• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinktel Charged Premium Price for FCUKED UP WC Service

Jul 5, 2010

No World Cup joy for mio TV subscribers

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
MANY mio TV subscribers were left starring at blank screens last Saturday night, missing out on the final two goals scored by Germany against Argentina in their World Cup quarter-final match.
The problems with mio TV's dedicated World Cup channel, Channel 88, were apparent from Day One - images would simply freeze.
I called the SingTel hotline and was told that there were problems with Channel 88 and to watch Channel 909 instead. If SingTel was aware of the problem, why did it not flash a message to subscribers on Channel 88 to watch Channel 909 instead?
What recourse do customers have to make a claim against a service provider that is unable to provide service that is of an acceptable standard?
Public transport operators can be fined for providing unacceptable service, so what about pay-TV providers?
With SingTel having acquired the rights to broadcast English Premier League matches and many other sporting events, how can subscribers be assured of acceptable service standards?
Harbhajn Singh

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=heading>Latest comments</TD></TR><TR><TD id=messageDisplayRegion width="100%"><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>I have serious doubts about mio's feasibility from day one and events have been
confirming my opinion since.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: commentator_sc at Mon Jul 05 12:35:53 SGT 2010
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=AlternatePost cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>I paid nothing and watched all the critical matches and more, thanks to
our Indonesian neighbour, unlike our 'know the cost of everything but the
value of none' govt! Don't the govt understand anything as basic as the
the psychological moment? Is making money from citizens the one and only
maxim of govt?
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: commentator_sc at Mon Jul 05 12:33:55 SGT 2010
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Singtel - as their name goes they only know how to sing song and tell stories whenever there are any complaints!
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: IamSpeaking at Mon Jul 05 12:26:49 SGT 2010
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=AlternatePost cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>you mean you paid S$70.00 to watch a slide show. Its ridiculous.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: nonamepost at Mon Jul 05 12:08:00 SGT 2010
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Want to see what we get for 70$? I hv some of the pitctures of the Qfinal. go to facebook slash premkumar80.
and leave your comments.
-Premkumar
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: premks80 at Mon Jul 05 11:57:28 SGT 2010
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

ohhhh so sorry....I watched the last five days matches in Malayisa for FREE & had no problem with reception, including the Germany vs Argentina one...heh heh...

sob!, now I have none to watch...that I am back in SINgapore..sob!, sob! sob!

ohhhh so sorry....I watched the last five days matches in Malayisa for FREE & had no problem with reception, including the Germany vs Argentina one...heh heh...

sob!, now I have none to watch...that I am back in SINgapore..sob!, sob! sob!

erm.. u sure u like soccer or not?

the 2 semis and the final FOC on channel 5 lah. u dunno meh?:cool:

erm.. u sure u like soccer or not?

the 2 semis and the final FOC on channel 5 lah. u dunno meh?:cool:

Got free one...?? ok! I pay protection money of $110...I sure love soccer, but at the price they are charging, I am fortunate to be in Malaysia for a few days & fortunate to watch the matches...

Never bothered to know if I get it free on Channel 5, afterall...we are told to PAY, PAy & PAY...

What to do?...I was caught off guard watching it free in Malaysia:D

Correct me if I am wrong.

During the promotion, Singtel MIO service was being promoted as an on-demand broadband services!

However, from what I am hearing, it operates basically as a broadcast medium, and offers no advantage to StarHub cable.

Would be nice, if I can watch the live telecast of the midnight matches in the morning or as and when I like. And if it is really on-demand, I should be able to pause or resume watching at any time. Until then, I don't think I am keen to subscribe, after so many screw up.

:rolleyes:

During the promotion, Singtel MIO service was being promoted as an on-demand broadband services!

However, from what I am hearing, it operates basically as a broadcast medium, and offers no advantage to StarHub cable.

not only that, mio tv's so-called 'live' telecast is about 5 seconds slower than starhub for this WC. I always see the goals 1st before the guys from the kopitiam downstairs shout 'goal'.:D

In Malaysia it is real time.....heh heh heh..not that I am supporting Malaysia....it is time we wake up & demand service at a lower cost or only can dream of service we can get free...:mad:

I think there has been a lot of misunderstanding about Singtel's Mio service. Its not exactly on-demand. Its IPTV, IP packet multicasting. Essentially, it means delivering a stream of video/music over your IP network. Which means, if you need to hop over several routers you will get delay. I believe Starhub would have some latency as well, depending on the signal it gets, however, cable have a bigger supposed bandwidth could carry the signal faster rather then routing through several intermediary routers before reaching you box.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mio_TV

mio TV is a 24-hours pay-TV service, introduced by SingTel. It is transmitted through the company's SingNet broadband network via an IPTV service and uses Microsoft Mediaroom as its end to end software platform.[1] It is a service that will allow multimedia content - including broadcast channels and on-demand programmes - to be viewed on any television set. The IPTV service utilises IP set-top boxes (STBs), connected over the existing SingTel telephone lines in homes.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IP_multicast

IP multicast is a method of sending Internet Protocol (IP) datagrams to a group of interested receivers in a single transmission. It is often employed for streaming media applications on the Internet and private networks. The method is the IP-specific version of the general concept of multicast networking. It uses specially reserved multicast address blocks in IPv4 and IPv6.

Would be nice, if I can watch the live telecast of the midnight matches in the morning or as and when I like. And if it is really on-demand, I should be able to pause or resume watching at any time. Until then, I don't think I am keen to subscribe, after so many screw up.