, they assess the candidates and their policies before they decide, and they probably will decide at the last minute."<<

Cheebye Wooden Goh never go for walkabout for long time liao right? Can't even pick a good timing and still comprain young people not waiting at their homes to carry his shrunken old balls.

wikiphile

funny how come he never paraphrase one of his best gaffes

"If there are no elections, i worry"

Equalisation

u can get feel of younger body of siow tien ...

dat burger said he cooden get feel of younger ... so, cannot have tis, wanna have dat lor! ... :o

Eeerrr .... in this case ..... I recommend him to hug a giant PEANUT as a bolster .....!!!

KuanTi01

Aiyoh so very conceited and self-important! Lau Goh is so full of himself! He should have retired long ago and save taxpayers millions of dollars. If his MP GRC falls to NSP, he will feel so humiliated he needs a deep hole to hide.How can he be so patronising about the NSP. They are more loyal citizens than him! :smile: